We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marmara Manhattan
Ranked #163 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Destin, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My family of 5 go to New York every year. We decided to stay in a different part of town, so we chose the Marmara. The hotel was wonderful. The room was big and clean and the perfect sleeping arrangments. The front desk staff was great. There are lots of places to eat around the hotel. Nick's restaurant was right across the street and the food was great. We will always stay at this hotel on our yearly trips. It was a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hpadawer0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
How “wonderful” to add us to your annual traditions. Thank you so much for responding with such encouraging words.
Our great staff will now be challenged to make your 2013 trip filled with wonder......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    322
    75
    28
    21
See reviews for
370
232
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I were in NYC for 10 days from Sept 6/12 to the 16th and stayed here. We both quite liked it rather than living in a hotel room for 10 days. We had a 1 bedroom apartment about 600 square feet with a fully equipped kitchen, a living room area, a separate bedroom, and of course a bathroom with tub and shower. Both the living room area and bedroom had nice flat screen TVs, the bed was nice and comfy with nice linens and pillows. Very good after a long day exploring NYC. We thought the location was good for us and we bought Metro passes and made good use of them. Took the subway and buses everywhere. We are not late night party people but on the couple of occcassions we were back a little later after a broadway show, we had no concerns for our safety walking back from the subway. It is about 5 blocks, very doable and usually took about 5 to 7 minutes. Back home is downhill. Nice after a full day!!!!!
This hotel is in the Upper East Side in an area known as Carnegie Hill. It was nice to be somewhere that New Yorkers live as there were schools, places of worship, grocery stores, eateries of all types, etc. Did not have the "tourist feel" to it.
As others have mentioned we also thought the staff all around were very nice and quite helpful.
We had free WIFI in our room and the lobby has 2 computers with printers if needed. No charge!!
There are also laundry facilities which was nice as we were able to pack less and use the washer and dryer half way through for our clothes. There is also a fitness room with good high quality fitness machines.
We were in room 21A on the northwest corner of the building so had great views from 21 floors up. The construction or traffic noise was not an issue for us. Typical big city noise and not very noticeable from 21 floors up with the windows closed. The days were in the 80 degree range and the AC worked great at keeping the apartment cool.
One disappointment. The rooftop lounge is no more. Converted to a Penthouse unit and is for rent if so desired for your stay. Didn't see it but was told it is quite plush. Don't know how much.
Anyways we had a great time and would definitly stay here again and would recomend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cowtownguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We would definitely place your name on one of our “better than just a room Suites” anytime. For a special occasion we might even entice you to enjoy the extraordinary plush Penthouse with its million dollar view. You make us feel special taking the time to giving such a special review. You honor us with your recommendations, as our first hand, living brochure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maringa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was in NYC for 3 days in September, 2012, with 2 children and my wife. We had a great time in the big apple, with some shopping at B&H, walking around the 5th avenue, time square, and visits to the cental park zoo and the Natural History Museum. There was a very nice and cheap asian restaurant just across the street in the 2nd avenue and there was a bus stop a and a subway station pretty close. The hotel was very nice, with very helpful staff. The room was nice and I have nothing to complain. It was a lot better than my past stays in the big apple at old hotels around time square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rafaelmaringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
September.... don’t you just love early fall in New York. Sounds like you were able to take full advantage. Close enough to enjoy, yet “a lot better” and more civil, with room to spare.
Thank you for your kind words, you will always have a place with us in the Big Apple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from a week in New York. This was an ambition for both of us to see 'The Big Apple'. We booked through Virgin Holidays - a package of flight / hotel / transfers from and to the airport. We arrived at 11pm EST (approximately 4am BST) tired to the point of exhaustion having been awake for nearly 24 hours to discover we had lost our passports en route from the airport. We were devastated! However, our luck was in as we were met by Maureen, the receptionist, who was very supportive and helpful - far more so than the Virgin rep who was as useful as a cat flap in a submarine!
The hotel itself is 32 floors high. It has been noted by several other people in reviews that there are ongoing roadworks directly outside the hotel ( a new railway line is being excavated along 2nd Avenue) We were in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 23rd floor and although we were aware of the road works - you would have to be blind, deaf and daft not to be aware of them! - the noise just becomes part of the city noise. I cannot praise the staff of the hotel enough. Robert and Maureen on reception, Carlos, the wonderful doorman, all the front of house staff and the housekeeping staff, who kept the rooms in immaculate condition.
The apartment was ideal for a middle aged couple (ie: us) as you could either make your own breakfast in the well presented, fully equipped kitchen, or arrange for breakfast to be delivered from one of the many local franchises. In fact, delivery from the local diners, pizza restaurants and bagal shops seems to be the usual practice for guests and residents of the hotel. Free Wi-Fi at reception was very useful in being able to look up local information (in our case JFK airports lost property office, the car transfer company and, just in case, the British Consul, which thankfully was not needed). Robert also arranged for a car to take us back to the airport to collect our passports which we had dropped on the concourse.
The local area is heaving with food outlets, restaurants, Bars and grocery shops. ATMs are available at several local stores and Bars so although you will pay around $2 to withdraw money it is easy to access your cash. For those on a sightseeing holiday, the Grey Line City Bus Tours stop approximately 5 blocks West of the hotel (around a 10- 15 minute walk) and if you have purchased a multi day ticket this is a useful way of getting into and out of the Downtown area. Downtown starts around 42nd Street so being on 94th Street you are a little way out of the centre but it is worth it for the colour and atmosphere of the upper East Side.
For comfort, helpfulness and convenience I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give fabulous views and keep the noise to a manageable level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
It is always nice to hear “Big Apple” story’s with a happy ending. Thank you so much for the supportive words. We are thrilled to see our New York through new ambitious eyes. I will encourage reception, letting them know how helpful and supportive they continue to be… Oh, and more useful than “cat flaps”.
We greatly look forward to your next ambitious return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

For a change, we decided to stay on the upper east side so we could be close to the Metropolitan Art Museum and Flushing Meadows for the U.S. Open. On the positive side, the staff was delightful and helpful. The room was small and minimally acceptable, but acceptable. Clean enough. Bed was comfortable. Just old and worn out was the room, you know? Kind of like camping, but not glamorous camping or glamping. It was basic. Dark halls enroute. Slow elevators. Uninspired lobby. And, last and least, the property was in a current construction zone. It was walkable to the Met. The doormen helpful too. One block from the Barking Dog for breakfast. So, while I admit we would possibly stay there again, this is not the Ritz.

Room Tip: Well....I would guess they are all in the same condition. Price was right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crucian-high
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are so delighted you chose the Upper East Side as your destination, and were able to take advantage of all the neighborhood has to offer. We are committed to offering the best value in our wonderful location. Thank you for observing what our “delightful” staff incorporates and brings to our property. We are committed to continue delivering that satisfaction and improvements with your valuable feedback.
Looking forward to welcoming you back....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were there with another couple; each of us had our own one-bedroom apartment. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful, and the lobby is beautiful. The units themselves are due for a bit of TLC though. Paint peeling from the base boards, spots of mold in the aging bathrooms... Having said that, someone came every day to make the bed, tidy up the kitchen and change the towels, and for the price we paid, it was (just) acceptable.

The Marmara is located in the Upper East Side and quite a bit away from Midtown walk-to conveniences. The subway is a short walk away though, but if you're traveling solely by taxi, this can be expensive. Stepping outside of the hotel, we did feel like true New Yorkers, because there's a bit of a neighbourhood feeling there, away from the tourists. :-) Central Park is also not too far and easily reachable by foot.

The noise, due to the construction at street level, was incredible. Bring earplugs (it goes on at all hours), and on the lower floors (we stayed on floor 6) the banging makes it impossible to stay in the rooms during the day -- forget about opening the balcony door: you'd have to shout to make yourself heard. While the noise does quiet somewhat at night, it picks up full force at 7am -- weekends included. It looks like this is going to go on for a few years, so beware. Light sleepers won't have an easy time.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the further away from the construction noise you'll be. We were on the sixt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hausfrau007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
What a pleasure to receive a glowing report card for our “incredible staff”, they truly are the beauty of the lobby. We also value are room attendants who are always diligent attending to each expansive “apartment”.

Our “tourists” instantly do feel like New Yorkers, enjoying all our neighborhood has to offer including the short walk to the utterly affordable Subway ($2.25 to your heart’s desire). Every click, bell or whistle from our Top-of-the-line, greatly anticipated, Subway entrance will be music to your ears (and ours) and well worth the bother. Not to worry, though rarely needed the “earplugs” are on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our family of 9 spent an entire week at this hotel, occupying three separate rooms. The accomodations were very good and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The subway construction going on next to the hotel is a bit of a negative, but it really didn't impact our stay very much. The subway is three blocks away and was an easy walk. There are several grocery stores within a short walk and numerous restaurants in the area. Because of the 94th street location, we were away from the high-priced area of Manhattan and the cost of the restaurant food in the nearby areas wasn't much higher that what we pay in our Midwestern home town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank geeobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
How wonderful to champion your New York City family reunion with our sprawling apartment-style suites, accommodating a large family is our forte.
So nice to get such encouraging feedback.
Whisper to our other Midwest friends “come up and see us some time” on the affordable Upper East Side, before the word gets out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#227 of 467 in New York City
753 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#274 of 467 in New York City
847 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#140 of 467 in New York City
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#383 of 467 in New York City
705 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#73 of 467 in New York City
1,850 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#79 of 467 in New York City
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Property: The Marmara Manhattan
Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128-4718
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing