We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of New York's best places to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AKA Sutton Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AKA Sutton Place
London, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“One of New York's best places to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Tired of New York hotels? This is an excellent alternative. Their short stay apartments are comfortable, clean and spacious. The location, in the one of the quietest streets in Sutton Place, is excellent. The staff are fantastic - always friendly and helpful, as well as super efficient. Unlike staying in a hotel, there is no room service or laundry. But there is a perfectly adequate continental breakfast provided in the lobby every day, there is a diner down the street for a bigger breakfast and a laundry also in the same street. For a party like us with teenagers included, this couldn't have been better as a place to stay. And there is even a pool in the basement.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

If you like an Upper East address and are looking for an apartment rather than a five star hotel then it is hard to beat AKA Sutton Place. Its hugely comfortable and well located for museums, shopping and Central Park. We stayed for ten days and arrived late at night to a small one bedroom suite. It was fine but had no aspect. The next morning ,for an additional amount ,we upgraded to a much larger one bedroom on an upper floor,with a balcony and a good view over the Manhattan. It was simply fabulous. We settled in and it felt as if we were living in New York. The indoor heated swimming pool is excellent ( although the hours were a little limited) The Sutton Place wine shop is above average and the local deli's have all you could need . The only clean and empty post office I have ever found in New York is just around the corner, which makes posting home a breeze. What also makes the AKA Sutton Place is the professionalism of the staff, who were highly efficient ,personable and not in your face. That is just the way we like it. AKA Sutton Place was stylish and understated, friendly, professional and well located.Just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

This is my fifth stay at AKA Sutton Place.....we have just had the BEST Family reunion. The Staff was so friendly and knowledgeable, the Suite was huge and beautifully appointed, with a wonderful view... loads of sunlight. The Sutton Place location continues to offer a quiet area with easy access to the best that New York has to offer. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAPTIVAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh & NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

Amateur service, quality, and management is what you'll get here, but at Upper East Side prices. We had many problems during our 2-week stay, including confused staff, rude and unhelpful manager, inconsistent housekeeping, cheap kitchen amenities (some of which broke or were barely usable) and general poor quality of environment. Don't look too closely at the details: what you'll find is peeling wall paper, smears of paint over hardware, cheap materials, and bad overall construction. The fitness center was under repair (but we had to argue with the manager to be reimbursed for this unusable amenity), the "business center" was a printer and 2 computers shoved into what obviously used to be a closet, and internet access was spotty at best. The management of this place seems to think that you will be lured and fooled by brand names, including that of the neighborhood itself, and not notice that your actual experience is closer to Motel 6.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank surfacegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

I have stayed in a lot of NYC hotels are most are very disappointing. If you are looking for a hotel with a cool bar and restaurant scene, this is not the hotel for you. What it is, is a really cool apart hotel with really big, bright modern suites, great beds, trendy kitchens and a wonderful tranquil pool in the basement. There is free wifi and local calls and the staff are fantastic. Sutton Place is convenient to everything. It's not expensive and I would have no hesitation staying here again or recommending it to friends. I was really, really impressed.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borisboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

Having stayed in a number of NYC in the past, we had grown used to disappointment. Most of the places we've stayed at there have bordered on "tenement" conditions, and always been quite expensive.

I was pleasantly surprised with the AKA Sutton Place. It was in a good location, with a nice, safe neighborhood. We had traveled to New York to experience Manhattan at Christmastime - something I recommend everyone do at least once.

We had a great time in all of our adventures, but the biggest surprise was the hotel. Large, clean suites, with fully appointed kitchens and nice fixtures all around. The suite size was almost double what we'd expected. We weren't there for business, but if we had been, the suite would have been perfect for meetings and entertaining guests.

The hotel staff was wonderful. We didn't have a single encounter with any of them that was not positive. It seemed as if each staff member we dealt with was a very involved part-owner.

I highly recommend the AKA Sutton Place for both business and pleasure.

  • Liked — Staff was incredibly helpful, rooms were huge, everything was perfect
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank greg90274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

to have found this wonderful hotel. NY at Christmastime is something we both remembered from our childhood and we wanted to return from California with our grandchildren so they could enjoy the lights, the department store windows (Lord & Taylor exactly as I remember from years ago - still the BEST), ice skating, shopping, the shows etc. We left NY many years ago and each time we returned it was a wonderful trip except for the hotels. This time, however, we found AKA Sutton. I can't rave enough about the service - the most helpful and friendly we have ever experienced (one of them actually walked us down the street and fought with a cabdriver on our behalf). Every person at that front desk was like family - helpful in every way. They just couldn't be nicer. The hotel itself is beautiful - just like new. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the bedding was beautiful (exactly as in the pictures), the breakfasts with croissants and fruit etc were great. I can honestly say we will NEVER stay anywhere else. Also the neighborhood is totally safe and within walking distance of almost everything. We walked everywhere. I met a gentleman from Australia who was in the pool with his son and he was telling me a similar story - so fortunate to have found this hotel.

I was a little concerned when I saw the review saying the hotel was dirty but then every other hotel in NY seems to have that problem so I assumed again it was something I'd just have to overlook. However, just the opposite - it was impeccably clean. I have absolutely not one single complaint about this hotel. I will never even think about staying anywhere else. I will certainly, and already have, recommended it.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnemarieCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Financial District
AKA Wall Street
AKA Wall Street
#306 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
#369 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Midtown
The Lombardy Hotel
The Lombardy Hotel
#258 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Sutton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Sutton Place

Property: AKA Sutton Place
Address: 330 E 56th St, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Sutton Place 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the City's most prestigious neighborhoods, AKA Sutton Place is steps from Madison Avenue shopping, world-class restaurants and cultural landmarks. Designed for stays of a month or longer, AKA Sutton Place offers sophisticated, fully-furnished spaces including recently redesigned one- and two-bedroom suites and penthouses with gourmet kitchens, spacious living and dining areas, and hardwood floors. Additional amenities include a private lounge with fireplace, marble bar for coffee and cocktails, private garden, fitness and business center, brand new private cinema, and a newly redesigned indoor swimming pool. Complimentary WiFi and local phone service with personal voicemail is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA Sutton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Sutton Place Hotel New York City
Sutton New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing