We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale, great views of the city.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perry Hall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Upscale, great views of the city.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Fabulous! This was my first time staying at The New Yorker. My room was on the 39th floor with amazing views of the city. I will be returning this summer and I will be booking with The New Yorker Hotel. Excellent service, food, location and staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the excellent review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing better than getting great guest feedback. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, we look forward to passing on the positive feedback to them! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,603
    4,746
    1,916
    586
    368
See reviews for
3,169
3,841
573
1,282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just returned from long weekend spent at New Yorker Hotel,great location & free upgrade for fantastic view of city from 32 floor.Mid-town Manhatten location means lots of attractions within easy walking distance & with tube station literally across the road getting around very easy.

Hotel built 1927 but refurbed means lots of character friendly & helpful staff & safe & secure with safety deposit box in room.

Ger your metro card ASAP when you arrive,tube isn't difficult to work out & runs 24/7.

We managed to visit all five boroughs take your walking shoes & wrap up warm.

Room Tip: Ask for room near top views of Empire State Building or Hudson river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank born2rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and kind words! Our team really cares about our guests and we do whatever we can to ensure a great stay. Great feedback like this gives us more motivation to be the best we can, for our guests! Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel is very old and room we stayed in was very small, i mean very small.
Value for money is so so, cheap for New York but rooms could be better.
5 nights for 2 about 900 $ not including valet parking and without breakfast.
But location is very good, lot of New Yorks attractions is just a walk away.
In a nutshell good for exploring New York but room was a dissapontment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I regret to hear that you were disappointed with your room on this occasion. I hope you can take the opportunity to contact me at your convenience so I may address your comments and urge you to contact me directly should you like to arrange another reservation with us.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire,UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at the New Yorker 16th to 21st February.Heard mixed reviews about the hotel and to be honest i was very disappointed.The room was small, but i did expect that but the decoration was shabby, the bathroom had chips out of the bath, paint coming off the wall and mould and dirt engraines in the surrounds.The reception was fine and the hotel reception was helpful when we checked in but after that they weren't particularly helpful and when asked a question replied generally in a curt unfriendly manner.The bar staff were excellent and very friendly.The tick Tock diner was a great disappointment - the food was ok but rarely very hot, the staff again were miserable and rarely smiled, i have been to the US on numerous occassions and the New Yorker is the worst place i have stayed and thje staff the most unfriendly.There are definately better plaxces to stay in New York.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I went to New York recently for my 50th birthday 15th-22nd Feb 2013. We stayed in The New Yorker and it was perfect. The Tick Tock diner which is attached to the hotel serves great for 24 hours which is very reasonably priced. The location of the hotel was fab, near Macys, The Empire Stet building is around the corner, Times square, Braodway just 10 mins walk and Madison Square Garden. There is easy access by foot, train, subway to all of the famous attractions and shops. We took a train direct to New jersey, cost us approx. $3 and took less then 30 mins!
Would definitely stay here again. Staff friendly, rooms very clean and well equipped.

Room Tip: We chose a room with 2 double beds - definitely worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonG012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are happy to hear that our facilities and cleanliness met your needs and expectations during your stay. Our location truly is one of the best, right in the middle of everything! We hope to welcome you back to NYC soon!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Met by very helpful doorman who arranged valet parking at a very reasonable rate of $35 a day. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful to upgrade room from queen bed to room with two double beds so father and daughter had separate beds. Room had wonderful view of Empire State building. Very accessible power outlets to recharge our portable electronics. Room was upscale. appreciated 24 hour security to get onto elevators. Click Toc dinner off lobby has great reasonable priced menu.

Room Tip: ask for Empire State bldg. view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwimaging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our team really cares about our guests and we do whatever we can to ensure a great stay. Great feedback like this gives us more motivation to be the best we can, for our guests! Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Went for the Thanks Giving weekend with my girlfriend. First time in NYC so want to make the most of it. Excellent location, close train stations. Good restaurants nearby. Good & Helpful staff. Room is a bit small but just what i was looking for after a long day at the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#99 of 467 in New York City
4,291 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,078 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#189 of 467 in New York City
9,482 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 467 in New York City
4,543 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing