We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marmara Manhattan
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$177
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$173
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$339
$314
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$183
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$166
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$236
$219
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$309
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (980)
Filter reviews
980 results
Traveler rating
498
351
79
30
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
351
79
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenupper east sidesubway constructionone bedroom apartmentsinai hospitalliving roomcentral parkwasher dryernew yorkmuseum milegreat apartmentextended staylaundry facilitieshome away from homefront desk staffhigher floorbit dated
Filter
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 980 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have over the last 5 years stayed at the hotel. It is very good value for money with very nice rooms and wonderful views. Only negative is something that hotel has no control over and that is the building of a new subway so sometimes the roads around the hotel are closed. Staff are very welcoming and pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

You are the dream of every Hotel, unfailingly and enthusiastically loyal. There are simply no words to express our gratitude, thank you.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have just stayed at the Marmara Manhattan for a period of 6 weeks.

I am a nanny travelling with a family, and because of this we were looking for a 4-bedroom apartment/suite in New York City, and found it nearly impossible to find something suitable.

The three-bedroom suite was perfect for our needs - the queen bedroom with ensuite provided a private area for myself (the nanny) and the walk-in-robe in the master bedroom was the perfect size to put the baby's port-a-cot (you could even fit a rollaway bed in there if you wanted) so that he had his own "room" (which was one of our requirements) but was still close to his parents.

I've stayed in quite a few New York hotels, and I have to say that I didn't think it was even possible to get a suite of this size in the Manhattan area. The bedrooms are large and the beds are VERY comfortable, with nice white cotton linen and duvets/doonas.

The washer/dryer in the room worked well, and made doing laundry so convenient and easy. The kitchen has a dishwasher which they provide dishwasher liquid for in a big bottle, which was great.

The heating worked really well and we were in NYC at a very cold time. Water in the bathrooms was hot (which is a good thing).

There are computers (3?) in the lobby for guest use, and they have printers as well, so that you can print out tickets, boarding passes etc, for no charge. There is also a drink vending machine and a snack vending machine in the lobby.

Of course, there were some "not so good" things, but they didn't disturb our day-to-day life enough to be "negatives".

If you are planning on staying a long time and or doing any serious cooking you might need to pick up some extra utensils - what is provided is very basic, we had to buy a decent knife, a cutting board and an oven dish to be able to make basic meals. The standard provisions include steak knives, regular cutlery, plates/bowls/mugs/tea cups/glasses/wine glasses. Two saucepans (1 large, 1 small) and one small frying pan, and basic utensils (egg flip, spoon etc.)

Other reviews have mentioned the noise from the street in relation to the 2nd Avenue Subway project. We were on the 23rd floor and still heard noise from the street, including noise from the subway project starting from 7am. This is easily rectified with earplugs if you are a light sleeper, but be aware that the noise does exists and can be heard from quite high up - also sirens etc. are loud, and there is a hospital across the road so sirens are often frequent. However, I don't think there are many places in Manhattan that you can escape this day-to-day noise, and it didn't affect the children napping during the day so it didn't really bother us. This project is not supposed to finish until 2016.

The window blinds are white and have gaps around the edges, which means that they don't block out all the light, particularly on the northern/eastern side of the building where the sun rises. I struggled to sleep in past 6am on a lot of days due to this, and because the rooms are painted white and have white linen the light bounces around a lot.

The internet was frustrating as there are apparently numerous routers in the hotel and our computers/iPads continually disconnected and reconnected. We spoke to staff a couple of times about it, but in the end we just made do. It wasn't too bad, but frustrating when it would drop out in the middle of an important Skype call/meeting.

In general the property is showing signs of wear and tear, but is clean, comfortable and has very friendly staff.

The staff were wonderful - Dennis and his front-desk staff were always helpful and friendly. The doormen were always friendly and willing to go up to the corner to hail us a cab on cold days. For an extended stay housekeeping came once a week and were flexible with what time we wanted it done (due to children's sleeps). Requests to the front desk were responded to quickly.

Although a little out of the way, the area is safe and has the necessary amenities - there is a Rite Aid Pharmacy on 96th St, just a 2 minute walk away. There is a Key Foods Supermarket on 92nd St, 2 minutes in the other direction. Up on 94th and 3rd Avenue there is a Duane Read, and a CVS up on 91st and 3rd. About a 10 minute walk away there is a large strip of shops on 86th Street between 2nd Ave and Lexington, including Borders, Childrens Place, Foot Locker, Best Buy, Victoria's Secret, H&M etc. There is also a good grocery store called Fairway which sells lots of organic products and also has a good international section. Beware the crowds at Fairway on the weekends though - try and go on a weekday!

There is a good Italian place across the road (Nick's) and if you check out grubhub.com there are hundreds of restaurants locally within walking distance, or alternatively, who deliver.

The "6 local" subway is on 96th and Lexington (about a 10 minute walk - others have said that it is "uphill" but I just wanted to point out that this hill is quite slight, and very manageable). The 4 & 5 train are also on this line (the green line) but they go express and the closest stop is 86th St and Lexington (15-20 minute walk). The subway doesn't go directly to midtown/Times Square but you can change to the NQR (yellow) trains at 59th/Lexington stop. A taxi to 86th Street is only about $6 (plus tip) and a taxi to midtown/Times Square is about $15-20 (plus tip), depending on the traffic. Allow about half an hour to get to the Theatre District in busy times.

Overall I would definitely recommend the Marmara to families needing "space" in New York City, where it is hard to find, and to people not necessarily wanting to be in the busy-ness of Midtown and the tourist areas. The views from the higher floors are gorgeous, and I will miss being able to see the Empire State Building from my living room window!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to try and get away from the street noise, but beware that even on the 23rd floor we heard a decent amount of street noise.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We have thought about and all we can say is...WOW! So comprehensive, honest, fair and well just wonderful. Thank you for your gargantuan efforts, they are very Impressive, constructive, and taken to heart.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed four days in a suite. It was very comfortable. The welcoming is palatial. Very large and very clean suite. We had a great time despite the work of the metro just down that we were not disturbed at all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank 665sli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

It would be remiss if we did not profusely thank you for the four word sentence that has made our week, “The welcoming is palatial” has left us humbled and honored. We are eternally grateful.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week, it was great, clean, close to two subways and the staff were very friendly, the rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard. The views were fantastic and dont forget Rays Pizza over the road, great food. This is the only hotel we would stay in New York your hotel is a credit to all your hard working friendly staff, cant wait to return and try your new hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig00715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Many many thanks from the “hard working friendly staff”, for most, that makes all the difference. Now that we are the “only hotel” and have given such high credit, what date shall we make your next reservation? Soon we hope.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Waltham Cross, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel is not to far from the centre of town nice large clean suits & friendly service, There are some restaurants & coffee bars close by along with some pizza takeaways, 24 hour convenience stores & a chemist, Very close to the tube line in Lexington Ave which will take you to all the way downtown without changing unless you want to go to Time SQ where you will have to change & are very safe to use cab fares to the hotel from Time SQ is appox $15 plus tips I would recommend this hotel suits to anyone who wants to go self catering.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your fine review. We are happy you were able to take full advantage of our great location here on the Upper East Side and let others know of its conveniences. Self-catering is definitely the wave of the future and glad to hear your endorsement of its virtues. We greatly appreciate your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews