We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel in a perfect location to explore the city!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel in a perfect location to explore the city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The New Yorker is perfect if you want a hotel thats central and close to everything! For starters, we flew into JFK airport and got a taxi to the hotel which is a flat rate of $50 + any tip you decide to give. We was on the 31st floor (thank god for lifts!) The room on first impression was small, but was clean, very modern and comfortable. The bed was also very comfortable. Considering it is the city that never sleeps, we didnt hear much noise outside, even with the window open. You can however hear sirens, and there you will hear a few whilst your there! The maids were very friendly and always smiling!! In terms of food, there is a diner attached to the hotel called the Tick Tock diner. We always ate breakfast there. Good choice at reasonable prices. Sometimes the staff were rude but think this was due to stress because of how busy it used to get. New York as a city is fantastic. The hotel is literally next to Madison Square Gardens, less than 5 minutes to Macys and less than 10 minutes to Empire State building. It is also about a 10 minute walk to Times Square. We went to see Mary Poppins and Sister Act musicals, both were fantastic! Just a bit of advice on attractions. The Hop On Hop Off bus tickets are fantastic. We used the Red Buses (Gray Line). If visiting Statue of Liberty, go early as the queues are sooooo long!! We visited Empire State building in the day, and Top of the Rockerfeller at night - both fantastic!! So, if visiting New York, definitely considor the New Yorker. Perfect city centre hotel!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are quite small, but not much time is spent in there. We requested a room with twin beds, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmadjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,446
    4,542
    1,816
    548
    344
See reviews for
3,000
3,679
545
1,223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

i would recommend this hotel. we got upgraded to a room with a view of the river. The staff were very accommodating. The rooms were always clean. It's right beside penn subway station, we got the air train and the A straight there from the airport. It was also easily walkable to times square and we even walked to central park. Would stay here againz

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daydreamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

the hotel was fab and the staff where friendly the room was clean had any problems when we need room serves they can striaght away good hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanrobinson999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We booked our New York vacation through Air MIles and after considering a couple of options decided on The New Yorker. We were not disappointed. This is a great hotel with small but comfortable rooms and great security. For $10 a night we upgraded to a room-with-a-view and it was worth every penny. We were in a corner room and out of one window had a view of the Chrysler Building, the Empire State building a few blocks away and Penn Station and Madison Square Garden just below. Out of the other window we had a partial view of the Hudson River and all the buildings north of the hotel. It seems like a small thing but there's something magical about being able to look out over the city at night. The lighting on the Empire State Building changes from time to time. It was green for St. Patrick's Day. The great thing about The New Yorker is that its within walking distance of many local attractions - Times Square, Broadway, St. Patrick's Cathedral, The Rockefeller Centre, MoMA, 5th Avenue. If you're ambitious you can even walk to the 9-11 Memorial (about 2 miles) and Central Park. There are many excellent restaurants in the area and it's an easy walk to local favourites like Grimaldi Pizza and Brooklyn Bagels. The Chinese restaurant just a block away, Chef Yu, was excellent. For a great lunch take the subway down to 369 Broome Street for a sub sandwich at Saigon Vietnamese Sandwich. One of the best meals all week was the Thai dinner we ate at Bangkok House, 360 West 46th, just a healthy walk from the hotel. The bed in our room was extremely comfortable and after walking miles every day we slept well. The housekeeping service was good - almost too good - as sheets and towels were changed even when they didn't need to be. The smallness of the room wasn't a factor most of the time, but the absence of a second chair meant that one of us had to sit on the bed while watching television (rare) or using the hotel's free internet. The free internet tended to be a little slow but we decided against the upgrade to premium internet for around $10 per day. The souvenir shop in the basement of the hotel was well stocked and reasonably priced. If you're considering taking a double-decker bus tour the consensus seemed to be that the Gray Line is more reliable than the City Sights competitor. We had pre-booked with City Sights and overall it was pretty good. However, one afternoon on the Uptown Tour, we hopped off at the Metropolitan Museum and never did hop back on. Every bus that came by was full with others who had hopped back on. There were about ten very tired and frustrated people still waiting when we decided to take a cab back to our hotel. Anyway, it was a fabulous week and having a great, comfortable hotel like The New Yorker as our home base had a lot to do with making this the vacation of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed in the New Yorker for 7 nights for a vacation in March. I will start with the positives - the location of the hotel is good being just a few blocks from Macy's and the Empire State building. It is also next to Penn station so convenient for getting the Skytrain to JFK. The Tick Tock diner and Coopers Tavern restaurant we're both excellent with good food and friendly staff. I also couldn't complain about the maid service - staff were friendly and the room was always thoroughly cleaned.

Unfortunately, the negatives of the hotel far outweigh the positives. Upon check-in we had our first of many bad experiences with the front desk staff. We were ignored for several minutes despite several staff appearing to be free. Once we were served we not made to feel welcome, we're not given any information about the hotel or the local area (eg where to find the elevators, the hotel safe service, the buisness centre) and we're not offered help with our bags. During our stay we were shocked at how rude and unhelpful the reception staff were. We noticed other guests getting treated the same and also commenting on how rude the staff were so this does not appear to be a one off. In regards to the room it was adequate but as others have stated it is fairly small.

Overall I would not stay at this hotel again due to the bad experiences that we had with front desk staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nebsta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Front Office Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

We apologize that your stay at The New Yorker Hotel did not meet your expectations. I am concerned to hear about your experience with our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered.

Please, give us an opportunity to correct any possible lapse in service by e-mailing us more details regarding your stay. I know that this does not change the experience you had, but I hope that you can feel confident that we hear your concern and are definitely doing something about it.

These details will help us prevent a possible future lapse in service, as well as help address the issues you encountered. Please feel free to send me an e-mail directly at the address below and I will address them immediately.

Again, I apologize for the problems you encountered and I encourage you to please, the future, allow us to assist you by resolving any issues so we may make your stay with us enjoyable. Without your guest feedback, we cannot continue to improve our services. Thank you and we look forward to your return to the area.

Sincerely,

Nicole Agnello
Guest Services Coordinator
The New Yorker Hotel Mgnt. Co., Inc.
481 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10001
Tel: 212-244-0719 x7794
Fax: 212-629-6536
Email: nagnello@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

check in was simple, rooms clean and tidy.. staff friendly and the lady in the concierge booth was super helpful with buying show tickets. beds were cosy, shower pressure good and walking distance to anywhere.. if you like walking the city.. which my friend and i did..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catlady87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Nice hotel, clean and tidy but the rooms are tiny. Brilliant views from the hotel room.
Most of the staff were friendly but the reception manager is a witch, really really rude and patronising.
The tick tock diner is very busy but the food (especially the steak) was very very good.
But quite pricey (we used most nights due to the ease of popping downstairs after long days of walking) an irish breakfast is $13.95 !
Also all the bars are expensive $6 - $7.50 a pint!
New York the city that neversleeps = ear plugs

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eva c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#338 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,769 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,700 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,001 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#175 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing