We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Rooms and Comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marmara Manhattan
Ranked #172 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend. The front desk staff was very nice and personable. They upgraded us to a larger room (at no cost) because one was available. It was giant! We had a kitchen, dining area, bedroom and bathroom. I'm pretty sure our room was bigger than most people's apartments in Manhattan! The bed was very comfortable. The room was clean. There was about a 7 minute walk to the closest subway station. We also had to check out very early in the morning (4 am) to catch our flight, which was no problem at all. The doorman even went out at 4 am to get us a cab. It was a very nice stay and we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tress85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to going the extra mile no matter if its 4pm or 4am, thank you for pointing that out. This Manhattanite will agree---they are bigger than most peoples apartments, hope to see you soon.

Thank you,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
There are newer reviews for The Marmara Manhattan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 890 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel was clean,comftable and the staff were amazing especially Dennis.The view was amazing every morning I sat up in bed with a cuppa looking at the Empire State Building.The room was cleaned every day with clean towels.If your going to New York I highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bar912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to offer your positive feedback, we relish it, and greatly look forward to having you back.

Thank you,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had a family vacation in New York over Thanksgiving 2013.
We needed a place for 5 adults and 3 children close to my daughter on the upper east side.
Marmara Manhattan Upper East Side was perfect for us.
We rented a 3 bedroom 3 bath.
The Views were spectacular from the 26th floor ( Empire State Building and the Triboro Bridge at night)
There was plenty of room...nice living room, dining room, and kitchen and good sized bedrooms. The staff was friendly and efficient and came in every day to clean and change linens as needed.
The manager, Dennis Young, was outstanding!!!! He was very accommodating to our needs of more chairs and more silverware to serve a Thanksgiving meal. He was very helpful in telling us about restaurants around the area. He was helpful both over the phone when I called ahead and then during our stay. Umbrellas were provided to us to use during the rain.
I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again when I return to New York.
Deborah J. Fox (from Minnesota)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxdebj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you so much for “highly recommending” the hotel, it means a great deal to us to know that you will be back. We agree the 3 bedroom accommodations are “perfect” and their views cannot be matched. Our goal now is for you to be able to tell us what colors the Empire State Building is during ALL the holidays of 2014 and 2015 and…….

Thank you,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Marmara in the upper east side of Manhattan for several weeks this past year. As hard as it was to be away from home, the staff at the Marmara always made me like I was home with their professionalism, upbeat attitudes and willingness to always go that extra step to make my stay a delightful one. It actually felt like my second home. The apartments are great and our favorite part was sitting in the living room in the evening surrounded by New York City apartment lights. And it's always nice to have Hameed or Anthony or many of the others who greet you at the door with smiles on their faces. Although everyone is great, (Nestle and all the front desk staff), when it comes to customer service - there's Dennis Young who will always be there for you and is your lifeline to New York City. Dennis has to be the most positive, upbeat person you'll ever meet and a good one to know while staying at the Marmara. I miss my "family" at the Marmara. Hope you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Your “family” misses you too, and were thrilled by your incredible review. With all the perks of our apartment style hotel suites, the sheer square footage, the stunning views and the Upper East side location, to have your fondest memories be of the “professional, upbeat, willing” staff is the greatest achievement of all. We cannot thank you enough to be considered “your second home” and are all eager to see you walk through the front doors again.

Thank you,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Was absolutely impressed by all aspects of this hotel. The hotel staff was helpful in every way. They went out of their way, especially Rojiny and Vanessa. We reserved a three bedroom apartment and it was so clean, comfortable and spacious. We also had a view of the Empire State Building that made our stay perfect. I looked forward to going back to the hotel each evening to go out on the balcony and view the city.
The beds and the bedding were very comfortable and inviting. Loved the decor in the lobby. Very quite part of town and close to many restaurants.
If I had to find any downside to staying at the Marmara, it would be the distance to the subway station; however, I believe a closer stop is in the process of being built.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise 3 bedroom units are very spacious Ask for a corner unit
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conventionlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

What an extreme honor to achieve the accolade “Everything was perfect”, you have truly made our day, thank you. Now, you have set the bar very high for your return trip, yet have full confidence our “helpful in every way staff” are up the task and looking forward the challenge.

Thank you,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We - a widely travelled German couple + baby - stayed at the Marmara in a 1 BR suite on one of the top floors of the building during a six week business trip.

Although there are newer and more stylish hotels in Manhattan, our well maintained, perfectly clean suite, looking as displayed on the website, had decent and pleasant design and furniture with kitchen and bathroom fully equipped for a long term stay.

We particularly liked the city views, the NY times delivered every morning to us and the professional and friendly Marmara staff. The room service was perfect. Dennis’ front desk team, the doormen and the handymen were at all times supportive, flexibly and – literally immediately - responding to our questions and needs.

The only downside: The subway construction works on 2nd Ave on weekdays and the all together not perfect noise shielding against the usual Manhattan background noise.

However, we can only recommend the Marmara !!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank UBB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

A tremendous thank you from all the “supportive, professional and friendly staff”, having such an lengthy stay makes your wonderful review all the more poignant and gratifying. Thank you for your recommendation, and when the construction ends, the “flexible” staff and great views will still be here for your homecoming… hurry back.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent the Thanksgiving holiday in beautiful NYC and stayed at the Marmara Manhattan. We are a family of four (2 teenagers.) Our accomodations were a deluxe one bedroom on a low floor. The apartment was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Here are the downsides: the location is a bit out of the way so expect to walk a lot and/or take public transportation. We stayed in this location because it was close to family. Secondly, the 2nd Avenue subway project is in it's 2nd year of five (I believe) and this constuction is a nuisance. Many businesses in the area have closed. Lastly and more importantly the full bathroom for the bedroom was in need of renovation. Our sink was cracked in 5 places. The floor tiles were all loose. To be honest, we did not complain or ask to move because we knew the hotel was full for the holiday and after Thanksgiving day we did not want to move all our things to another room. I would suggest to the owners that they gut the bathroom. Our price was fair but high for this time of accomodation but the higher price was due to the holiday. I have stayed in several other suite type hotels in NYC, they cost a bit more but I think it's worth the money to stay in an environment that is more comfortable and relaxing. In the hotel's defense, I did see a deluxe two bedroom and the bathroom while not luxurious was in much more acceptable condition.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better. Not all rooms are in the same condition.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspect… value, spacious, clean and best of all ”extraordinary” staff, high praise indeed! We are grateful you chose the Marmara Manhattan and hope to entice you back now that we know your family is so close. I am sorry your suite was showing signs of wear, we have great plans for our future and are eager for you to be part of it.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#220 of 468 in New York City
768 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#282 of 468 in New York City
867 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#145 of 468 in New York City
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#386 of 468 in New York City
709 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#72 of 468 in New York City
1,873 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#86 of 468 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128-4718
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $188 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing