We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Room was spacious, but the remodeling stopped there. Bathroom was old with painted tile which was peeling. Toilet was an antique, stained and grungy. Had to request a coffee maker and the hairdryer didn't work. No mini bar or refrigerator. Impossible to call front desk as the line was always busy.Lots of street noise even though we were on the 32nd floor.Tick-tock diner was conveniently located in the hotel and it came in handy as we were there during the Nor-easter and the weather was nasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,602
    4,742
    1,912
    585
    367
See reviews for
3,167
3,836
572
1,281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
risca gwent
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great place to stay in New York stayed here in August 2012. Very clean and comfortable hotel close to Empire State Building, Penn Station and Times Square. Staff very friendly, rooms cleaned every day and two restaurants 'Tick Tock Diner and Coopers Tavern were excellent and good value for money. Even though New York is the city that never sleeps we always had a good night sleep in the comfy beds!! Would definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eieen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay in New York. Art Deco style rooms. Very clean and comfortable. Rooms not over large but perfectly adequate. Tick Tock diner attached to the hotel serves great food all day. Great location-worth paying the extra few dollars a night for a room with a view of the Empire State Building or the Hudson River.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alasan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Any hotel that's only steps from the subway is alright in my book. Room was typical size for NY. Nice bed & bedding. Good AC/heat controls. Nice TV. Good lighting for reading in bed. Bath was small but adequate. All very clean. Elevators were quick. Requested mini-fridge at check-in & it was quickly delivered. Used the gym (better than most hotels) every day. This is our 3rd stay at the New Yorker & we'll book again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbmumey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here during our visit to NYC last month. We booked a metro room and when we checked-in, we asked if we could get a view room instead and didn't mind to pay extra. We were told it was our lucky day - we got upgraded to a tower suite with a terrace overlooking the Hudson river. The hotel is old but the room was clean. Service was good. The hotel is located near to Penn Station, Times Square and The Empire State Building.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My girlfriends and I were going out for a night in the city, so we booked a suite and split the room between the 4 of us.

We had a good experience checking in, found ourselves in a clean room with a reasonable size. It had a separate small sitting room with a couch separate from the bedrooms. It served our purpose perfectly.

We also had brunch the next day at the attached diner and all enjoyed our food.

There was only one thing I wanted to mention. As a surprise, before we headed out to dinner, my husband had arranged for a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to be sent to the room. We were in the room for about two hours and nothing ever came (which I found out when I asked him about it the next day.) Since it was a surprise, we weren't expecting anything. At 2am, not long after we returned to the room, we received a phone call to see if we were in the room. Shortly, the champagne and strawberries appeared. Upon contacting my husband, I learned that he had sent them. The next morning we ate the soggy, chocolate covered strawberries and I brought the champagne home, appreciative of the thoughtful gesture. However, I would definitely think twice (or call and follow up) on an added service if you choose to get one, just so that doesn't happen to you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpediem29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,013 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#101 of 467 in New York City
4,287 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 467 in New York City
4,540 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#214 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, HotelPower, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing