We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #279 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 22, 2011

After reading the numerous reviews about this hotel prior to our visit, I was slightly worried and apprehensive about our choice of accommodation having read about poor cleaning standards, miserable staff etc. Take no notice of these reviews as our stay here was brilliant! There were 4 of us (2 couples) in the party and from arriving and checking in to departing the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The rooms were spotless, very comfortable beds and the bathrooms too were very clean with ample towels, toiletries etc. Yes, the rooms are small but why do you need a huge room?? If like us you are visiting New York to see the sights and shop then you will literally use your room to sleep and shower any further time spent in the room then you are wasting time in getting out and about. The rooms seemed fairly newly renovated as did the bathroom, there was a flat screen TV which we used to catch weather forecasts and nothing else. The view wasn't magnificent but again why do you need to be sitting at the window when you can be out and about and the Empire State Building is minutes away if you want to see a magnificent view of the City. We had a great time in New York and we wouldn't hesitate to come back and stay at the New Yorker. It's location is fantastic, very central for getting about and if you don't want to use the Tick Tock Diner (we didn't) there is a Macdonalds across the road or a small but very nice deli a couple of minutes away where you can grab a good coffee before setting out for the day. This hotel was a very pleasant surprise for a City centre hotel, we've stayed in four star hotels in Central London which weren't a patch on the New Yorker. Yes there is a security guy as you enter to return to your room but who wants just anyone off the streets wandering in and around the hotel, this made us feel safe and something we haven't experienced before and we've stayed in some big hotels all over the USA including LA and Vegas. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I wouldn't be worrying about standards. If you are polite and nice to the staff then they will be polite etc in return, as guests we are not better than the staff who work there and sadly we witnessed folks who thought it right and proper to speak to the staff in a rude and degrading manner as if they were beneath them. If you have that kind of disrespectful attitude then you don't deserve politeness or kindness from anyone. Anyway enough said the New Yorker was clean, friendly, central and good value for the amount of money we had paid.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 24th floor and it was quite quiet up there away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudeCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,001 - 8,007 of 11,938 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

I traveled from DC, so took the Northeast Regional to Penn Station and the New Yorker is right across the street so very convenient with no need on taking a cab or subway after departing the train. It's an older hotel so has a dated feeling to it and definitely shows up in the bathrooms. The furnishings are all updated so rooms for the most part are nice. The hotel rooms might actually be on a big size (of course for New York) due to the age of the building. I stayed in newer hotel in NYC and rooms/hallways a lot smaller. The Staff was friendily and had no issues with the hotel. The price and location is very good value for $200 or under per night. Walking distance to the Empire State Building/Macy's/Fifth Ave/Times Square/Broadway. Subway is at the corner of the building that can take you to lower Manhattan or up to Central Park. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

For some reason the New Yorker Hotel always said to me...I'm on a bus trip and don't know where else to stay. What it should have said was...hey, I'm the perfect location, a fair price (by NY standards) and nicely appointed rooms. We were a party of 5 and stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. It met our needs with flying colors. You could not ask for a better location! Macy's was 1 block away, the Times Square area was viewable out the front door, Penn Station basically across the street and we had a view of the Empire State Building!! It was great. The Tick Tock Diner had a great breakfast and I can only assume dinner would be good as well. The diner also had good prices. I will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunkenfluegels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Went in November to try out New York shopping, what a great time. The hotel was central to all the shops and sites, staff were very helpful and great diner for all those lovely treats.

Looking forward to booking next year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugbyfanWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Really impressed. Stayed in a renovated Metro room, free wifi, free safe box, nowhere near as small as reviews have indicated, clean, comfortable, bathroom fine. Staff very good. Great location, next to Penn Station subway, close to Macy's, few minutes on the subway to Times Square. Tick Tock diner next door very good.

Room Tip: Probably best to go as high as possible to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spike228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Staff were verry helpful. Moved us to a larger room immediately as first room was very very small and I am very pregnant. Be warned, the rooms with views of the Empire State Building are small as they are maximising the number of rooms with access to this view.
Our second room had view of 8th Ave and Hudson river. It had a fridge, which was handy, and a walk in wardrobe. The AC was a bit noisy, and the bathroom was chilly.
There is no room service, but the room has an information folder and you can order from local restaurants, who will deliver. There is also a mini supermarket on the corner opposite which sells snacks, toiletries, alcohol and has a pharmacy.
The location is good. Opposite Penn station, close to Macy's good shopping and walking distance to Times Square and the restaurants of Hells Kitchen.
The staff were always polite, helpful and friendly, and the maid was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millylilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The room was not over sized but you do not go to The Big Apple to sit in your room. The bath room was in good order and the maids kept it topped up with soaps and shampoo etc. The bar was average price with excelant food on sale. Tick tock diner was great value.
From the hotel you can walk to central park in 30 mins, Macy's in under 10 mins if you get moving. You can also go to Bowling Green within an hour. All in all great hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_and_Denise999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 471 in New York City
5,002 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 471 in New York City
7,462 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 471 in New York City
20,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#329 of 471 in New York City
7,142 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#304 of 471 in New York City
5,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8th Avenue & 34th Street, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $128 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing