We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location and View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #277 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Just arrived back from a fab trip. Hotel is in a great location. Very close to Macy's and within walking distance of Empire State Building and Rockafeller Centre. The most amazing view from our 34th floor room could not fault it. Room was perfect size with two double beds and ample room for 3 people. Very clean and really comfortable beds and pillows. Bathroom could do with updating but perfectly clean and does the job. Towels are tiny however so apologise to any office workers across the block !! All in all would recommend this hotel to everyone. Breakfast every morning in Tick Tock Diner with vast menu and reasonably priced. Will definitely stay here on next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nursey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. There is nothing better than getting great guest feedback. We are happy to hear that our facilities and cleanliness met your needs and expectations during your stay. Our location truly is one of the best, right in the middle of everything! We hope to welcome you back to NYC soon!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
ryagual@nyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,168 - 7,174 of 11,926 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great hotel,so many people to help you with everything you need or need to know,they have people for everything and are only to glad to help.Rooms are fantastic and big,cleaned to a high standard.In the evening there is security at the lifts and you have to show your keycard to even get in the elevator.A personal limmo to the airport was only 75d well worth it,yes we did try the airport shuttle but the looney driver has put us off doing that again.The famous Tic Toc diner has a walk through to the hotel and is open 24h.The Empire State Building is just a 5 min walk away,this hotel is very well located and near to all the top sights,Times Square, 10 min walk.
Book and pay for your show tickets online from the theater,you can print them off at home and just show them at the box office when you go this will save you a lot of time queueing for ages trying to get cheap tickets with not good seats.
Be prepared to tip a lot,the whole place relies on them,you usualy get a choice of between,15,18 or 20% on top of the bill.Three of us where there for 5 days and we tipped around 150d in various places, but hey if your going NYC you´ll be taking a few bob anyway.If you rearly want to see as much as possible then do as much walking as you can,tour busses are OK but you need to be on the ground to take it all in.
Happy Holidays and get booking now,you´ll have the time of your life,we did,Oh,it was our daughters 21st birthday present.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keywebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Due to Superstorm Sandy we had to move hotel a number of times to secure accomodation for each night our delayed stay. From the 3 hotels we stayed at the New Yorker was by far the best, though reading other comments we may have struck lucky. Situated on the 35th floor one of our rooms had a view of the Empire State Builiding to die for and the other room had 3 windows, 2 facing the Hudson river. The location was very good but as our 4 day stay in New York had been extended to 10 days we'd become used to walking everywhere, so no doubt our fitness levels had increased.

The staff we met were friendly including reception, transportation, and bell boys. Can only recommend this hotel based on our experience. Rooms clean and large, certainly didn't have to dance with our cases to get pass.

Room Tip: The greater the floor level the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

When checking in to the hotel I had the best customer service experience from a hotel that I have had in many years. The desk clerk Mohammed noticed I was traveling with my daughter and it was her first time visiting NYC. He then looked through the room inventory to find us the best possible room both in size and view. We wound up in a suite on the 39th floor with a great view! Within minutes of arriving in the room, he called up to the room to ensure everything was to our liking. You can't beat the location and with customer service like this you can't go wrong with the New Yorker.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottPrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the New Yorker Hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York.
I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed, and I was proud to read the notes you left about our staff. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours.

Thank you again for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing that our guests have been well-served so we can celebrate our success and work towards even better service in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is just across the street from Penn Station and everything you'd need, all within walking distance. Mohammed welcomed us and was very helpful getting us a reasonably priced upgrade to a really nice suite on the 40th (penthouse) floor. Amazing view of Empire State Building and Chrysler Building. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the New Yorker Hotel during October 2012, the reception staff were first class. Our room was small and dated but very clean and perfectly adequate. The hotel is central for shops, bus and rail stations. The tick tick diner attached to the hotel is very good. All in all we would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

we booked in on the 27th October, had a fantastic room, 31st floor with a view of the Empire State Building! Couldn't fault the room, everything worked, and was very comfortable, especially the 2 king size beds. The staff at the Hotel were very polite, and very helpfull. They had inplace a plan just incase of a power 'outage' during the hurricane, but the power remained on and so didn't cause us any problem. There is a diner, The Tick Tock diner, lovely food excellant service, really good price. The hotel is less than 5 minutes from Time Square, Macys, and the Subway is out side the hotel. We had a wonderfull 5 days and I would recommend th New Yorker hotel. Many thanks to All the friendly staff there.

Room Tip: we were in room 3120, which had a great view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrxmas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 471 in New York City
4,996 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 471 in New York City
7,457 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 471 in New York City
20,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#329 of 471 in New York City
7,140 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#303 of 471 in New York City
5,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8th Avenue & 34th Street, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $122 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing