We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location but no wow factor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Central location but no wow factor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and i stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our multi centre USA trip. We flew into Newark airport and the cab cost to the hotel was $70 including tolls which we found slightly excessive. May be cheaper if you fly into JFK. The hotel location is great, very central, Penn St station right next door, Madison Square Gardens opposite and only a 10 minute walk to Times Square. We arrived at reception check in at 8.30pm so there was no queue, very desirable after travelling for so long. The lobby is very art deco, and has very much kept the 1930's feel to it. The staff were friendly and helpful, so no complaints there. Before arriving, i had emailed the hotel a few weeks before as it was my 30th birthday whilst staying there and wanted to see if i could have a high floored room overlooking the city. The guy at check in acknowledged my email and said he had found me the perfect room and wished me a very happy birthday and hope we liked it. However, although the room was on the 33rd floor, the view was actually of another high rise apartment block directly opposite. Very disappointing :(
We found the rooms to be extremely small. I know everyone on here is saying you don't sit in your rooms all day but we had 1 double bed and between the bed and the desk, there was only enough room for one person to be standing next to it at one time. When i brought my shopping bags back, we had no hope! Although we didn't see them, the general view appears to be that the 2 double rooms have more space to move around so i would recommend choosing one of those.
The facilities included a gym, 2 restaurants and a business centre which was useful for your return flight check in and keeping up to date with the social networking sights :) The charge for use was 25c a minute. My husband managed to log into the hotel Wi-Fi on his phone from our room, which didn't appear to charge him. Was free for 1 day. We ate in the Tick Tock diner twice which was fairly reasonable. Also being open 24 hrs a day means there no rush to eat at set times. I would recommend trying Nutella on French toast with banana which i had for breakfast on the last day there, was delicious! Overall, the hotel was ok, no major hassles with anything but that's all i can say. I suppose i was expecting more due to the previous reviews on here.
Make sure you visit Liberty Island but if you want to get in the Crown or Pedestal for the views, you will need to book in advance. We booked 3 months in advance but could only get to the Pedestal. This is still a great view across the city and Island though. The Empire State Building entrance fee was around $20 to get to the 86th floor, if you want to go right to the top, there's an extra fee but probably worth it to say you'd done it! Would recommend getting the audio tour as well, this gives you explanations and history as to the buildings you are looking at when your up there. Very interesting and informative! Central Park was amazing, absolutely huge and we found the bridge and hotel from Home Alone 2, definitely get some photo's of them if you can. Also, visit the M & M store in Times Square. It's a fun store and even the adults will turn into kids once inside :)
If we returned to New York, we'd probably choose another hotel but in a central location like this.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,447
    4,543
    1,816
    548
    344
See reviews for
3,000
3,679
546
1,223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the New Yorker in June when we went for our first visit to New York on our first anniversary.

After reading mixed review's we were obviously slightly apprehensive, but found the New Yoker to be perfectly fine as our New York base. The room may not have had the best view of the city (looking at the building across the street on the 27th floor but it was nice and comfy and or a decent enough size (not as if you spend a huge amount of time in your room whilst your in NYC!!).

Bathroom was great with a decent shower. Only downside was the air-con which was a bit loud (according to the better half - personally I've slept through a hurricane so didn't notice a thing!).

Staff were extreemly pleasant at the hotel, the Tick Tock and the Bar. Plus the car service back to JFK was great!

Great location if your after Macy's or the Empire, plus you can wander up to Times Square in about 10mins but don't get all the noise.

We'll definately be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Location, location, location! Walking distance (and you will be walking!) to just about anywhere. Be it Times Square, 5th Avenue, Empire State Building, High Line Park, Madison Square Gardens, Greenwich Village, Soho, Broadway...you are within a walking distance. And if you want to go anywhere else, the subway (Penn Stn) is right at the corner. Free WIFI in your room, great water pressure/temperature, no noise from other rooms (and very little from the street below), air conditioning, gym, gift/convenience store, concierge (for entertainment arrangements), transportation desk(airport etc), bank machine, a 24 hr restaurant and a lounge all on site. At the edge of Chelsea and Midtown, this is perfectly located. Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating, and check-in was a breeze. Yes the hotel is a bit dated and the rooms are small. But if you are in NYC to be in a hotel room, what are you doing in NYC? I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank island_m0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

The New Yorker was a great place to arrive at in NYC with reasonably sized rooms for this city and a location close enough to all the action without the traffic that keeps you up at night! Better than some of the boutique type places we stayed in Times Square and cheaper .Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby including Macys and try Lucy's Cantana bar/ Mexican restaurant for drinks and music - great crowd!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed here with my sisters in May/June 2011 and it was the perfect hotel. The location couldn't have been better, everything within walking distance. The service at the hotel was brilliant and the conceige was absolutely superb, her knowledge and honest opion really helped us, epsecially as we were only in NYC for 4 nights so didn't have time to mess around. This was my first time in NYC and I will definately look at staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiFi180383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

I didn't expect much just because to was New York and most hotels have very small rooms, but this one was a good sized room with two double beds and a very functional bathroom. The room was clean and nicely appointed. People were pleasant and the experience was a good one.

Convenience is important and it is walking distance to many things and for those that it's not, the subway is right there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seastrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed here with my partner on our second visit to NYC, and it didn't disappoint. Our room was very small, but clean and modern, and it was quiet. The hotel is in a great location too - about a 10-min walk to 5th Ave, maybe 15 mins to Chelsea area. If you're looking for a good central hotel for a shopping trip, I'd recommend the New Yorker.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#338 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,777 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,700 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,001 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#175 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing