We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Phillips Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phillips Club
Ranked #331 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited Philips Club in May 2012!
Don't be Confused by the Name
The Philips Club, is a Hotel & Apartment Hotel In NYC

Though Not the Least Expensive Place too Visit, it is well worth it if Travelling with a Family or Friends to share the cost.

The Facilities Are Fantastic!

The Location is Perfect Right at the Lincoln Centre.
Metropolitan Opera Very Close By.
As is Juilliard School for the Performing Arts

The Apartments are a Real Home from Home, though Even More Luxurious!
The Staff Are Very Friendly & Transport Links Around New York Are Literally on the Doorstep

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, May 11, 2016
Thank you for your kind review!

The Phillips Club turns a regular stay into a real 'New York' experience. Many of our guests feel as though they are residents of the city. This is a real New York neighborhood where visitors mingle with locals. As you've stated, it is a real 'home away from home'! Please come back soon for another visit!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    23
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
21
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeway, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This partial ownership club is great way place to stay in New York for those who frequently visit the City. Located near Lincoln enter, there is a subway (Line 1 ) on the corner. Depending on the suz of your unit, there is a kitchen, bedroom, and living space. The ability to prepare some meals can decrease the cost of your stay in NYC and is convenient as well. The staff can also arrange for car transportation to the airports. Slightly more than cab, but nice to have available when you need to leave ar a specific time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alvinmc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, May 12, 2016
Thank you very much indeed! Meals can cost a pretty penny in New York and our guests love the convenience of having breakfast in their room. Gourmet Garage is right next door and on Thursdays and Saturdays we have a Farmer's Market right down the block (I love the apple cider donuts!!!). We hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Our family had a get together in New York City. Most of us from out of town stayed at the Phillips Club at the generosity of my nephew's in laws. They are full size apartments with all the service of a hotel. I stayed in a two bedroom apartment with two bathrooms and a generous living room. All the people from out of town had breakfast in my apartment before we started the day without any problem at all. There is a grocery store beside the Phillips Club which carries anything you are going to need during your stay, even though it was a bit expensive. The hotel staff was great from the desk people, the door men and the house keeping staff. The last night we stayed there we had twenty people for supper and we had a great time visiting with each other over take out food. I also had a chance to use their business center to print out my boarding passes. The Phillips Club was our headquarters for our family get together and the space, location, and service help make this a great trip experience.
Be prepared to spend the big bucks because it is expensive but anything good in New York is.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tempoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
What more can I say? I think you have covered it all but please keep in mind that we do offer special rates during certain times of the year. Also, if you are traveling with a few people, the cost of two or three hotel rooms would certainly be more than booking one of our Two Bedroom Apartments! In addition to that, you could at least save the cost of breakfast (which can be up to $30 in a hotel restaurant) by purchasing your favorite breakfast items and using our full kitchens!

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

A lovely one bedroom suite, with full kitchen facilities, maid service, concierge, doorman, the works...for about the price of a nice hotel room? In one of the best locations in N.Y. (at the crossroads of Columbus Ave., Broadway and 66th Street)? No way? Could be the most real deal in the city. Housekeeping is immaculate. Neutral, contemporary furnishings, fluffy duvet, big soft towels, good toiletries, everything you'd find in upscale 4 star (or many 5-star) properties. Also 2-bedroom suites for families or friends...and pets are welcome. The rooms are small, but efficient and the quality is there. Only hotel service missing is a restaurant on site. Instead, you get to live like real New Yorkers, as a wonderful, upscale deli/bakery delivers 24/7. In N.Y. you can get anything just about anything delivered, from one bagel to a week of groceries, a pound of caviar or Cuban/Asian/Argentinian-fusion cuisine. It's faster than room service in most hotels and your full refrigerator will hold the leftovers. Subway a half block away takes you in three stops to Times Square. Lincoln Center is almost next door and Central Park is a two block walk. I've stayed at the Plaza, the Mandarin, the Pierre, the St. Regis, etc., as well as countless 4 star properties and nothing can beat this for value. If you want butler service, this isn't for you. No snob appeal or bragging rights, but a lot of bang for the buck.

Room Tip: A view of the street is always nice...you can tell the current temperature by what pedestrians are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, May 16, 2016
Thank you so much!!! I feel I can barely add anything to this wonderful review; you've said it all. Besides which, an endorsement from a guest is so much more meaningful for everyone reading these reviews.

Hope to see you again soon and if you have a pound of caviar in your fridge, I may be knocking on your door!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Phillips Club is so very convenient....Convenient location, in the middle of so much to do; convenient for transportation....there is subway station half a block away and the bus through Central Park over to the Eastside is one block away....and if you must take a taxi, on Broadway there are always plenty to be had.....Convenient, comfortable rooms.....I usually stay in a 'studio'....it is large by any hotel standard much less NY....it has a full kitchen which is great for getting breakfast while you are dressing....it has a very comfortable bed with nice linens, a large flat screen TV with really good cable, a loveseat, table and chair for lounging, a table and chairs for eating, tons of closet space, and the only (mild) let down, a small bathroom....nice but nothing to rave about....the staff is very nice and friendly...the building well maintained....ever since finding the Phillips Club, I have stayed nowhere else in NY.....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelgal092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, May 17, 2016
Thank you for your kind review! It's true!!! We're in the center of everything! When I first started here, I was astounded at the size and comfort of the rooms - more like apartments. The smallest space here at The Phillips Club is twice the size of an average hotel room. The kitchens make it so easy to have breakfast and lounge for a while before hitting the town. It does feel like you are living like a New Yorker (although a lot of NY apartments are actually smaller).

Hope to see you soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12175521
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I always stay at the Phillips Club. The location is excellent. You have many stores, restaurants, movie houses, a subway station and the Lincoln Center accross the street. Also, there is a Gourmet Garage adjacent to the hotel! Service is impeccable and the staff is very homey friendly. It is pet friendly and each floor has a lounge. This is a real gem of a place. I'd wish there would be more like this!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Arnaud21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, May 18, 2016
Thank you for your kind review! It is indeed a gem and is indeed unique! I have been in the Industry many years and have never encountered anything like The Phillips Club. The location, size of rooms, full kitchens, peaceful environment, great service - I can go on and on. I am so happy I was fortunate to be selected to run The Phillips Club!

I hope you will return soon.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

While mainly an extended stay hotel, you can also do shorter stays here. They all come with a kitchen, which saves a LOT of money while in NYC. The staff is lovely and the place great. Free laundry machines on every floor so you can under pack and wash. They don't have room service or other hotel like amenities, but you are literally across the street from the subway, and lincoln center, and I could not imagine staying anywhere else. I have also stayed at the Trump which I found laughable in terms of how nasty the employees are. And the STandard downtown, while gorgeous views, have rooms so small they are laughable.

Room Tip: The facing 66th one bedrooms have a lot more space, but not much view/light... The one bedrooms tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Writerguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, May 19, 2016
I like secrets but thank you for getting the word out about The Phillips Club! Even a Studio here is larger than most hotel Suites! We don't tolerate 'rude or nasty'. We are here to serve and do so with a smile and we genuinely appreciate our guests. You have selected us and we must live up to your expectations!

Thank you and hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#370 of 467 in New York City
165 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#328 of 467 in New York City
6,005 reviews
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#346 of 467 in New York City
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
1,079 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
3,509 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phillips Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phillips Club

Property: Phillips Club
Address: 155 W 66th St, New York City, NY 10023-6501
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in New York City
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phillips Club is a unique residential-style hotel in the heart of Lincoln Square - 1 block from Lincoln Center, 2 blocks from Central Park. We are surrounded by theaters, lovely boutiques and the area is a gourmet lovers paradise! Accommodations start at 400 square feet (twice the size of average hotel rooms) with full kitchens. Guests receive access to one of the best fitness locations in the city - Equinox, with a swimming pool, running track, outdoor lounge area and indoor cafe. The subway is half a block away and we are walking distance to many of New York's sights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phillips Club Hotel New York City
Phillips Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing