We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location/ Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morristown, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Location/ Excellent Service”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This Art Deco hotel has nice friendly people and is in a good location if you want to be close to the center of town. The rooms are clean and comfortable.
If you want to be picked up by car,much cleaner and not a lot more than a taxi,you can have a car pick you up at the airport and take you to the hotel. John and his staff are great.
I go to New York once a year and never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly Gwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the excellent feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing better than getting great guest feedback. Our transportation desk is a great resource for our guests and it is great to hear that you utilized it. Come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,641
    4,794
    1,942
    596
    370
See reviews for
3,215
3,877
581
1,300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We traveled to the New Yorker on a Road Scholar trip. We had a room with two queen beds and two full bathrooms. We had a view of other rooms, but the two baths were great when we were getting ready for morning programs and evening theater. Hotel is in a good location to access theater, Times Square and subway outside the door. Easy walk to HiLine park too.

Room Tip: Room 1916 , if you like the two bath feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are happy to hear that our room feature and cleanliness met your needs and expectations during your stay. Our location truly is one of the best, right in the middle of everything! We hope to welcome you back to NYC soon!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Full of history and the location was just perfect! Yes the rooms are smallish but we didn't need anything else. We stayed on the 25th floor and had a wonderful view of the Empire State Building. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandrar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Old style hotel. The hotel is huge, the rooms are big. The location is great near broadway and the shopping area. U can shop in Macy's and leave the bags at your room in a min. If the price is ok ill recommended it. Ask for a high floor room to see the view.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AlonTelAviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Second time at this hotel, treated better than the first time. Tv was not working in the room I had reserved, we were moved to a suite with enough space and comfort to make us very happy. Front desk personnel was very helpful and courteous (Reachel) and also bellboy Luis, he took care of our luggage, after a late checkout, while we went shopping.
Location, Location, Location!! Close to everything they wanted to see and experience. Walking distance to Penn Station. Great that they also have two restaurants - the dinner open 24 hours. Also gave us good tips about getting theater tickets.
Will go back again.
Thank you to all the staff!!

Room Tip: Corner suites and higher floors - make reservations direct to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braxton, MS
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location, very nice and helpful staff. Very clean. We were suppose to get a view room but ended up getting a larger room with a very nice size bathroom, refrigerator, and sleeper chair. The view was of Madison Square Garden. The room was very very clean. The bathroom was a little dated but was clean. The decor was like old New York. Very much made the experience so much more!!! Our room upgrade was at no additional charge!! Mohammad was wonderful. Called after we got to the room to make sure we were completely satisfied. The subway was right there. We ate at Coopers Tavern and it was wonderful! Saw poor reviews for Coopers Tavern but we thought it was great. Sure a little pricey but you are in New York. No higher than anywhere else.Would definately recommend this hotel and will stay there again. Was wonderful, no complaints. Very clean [ I am a nurse and very particular about cleanliness]!!! NO BEDBUGS!! Also had a drugstore across the street which was nice for picking up items you need such as water or other items. Good location. Can go to all the main sites in just a few minutes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenniferBraxton-MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've been traveling to NYC for business the last several months and had been reserving my New Yorker reservations through a travel site other than the hotel's website. Onelia happened to check me in one evening and said, "Hey, next time, call us direct and we can find you a good room." And she was right! I now make reservations direct and Onelia always takes care of me. The whole front desk staff is great so if you can't talk to Onelia, make friends with one of the others. They will take care of you!

Room Tip: Just ask for a quieter room. If they have one available, they will likely give it to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4,320 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#348 of 467 in New York City
18,460 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
9,556 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#260 of 467 in New York City
4,635 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing