We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star all around”
Review of AKA Sutton Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AKA Sutton Place
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Having stayed in a number of NYC in the past, we had grown used to disappointment. Most of the places we've stayed at there have bordered on "tenement" conditions, and always been quite expensive.

I was pleasantly surprised with the AKA Sutton Place. It was in a good location, with a nice, safe neighborhood. We had traveled to New York to experience Manhattan at Christmastime - something I recommend everyone do at least once.

We had a great time in all of our adventures, but the biggest surprise was the hotel. Large, clean suites, with fully appointed kitchens and nice fixtures all around. The suite size was almost double what we'd expected. We weren't there for business, but if we had been, the suite would have been perfect for meetings and entertaining guests.

The hotel staff was wonderful. We didn't have a single encounter with any of them that was not positive. It seemed as if each staff member we dealt with was a very involved part-owner.

I highly recommend the AKA Sutton Place for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank greg90274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 42 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2008

to have found this wonderful hotel. NY at Christmastime is something we both remembered from our childhood and we wanted to return from California with our grandchildren so they could enjoy the lights, the department store windows (Lord & Taylor exactly as I remember from years ago - still the BEST), ice skating, shopping, the shows etc. We left NY many years ago and each time we returned it was a wonderful trip except for the hotels. This time, however, we found AKA Sutton. I can't rave enough about the service - the most helpful and friendly we have ever experienced (one of them actually walked us down the street and fought with a cabdriver on our behalf). Every person at that front desk was like family - helpful in every way. They just couldn't be nicer. The hotel itself is beautiful - just like new. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the bedding was beautiful (exactly as in the pictures), the breakfasts with croissants and fruit etc were great. I can honestly say we will NEVER stay anywhere else. Also the neighborhood is totally safe and within walking distance of almost everything. We walked everywhere. I met a gentleman from Australia who was in the pool with his son and he was telling me a similar story - so fortunate to have found this hotel.

I was a little concerned when I saw the review saying the hotel was dirty but then every other hotel in NY seems to have that problem so I assumed again it was something I'd just have to overlook. However, just the opposite - it was impeccably clean. I have absolutely not one single complaint about this hotel. I will never even think about staying anywhere else. I will certainly, and already have, recommended it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AnnemarieCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Upon arrival at AKA Sutton Place, we were absolutely thrilled. We have stayed in a variety of places in NYC and are generally sorely disappointed with the quality -- especially in light of what you pay to stay anywhere in NYC!

We are an extended family of 2 adults, 2 children, and 2 seniors. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite. The master bedroom with en suite bath was very large with a huge walk-in closet. The second bedroom was spacious, especially for NYC, and the living room was quite large. The hotel doesn't have a pullout couch in the living room, so we bought a full-sized aerobed for the kids. I was worried that it wouldn't fit in the room, but in retrospect we could have fit a king-sized one in the room!

Each room has a TV. WiFi is free. Local phone calls are free. There is a beautiful kitchen with sub-zero refrigerator, freezer with icemaker, dishwasher, stove, microwave -- everything you need to keep the leftovers from dinner at NYC restaurants.

Downstairs in the lobby they have coffee and tea all day long. Breakfast (yogurt, apples, pastries) are complimentary in the morning. There's a business center with computers and a printer (free). There's a beautiful, peaceful, relaxing indoor pool -- we swam in December! There's also a workout room downstairs.

The staff is INCREDIBLE. They bend over backwards to help with anything you need. I received an email a week before coming asking if we wanted anything purchased at the local store to be waiting upon our arrival.

I am very finicky about the beds I sleep in, and our bed was incredibly comfortable. The sheets were heavenly.

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I was worried about the one review saying it was dirty, but in reality the whole place was SPOTLESS. The property looked EXACTLY like the pictures on the website.

If you're staying 7 days or longer, maid service is only provided once a week, but they do change towels and take out trash daily. I think additional maid service is $30 per cleaning, but we never used it.

After years of searching, we have found our "always stay there" hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank gadgetlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Korman Communities has several Hotels in New York City. The one we stayed at was called 'Sutton Place' location. The location is good and the 2 bedroom apartment we were staying at was spacious, well-designed and the color scheme of the rooms and furnishings was pleasing. Each room had a T.V. and the kitchen was fully equipped and well stocked with plates/cutlery/pots & pans/coffee maker/toaster etc. Bathrooms were adequate and well stocked with towels. We arrived late in the evening and the front desk staff were quite welcoming. We were given a 'welcome' letter (with our name on it and the date of our arrival) on which they had listed useful information such as how-to-use the telephones in our rooms etc. This welcome letter also stated that housekeeping will be provided daily. Upon arriving in the apartment, our 10 year old wanted to have a soak in the tub but then decided against it when he saw there were 'hairs' in the bathtub and that the tub had a grimy soap ring all around. When I went to turn down the bed for our children, I saw that the sheets were all crumpled and they really did look used, even here there were strands of hair. The toilet in our bathroom was a dark dirty yellow color, I doubt that a toilet brush has been used there in a long time. Our bedroom had smeared dead mosquitos on the wall and the headboard had some crusty dried up white substance on it. The next day I mentioned all this to the front desk, and they said they would take care of it. But upon our return at the end of the day, the only thing that had changed was that there weren't any hairs in the tub anymore. The next day, housekeeping only took out the trash and replaced the used towels, the beds weren't made nor was the apartment cleaned. When I asked how come the welcome letter had said housekeeping provided on a daily basis when in fact this wasn't so, I was told that the letter we were given was 'old' and that they didn't do real housekeeping everyday just what they called trash and towels. Anyway, I just wouldn't recommend this hotel if you're looking for cleanliness or for a responsive staff at the front desk.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JoeItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed November 18, 2003

Excellent and discreet. This is a secret i'm reluctant to share. A little Victorian for the groovy crowd.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Anna0140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank may c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#237 of 469 in New York City
446 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#114 of 469 in New York City
597 reviews
Midtown
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
#372 of 469 in New York City
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
AKA Wall Street
AKA Wall Street
#282 of 469 in New York City
91 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#25 of 469 in New York City
474 reviews
Midtown
AKA United Nations
AKA United Nations
#14 of 163 in New York City
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Sutton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Sutton Place

Address: 330 E 56th St, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range: $336 - $670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Sutton Place 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the City's most prestigious neighborhoods, AKA Sutton Place is steps from Madison Avenue shopping, world-class restaurants and cultural landmarks. Designed for stays of a month or longer, AKA Sutton Place offers sophisticated, fully-furnished spaces including recently redesigned one- and two-bedroom suites and penthouses with gourmet kitchens, spacious living and dining areas, and hardwood floors. Additional amenities include a private lounge with fireplace, marble bar for coffee and cocktails, private garden, fitness and business center, brand new private cinema, and a newly redesigned indoor swimming pool. Complimentary WiFi and local phone service with personal voicemail is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA Sutton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Sutton Place Hotel New York City
Sutton New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing