We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-Located Elegant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #273 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well-Located Elegant Hotel”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I booked this hotel for its proximity to Madison Square Garden and my fifth trip to the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show in February. It was just a short block away, with the added benefit of its proximity to Penn Station, which is adjacent to MSG and my transportation hub. Unfortunately, this year the benching areas and daytime group competitions for the dog show were relocated to the Piers and the shuttle system to relay both spectators, dogs, their gear and handlers to the outlying location was a little less than adequate. It took 40 minutes the first morning to make the trip.

Winter Storm Nemo had just come and gone when I arrived, and the snow was little in evidence on city streets although as I traveled in from the airport on the LIRR, I could see people were still digging out in the suburbs.

My check-in process went smoothly and the reservations clerk complimented herself on getting me a terrific room. It was on the 36th floor, which gave me pause, and it was a well-situated corner room with lots of windows looking out on a river. It wasn't until I couldn't get warm that I realized the disadvantage of all those windows, but finally, between closing the heavy drapes and the bitter cold weather abating on the next day, the room became more comfortable, even though I had adjusted the thermostat upward as far as it would go. The room was New York tiny, but since I was by myself, it didn't really matter. The queen-size bed was very comfortable, if not quite warm enough the first night.

I did take advantage of the hotel's dining rooms. I had breakfast in the Tick Tock Cafe each morning, which was fast and adequate, and had a lite bite at the dining room bar the first night and another evening meal in the dining room, which was quite tasty if not hastily and distractedly delivered.

The hotel has a period charm and although my room had all the conveniences, I was amused by the four faucets in the tub, the old fashioned soap holder and the tile TP dispenser - the kind that used to hold the inter-folded sheets - which had not been removed from the tiled walls.
I particularly enjoy staying at the hotels near the Garden during this time because you see dogs, handlers and owners all rubbing elbows in the public areas and the nearby streets. Where else can you see such beautiful dogs all in the same place?

Although this trip I didn't venture far, the hotel is an easy walk to Macy's, the Empire State Building and transportation. A Duane Reade is catty-corner across the street if you need sundries or a snack, the old Post Office building a short block down if you over shop and need to mail something home and my favorite deli, the Stage Door, right there on 8th Avenue as well.

Room Tip: Upgrade to at least the next largest size room if you are sharing with another person. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junior119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,598
    4,738
    1,911
    585
    364
See reviews for
3,164
3,833
572
1,278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights and received great friendly service at a great location. The bonus of having the tick tock located next door was a great add. Rooms are small but that's par for the course in NYC. Quiet was a bonus too as I don't usually enjoy quiet in a manhattan hotel. I will be a frequent visitor

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycbornuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

First time staying at the New Yorker and it was a great experience. The location is perfect in my opinion. Penn Station/Subway across the street. I arrived via Megabus and the drop off is about 10 minute walking distance. The main attractions (Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Rockefeller, etc. are all close enough to walk to; 5-20 minutes depending on where you're headed. There is a Duane Reade drugstore across the street. Tic Toc diner was moderate, had good breakfast but I ordered food around midnight once and did notice a difference in quality but it is attached to the hotel so it's convenient.

Mohommad was great at check-in and he upgraded me to a room with a decent view. Check in/checkout was speedy. Every member of the staff I encountered was friendly, made eye contact, asked if I needed anything, and wished me a good stay/visit. Room was very clean and the beds are super comfortable. I stayed in Room 2053(double deluxe--more spacious apparently) and had a decent view of Times Square buildings, Chrysler, and partial view of Empire state. I'm sure a higher room would have even better views. I could hear some street noise but it wasn't a big problem for me.The room would be a bit cramped with more than 2 people but it was big enough for my friend and I. There was a safe in the room. No refrigerator or coffee maker but you could request either--($20/stay for the refrigerator) and there is a McDonald's and starbucks across the street. Overall, great stay. I'll be back and would recommend this hotel to friends. I was impressed with the service and the price and location were just right.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Thanks to Mohammed, Front Desk, for finding our booking as he couldn't find it on the hotel system when we first arrived. We booked through an agent and somehow my first and middle name got swapped around. We didn't have to wait long before we discovered we had a lovely room with a great view of the Empire State building - a treat seeing the different coloured lighting each night. Free coffee maker, and free wifi too - both really helped to start each day with working out what the day's itinerary of sight-seeing would be. Chambermaids did a great job (no need to bring over soap, shampoo & shower stuff if you want to travel light). Finally the Hotel is a great location - very near Penn Station so handy if you are landing in Newark International and getting the Transit train into the city.

Room Tip: Metro room facing east for a view of the Empire State Building, ours was on the 19th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belindafindus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I want to start off and say that i am very impressed with the staff at this hotel. My first day checking in started with Onelia Green working the reception check in area. She was wonderful and greeted me to the city. (First time in NYC) I was having a bit of a trouble checking in but instead of TURNING me away, Onelia checked other options with her Supervisor and worked it out for me to stay. Thank you Onelia for that great experience checking in. You were FABULOUS and i can tell you take care of the clients coming into this hotel.

The Cleanliness and HOUSEKEEPING Exceptional!!! I am up here on business and can I say, the people or person that was assigned to clean my room definitely took time and care down to folding the toilet paper and tissue paper! OUTSTANDING is all i can say!

Great Job Employees here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I found The New Yorker Hotel to be exceptionally clean and a very friendly staff. I did miss a microwave and coffee in the room but went downstairs to get coffee that was included in our stay as complimentary breakfast and it was great coffee.

Room Tip: there were 5 in our party and we stayed in the suite. Plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Wonderful location if you are taking the train into Penn Station! Very friendly staff, (check-in, housekeeping and security) and it very convenient to have 2 restaurants on-site. Room is smallish which is fine for me, but it was very quiet. I was on the 25th floor and away from the elevators.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marblehead_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
17,960 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#98 of 466 in New York City
4,279 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#158 of 466 in New York City
6,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 466 in New York City
9,472 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 466 in New York City
4,531 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#214 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelPower, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing