We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent better than any hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AKA Sutton Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AKA Sutton Place
Bath UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent better than any hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We spent a week in an apartment at AKA Sutton. New York it was so much better than any hotel room, the welcome was superb, it was so nice to relax after a busy day site seeing in an excellent comfortable apartment, it had everything we needed and more, there was loads of storage and a very comfy huge bed, we would certainly recommend it and would definatly stay in an AKA property again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank poppygalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

I just spent the week in NYC and I am so thankful that I stayed at AKA Sutton Place! From the call prior to my visit to see if I had any questions or requests. To the warm friendly greeting when we walked in the door. And, the gracious manner the staff accommodates every request, THIS PLACE KNOWS HOSPITALITY!
I stayed in the one bedroom apartment along with my teen daughter and it was very spacious and extremely well appointed. The kitchen is small but very gourmet and well stocked. Bosch, Sub Zero, Granite Countertops all nice touches! The king size bed was very comfortable and the Frette linens were another luxurious, nice touch. We had plenty of closet space and the bathroom was perfect for the two of us. We felt we had such a nice oasis to come home to after a day of touring and shopping in the big city!
The bar, lounge and pool were wonderful amenities and make for sort of a hotel feel but with the plus of apartment living! SO PERFECT!! If you are just wanting "room service" they offer a full list of GOOD restaurants that deliver, very convenient as it can be daunting to find a good restaurant when in a new place. I forgot to mention that I was able to send a grocery list to AKA Sutton Place and they had my groceries delivered and put away in the kitchen(free of charge,) I just had to pay for the groceries of course, but what a great service! AKA Sutton Place provides many offerings from haircuts to yoga, and they provide an incredible menu to choose from when at check in.
The neighborhood is very nice, extremely safe(we felt comfortable to walk home at midnight, no problem) and close to all the famous shopping, museums and restaurants. The subway line is 3 blocks away also.
I feel so fortunate to have found this place and I am so excited to share how wonderful it is!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank where2nxtmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed here for christmas week with three little kids and two adults. We chose the AKA Sutton Place for the rooms and indoor pool, but the staff really made us feel special with their friendly suggestions, great knowledge of the area, and sense of fun. The hotel and the apartments (we had a 2 bedroom) were pretty nice quality and well appointed, with a mini kitchen with all modern conveniences and new appliances, two baths, and a good sized living room. It felt a bit more like an apartment than a hotel (eg, it was not up to the four seasons standards) but the lobby, business center, cafe were all really stylish and beautiful. My only complaint was that our room was on a lower floor, so we got the NYC street noise. The pool is fantastic and it served to get the kids a way to blow off some steam, and we felt good about the lifeguard who was on duty. The hallways did seem like they could use a refresh and the fittings in the apartments were one notch down from luxury, but totally serviceable. And the location was very convenient to all of the christmas and shopping activities. In all, a great stay for a family.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomeghale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We were at AKA Sutton Place for 5 nights. Very happy with the accommodation - the apartment is clean and well maintained. It is of good size and we enjoy having the spacious living room and the kitchen is well equipped with a large Sub-zero, microwave and oven. The location is close to the main shopping avenues and restaurants within walking distance - we tried French, Italian, Chinese, Japanese. We want to commend the excellent service provided by all the staff manning the reception. They were very helpful and informative, especially Finn Beveridge, Jeremy and even John who helped with our bags and the parcels we had pre-ordered. We highly recommend this accommodation to those who prefer a personalised service, need space and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 55travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monalcino
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here for a long stay of three weeks. If you are in NYC for an extended period this place is perfect. Great amenities (indoor pool) quiet street but centrally located. Could probably use a little more maintenance in apartments. The staff is friendly and helpful, it's basically like renting a condo with hotel service

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riccardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Arrived after a long 30 hours travel from Australia, and were greeted by the most friendly desk-staff ever. The suite was spacious, smart and clean. The quiet location assured a good night's sleep in the comfortable beds. The pool was a highlight- our children used it every day, beautifully clean and inviting. Free wi-fi was valuable. The staff were so friendly, and really treated us more like family that guests, at the same time were very professional. It really made a great holiday even better!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gothereagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here in June 2011 and loved it. We had a two bedroom suite and the rooms were very large. The kitchen was small, but plenty of room for cooking breakfast and dinner. My kids loved the pool and it was nice for them to have a place to ply after a day of sigh seeing. The location is very convenient to many places in New York and there is a grocery store around the block. The neighborhood felt very safe for walking at night and was quiet by NY standards. The staff was very friendly and always helpful with questions and suggestions.
The only negative comment is that the hotel is starting to show its age and could use new carpet and paint in hallways. Overall it was a great hotel and we will definitely stay when we return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerwith2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Midtown
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
#376 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Midtown
Carvi Hotel New York
Carvi Hotel New York
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Sutton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Sutton Place

Property: AKA Sutton Place
Address: 330 E 56th St, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 166 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Sutton Place 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the City's most prestigious neighborhoods, AKA Sutton Place is steps from Madison Avenue shopping, world-class restaurants and cultural landmarks. Designed for stays of a month or longer, AKA Sutton Place offers sophisticated, fully-furnished spaces including recently redesigned one- and two-bedroom suites and penthouses with gourmet kitchens, spacious living and dining areas, and hardwood floors. Additional amenities include a private lounge with fireplace, marble bar for coffee and cocktails, private garden, fitness and business center, brand new private cinema, and a newly redesigned indoor swimming pool. Complimentary WiFi and local phone service with personal voicemail is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your AKA Sutton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Sutton Place Hotel New York City
Sutton New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing