We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marmara Manhattan
Ranked #168 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great apartment in a great location”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Marmara Manhattan for 8 days over the Christmas New Year period in 2013/2014 and couldn't have been happier with our accommodation. We stayed in a fabulous 3 bedroom apartment on the 31st floor with sweeping views of the East River and the Empire State Buikding. What a beautiful way to start each day! The closest subway line was 4 blocks away although the 2nd Avenue subway currently under construction will mean there's one literally at the door. The staff were attentive but not obtrusive and were always ready with a warm greeting whenever you left or returned to the building. The doormen deserve a special mention for volunteering to get taxis when the temperature was -12 and for doing it with a smile. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Christmas and New Year in New York, what a great trip! We could not be happier you were able to holiday with us, and even happier you enjoyed the “fabulous” 3 Bedroom Suite. Our doormen are very thankful for their “special mention” and are eager to be of service to those you would “definitely” recommend to us. Indeed you are correct, when you return we look forward to having our very own subway stop, what could be more convenient.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    322
    74
    28
    21
See reviews for
369
232
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth,Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

As a party of 7 staying for 5 days we needed somewhere spacious and the three bed roomed suite ticked ALL the boxes ! On the 31st floor it was superb !! Plenty of room and all the facilities we required ! Staff were excellent too ! Eg our toaster developed a fault brand new one delivered to suite within the hour ! No problems with WI Fi as other reviewers have stated ! Worked fine ! And the building works going on outside did not affect us at all ! Plenty of takeaways , pubs and supermarkets nearby too ! Nice meal at Nico's just across the street ! Loved the location also ! You got to see the real New York with friendly people going about their daily business unlike the more touristy Downtown ! Disaster struck on our fourth night though ! Our Mother became seriously ill and had to be rushed to hospital ! A great big thank you to Denise who calmly called the emergency services while we were all in a state of panic ! Mum had to stay in hospital for a week ! Panic again ! What about accommodation ??? No problem ! We got to stay for the extra days in the suite ! So to Dennis , Robert , Tyler ,Vanessa, Ida thank you all so much ! Also the doorman ( never got his name !) who enquired about Mum daily! Your help and understanding at this difficult time was much appreciated ! ( hope you liked the flowers Denise !!! ) mum is back home and recovering well !
Will definitely return to the Marmara sometime in the future ! Cannot recommend it or the staff highly enough !!

Room Tip: If your a large party eg 7-8 people ask for room 3103 ! You won't be disappointed !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotslad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are very pleased that “Mum” is on the road to recovery, and all wish her a fast one. Some reviews speak for themselves and yours is a stand out, thank you for taking the time to mention so many staff members by name, you have made their day. We are thrilled that you have promised to return and look forward to that day, hope that day is soon.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingham, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We arrived late from LA- the check in was easy and the staff always courteous.The room was clean and comfortable and serviced daily.The hotel is located in the Upper East side.After we got our bearings we realised we were only a short walk to Central Park and also 96th St Subway station.Travel on the subway was inexpensive and easy.We enjoyed our New York holiday immensely and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THEONLYONE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are “immensely” happy we were able to host your first stay in New York here on the Upper East side, and appreciative of your kind review. Now that you have your bearings and a seasoned New Yorker we want to invite you back to enjoy all of them, hope to see you again in the spring.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at the Marmara Manhattan for four nights. We found all the staff to be helpful, courteous and happy and check in/out was quick and easy. There were three adults in our one bed apartment was comfortable and spacious and the sofa bed was as comfortable as the bed. A safe is provided free of charge and the rooms were cleaned daily. The facilities were great, the kitchen well stocked and everything you needed was at hand. There are plenty of restaurants, fast food shops nearby and a supermarket just across the street. It's a five minute walk to 96th Street Subway Station and 10-15 minutes ride to Grand Central, all easy to navigate with staff on hand to help if you get disorientated. A 15 minute walk will bring you to Central Park and onto the Uptown Bus Tour route. If you're looking for apartments in New York I would definitely recommend the Marmara Manhattan.

Room Tip: If they are available the hotel offers free upgrades to larger apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank King8195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer your great insights of the Marmara Manhattan and the fantastic caption “Great Hotel”. We are delighted you found the Upper East Side so convenient, and revealed to skeptics that “everything you need is at hand”. Our “helpful, courteous and happy” staff are eager for your return, so we hope to see you soon.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankara
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our 4th stay at this hotel.We have booked a 2 bed room suit and when we arrived learned that we were upgraded to a 3 bed room one..A nice surprise from Neslihan Cafer.
From the very beginning to the check out,every staff of the hotel tried to make our stay unforgettable.Hamit at the entrance was always very helpful.The rooms were spacious,very clean and well equipped.The view including the east river on one side and empire state on the other was making our nights even more unforgettable.Heating was never a problem even the weather was so cold.Marmara Manhattan is our home in NYC,and I definitely recommend this hotel to everybody without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Upper and back side rooms would be more comfortable until 2016 because of the subway construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorankara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
What a wonderful review! The goal of any hotel and the Marmara Manhattan specifically is the happiness of our loyal return guests, we are thrilled our committed staff made your 4th stay as “unforgettable” as the 1st and are eager to continue this trend with the 5th, 6th, 7th…..We want to thank you for your appreciated recommendations to your “Home in Manhattan”, hurry back.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed at the Marmara for a business trip. Overall, it was OK. Was sharing the room with a co-worker and there was only 1 bed and a pull-out couch. The pull-out was not suitable for sleeping and we ended up sharing the bed, which was comfy. It was nice to have a small kitchen and living area where we could work comfortably. Furnishings and decor were pretty dated, including broken tile in the bathroom. Location was convenient to the Subway as well as a few restaurants and a small grocery store. There was a lot of construction outside and could be heard when window was open, which we needed to open as it got very hot in room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback, we will accept “OK” but will strive for much more in the future. Most of our lovely suites have one large bed and a convertible sofa for the convenience of the family travelers, for your return trip maybe we can tempt you with our very spacious 2 bedroom suites, we look forward to that day.

Thank you,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend. The front desk staff was very nice and personable. They upgraded us to a larger room (at no cost) because one was available. It was giant! We had a kitchen, dining area, bedroom and bathroom. I'm pretty sure our room was bigger than most people's apartments in Manhattan! The bed was very comfortable. The room was clean. There was about a 7 minute walk to the closest subway station. We also had to check out very early in the morning (4 am) to catch our flight, which was no problem at all. The doorman even went out at 4 am to get us a cab. It was a very nice stay and we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tress85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to going the extra mile no matter if its 4pm or 4am, thank you for pointing that out. This Manhattanite will agree---they are bigger than most peoples apartments, hope to see you soon.

Thank you,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#236 of 467 in New York City
750 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#273 of 467 in New York City
846 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#132 of 467 in New York City
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#385 of 467 in New York City
704 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#73 of 467 in New York City
1,849 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#79 of 467 in New York City
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Property: The Marmara Manhattan
Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128-4718
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing