We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marmara Manhattan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Franklin(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Wales(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Third Ave House(New York City)
View Hotel
The Mark(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Surrey(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Astor on the Park(New York City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Excelsior Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveler rating
488
345
79
30
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
345
79
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenupper east sidesubway constructionone bedroom apartmentsinai hospitalliving roomcentral parkwasher dryernew yorkmuseum milegreat apartmentextended staylaundry facilitieshome away from homefront desk staffhigher floorbit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 964 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were three couples looking for an apartment rental in NYC. However, short term apartment rental in New York is not allowed. We stumbled upon reviews for the Marmara on the Upper East Side which is a converted apartment building that offers 1,2, or 3 bedroom apartmotel rooms. We wanted to be able to come back to the room at night, have some cocktails and discuss the days events. This hotel was perfect for that. We each had a bedroom with either a queen or king bed and each bedroom was ensuite with their own bathroom. I must say the beds were extremely comfortable. Perfect for comraderie when wanted or privacy when needed. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. This was apartment living with all the conveniences of a hotel. The 3 bedroom apartments were on the upper floors of 21 or higher and this really allowed for a quiet nights rest. With this hotel being on the UES, it lets you have that neighborhood feel instead of being in the middle of all the tourist action that never stops. It really allowed us to rest and reboot for the following days activites. This hotel is located on 2nd Avenue and this gives you plenty of options for restaurants and shopping. The subway station was only 2 blocks away at Lexington avenue and if you didnt want to walk that the bus stop was on the next block that took you there. I cant say enough about this hotel. When we travel we like to emmerse ourselves in a neighborhood and feel like we are home. This hotel gave you this experience. It was perfect for couples traveling together. You may see some reviews about the construction outside the hotel. This is true, but it does not happen on weekends and it is froom 7-7. However, it never disturbed us and the staff said it was the loudest it had ever been during our stay. This hotel is ideal for a great week in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are much quieter than lower level floors.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sirenia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

“Apartment living with all the conveniences of a Hotel” it could not have been put better. We want to thank you so much for such a glowing description of your Marmara experience. I realize, you claimed you “can’t say enough about the hotel” but I believe, you truly have said it all.
Please come back soon, so you can enjoy another “great week” with us here on the Upper East Side...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

For our 25 anniversary we visited New York City in July 2012. We booked this hotel through Wotif.com and did not have any expectations only that it would be a good because of previous bookings with Wotif. We were blown away with this hotel. The hotel upgraded us to a suite. Everything about the hotel was exceptional. The staff were professional, courteous and kind. The hotel was clean and had all the amenities that you could want (fitness room, in suite laundry facilities, internet, etc,) The suite was huge!!! We couldn't believe that it had a balcony. The views were spectacular with the large windows on three sides of the suite. The lobby was quaint with old world charm and the complimentary lemonade was delicious. The location was close enough to many sites, shopping and restaurants. My only regret was that we didn't stay here for the three nights we were in New York. Thank you Marmara for making our anniversary extra special. (sorry we took so long to review, but we always intended to say thanks for the memories)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judiroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Our professional staff were enchanted you chose to spend such a monumental celebration with us here at the “exceptional” Marmara. It is so encouraging to hear their great effort doesn’t go unnoticed.
We will mend that regret when you return to celebrate your Golden anniversary week with us, to our delight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

we stayed at the Marmara because of the location. we had a great experience. The kitchenette was a great size for a short stay with a full-sized oven and refrigerator. The room was a comfy size with plenty of storage. My only complaint is that the street noise was a bit much. I will ask for a higher floor-we were on the 4th.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor to avoid the street noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC-travel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

We always are grateful the Upper East Side location is a draw for making new friends that report a great experience. Grievance aside, we will be pleased to be your New York destination when returning to find the clamor has blossomed into our own Subway stop.

Thank you for taking the time to support us with your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked this hotel for our family to stay at for my daughter's wedding November 1st. Well, Superstorm Sandy hit. One phone call to the Marmara and a wonderful gentleman, Dennis, made what could have been a disaster a seamless transition. He was SOOOO accommodating changing our arrival/departure dates and even was able to rearrange so that all the family had rooms on the same floor once he realized why we were there. We had a 3-bedroom suite, a 1-bedroom suite, and a studio booked. Everything was beautiful and in a great location. Awesome and reasonable restaurant and deli across the street and easy access to cabs...EVEN DURING POST SANDY... I would recommend this hotel to anyone and it is now our go to hotel for any trips the family takes to NYC.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

"Your magnificent evaluation “Rocks”!
It is forever our goal, to seamlessly accommodate through any storm that may hit.
Congratulations again to the happy couple and your “Go To” hotel will expect to Toast your 1st anniversary come rain or shine.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ah, how it hurts to be sitting here at home today, recalling our wonderful suite! So large, clean, BRIGHT, well-equipped and comfy! At night, we'd lift our sore feet & stare happily out the window at the gorgeous city lights. The TV monitor was lovely, but the massive windows were better. Noise from other suites was nonexistant while in our room. Sadly, noise from new subway line construction was awful - but they stop during night (start early, boo) and on weekends. Earplugs fixed this problem, although I'm not a fan of earplugs. Although we love a king bed when on getaways, the queen and bedding was superbly comfy... hard to get up & start your NYC morning, but it was made easier with the full kitchen. Big thanks, Dennis & Ashley for ALL of your efforts & chats, and for finding a charger that worked for my cell! I could do a long stay at Marmara verrrrrrrrry easily. Missing it so much already.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Front Office Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

So Verrrrrry pleased you enjoyed your time in New York. We return your “big thanks” for your response, always thrilled to see the words “large, clean and BRIGHT”.
During your loooooong stay, think how spectacular and “awful” convenient that subway entrance will be. Anticipating that wonderful day, your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews