We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marmara Manhattan
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$154
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$330
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$167
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$144
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$309
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveler rating
500
351
79
30
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
351
79
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenupper east sidesubway constructionone bedroom apartmentsinai hospitalliving roomcentral parkwasher dryernew yorkmuseum milegreat apartmentextended staylaundry facilitieshome away from homefront desk staffhigher floorbit dated
Filter
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 982 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from a week in New York. This was an ambition for both of us to see 'The Big Apple'. We booked through Virgin Holidays - a package of flight / hotel / transfers from and to the airport. We arrived at 11pm EST (approximately 4am BST) tired to the point of exhaustion having been awake for nearly 24 hours to discover we had lost our passports en route from the airport. We were devastated! However, our luck was in as we were met by Maureen, the receptionist, who was very supportive and helpful - far more so than the Virgin rep who was as useful as a cat flap in a submarine!
The hotel itself is 32 floors high. It has been noted by several other people in reviews that there are ongoing roadworks directly outside the hotel ( a new railway line is being excavated along 2nd Avenue) We were in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 23rd floor and although we were aware of the road works - you would have to be blind, deaf and daft not to be aware of them! - the noise just becomes part of the city noise. I cannot praise the staff of the hotel enough. Robert and Maureen on reception, Carlos, the wonderful doorman, all the front of house staff and the housekeeping staff, who kept the rooms in immaculate condition.
The apartment was ideal for a middle aged couple (ie: us) as you could either make your own breakfast in the well presented, fully equipped kitchen, or arrange for breakfast to be delivered from one of the many local franchises. In fact, delivery from the local diners, pizza restaurants and bagal shops seems to be the usual practice for guests and residents of the hotel. Free Wi-Fi at reception was very useful in being able to look up local information (in our case JFK airports lost property office, the car transfer company and, just in case, the British Consul, which thankfully was not needed). Robert also arranged for a car to take us back to the airport to collect our passports which we had dropped on the concourse.
The local area is heaving with food outlets, restaurants, Bars and grocery shops. ATMs are available at several local stores and Bars so although you will pay around $2 to withdraw money it is easy to access your cash. For those on a sightseeing holiday, the Grey Line City Bus Tours stop approximately 5 blocks West of the hotel (around a 10- 15 minute walk) and if you have purchased a multi day ticket this is a useful way of getting into and out of the Downtown area. Downtown starts around 42nd Street so being on 94th Street you are a little way out of the centre but it is worth it for the colour and atmosphere of the upper East Side.
For comfort, helpfulness and convenience I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give fabulous views and keep the noise to a manageable level.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

It is always nice to hear “Big Apple” story’s with a happy ending. Thank you so much for the supportive words. We are thrilled to see our New York through new ambitious eyes. I will encourage reception, letting them know how helpful and supportive they continue to be… Oh, and more useful than “cat flaps”.
We greatly look forward to your next ambitious return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

For a change, we decided to stay on the upper east side so we could be close to the Metropolitan Art Museum and Flushing Meadows for the U.S. Open. On the positive side, the staff was delightful and helpful. The room was small and minimally acceptable, but acceptable. Clean enough. Bed was comfortable. Just old and worn out was the room, you know? Kind of like camping, but not glamorous camping or glamping. It was basic. Dark halls enroute. Slow elevators. Uninspired lobby. And, last and least, the property was in a current construction zone. It was walkable to the Met. The doormen helpful too. One block from the Barking Dog for breakfast. So, while I admit we would possibly stay there again, this is not the Ritz.

Room Tip: Well....I would guess they are all in the same condition. Price was right.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crucian-high
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We are so delighted you chose the Upper East Side as your destination, and were able to take advantage of all the neighborhood has to offer. We are committed to offering the best value in our wonderful location. Thank you for observing what our “delightful” staff incorporates and brings to our property. We are committed to continue delivering that satisfaction and improvements with your valuable feedback.
Looking forward to welcoming you back....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were there with another couple; each of us had our own one-bedroom apartment. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful, and the lobby is beautiful. The units themselves are due for a bit of TLC though. Paint peeling from the base boards, spots of mold in the aging bathrooms... Having said that, someone came every day to make the bed, tidy up the kitchen and change the towels, and for the price we paid, it was (just) acceptable.

The Marmara is located in the Upper East Side and quite a bit away from Midtown walk-to conveniences. The subway is a short walk away though, but if you're traveling solely by taxi, this can be expensive. Stepping outside of the hotel, we did feel like true New Yorkers, because there's a bit of a neighbourhood feeling there, away from the tourists. :-) Central Park is also not too far and easily reachable by foot.

The noise, due to the construction at street level, was incredible. Bring earplugs (it goes on at all hours), and on the lower floors (we stayed on floor 6) the banging makes it impossible to stay in the rooms during the day -- forget about opening the balcony door: you'd have to shout to make yourself heard. While the noise does quiet somewhat at night, it picks up full force at 7am -- weekends included. It looks like this is going to go on for a few years, so beware. Light sleepers won't have an easy time.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the further away from the construction noise you'll be. We were on the sixth floor, and it was too close. Earplugs are a must.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hausfrau007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

What a pleasure to receive a glowing report card for our “incredible staff”, they truly are the beauty of the lobby. We also value are room attendants who are always diligent attending to each expansive “apartment”.

Our “tourists” instantly do feel like New Yorkers, enjoying all our neighborhood has to offer including the short walk to the utterly affordable Subway ($2.25 to your heart’s desire). Every click, bell or whistle from our Top-of-the-line, greatly anticipated, Subway entrance will be music to your ears (and ours) and well worth the bother. Not to worry, though rarely needed the “earplugs” are on us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our family of 9 spent an entire week at this hotel, occupying three separate rooms. The accomodations were very good and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The subway construction going on next to the hotel is a bit of a negative, but it really didn't impact our stay very much. The subway is three blocks away and was an easy walk. There are several grocery stores within a short walk and numerous restaurants in the area. Because of the 94th street location, we were away from the high-priced area of Manhattan and the cost of the restaurant food in the nearby areas wasn't much higher that what we pay in our Midwestern home town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank geeobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

How wonderful to champion your New York City family reunion with our sprawling apartment-style suites, accommodating a large family is our forte.
So nice to get such encouraging feedback.
Whisper to our other Midwest friends “come up and see us some time” on the affordable Upper East Side, before the word gets out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked the Manhattan Marmara through Virgin, as we liked the idea of an apartment instead of a hotel room and are so glad we did. We travelled with another couple and had booked 2 one bedroom apartments, when we arrived they had put us all in one large apartment, but as this was not what we wanted, they immediately put our friends in a one bedroom apartment as booked.

We completely lucked out and Got to stay in the 3 bed apartment which was just lovely, huge for 2 people, ideal for a family! We had a walk in wardrobe, 3 bathrooms, a laundry cupboard with a washer and dryer (very useful as it was HOT during our September stay) a galley kitchen and a spacious lounge/diner. We mostly ate out but the kitchen had all essentials and so could have happily been used to cook meals, with a hob, oven, microwave, dishwasher, huge fridge. Our friends one bedroom apartment was spacious and comfortable, we would have been happy with it.

The staff were all very pleasant, friendly and very helpful when we needed anything and were available 24 hours. The only negative we had was the location as it is a long way from central Manhattan and so a tube or taxi was needed to get anywhere, other than the museums and Central Park which were in easy walking distance. Taxis to downtown varied in cost depending on the traffic, from $15 - $28, not bad between 4. A weeks pass for the subway was $29 but it was Very hot down there and got very busy at rush hour. The nearest stations were at 86th and 96th on Lexington, both about a 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel.

The views are great from the apartments, especially our 31st floor one, you look back over Manhattan and can Clearly see the Empire State building. If you could move this hotel 30 blocks downtown it would be perfect!

Room Tip: Go high for the views!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsP-Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We are always thrilled to meet new friends. With beautiful Suites to choose from, we constantly strive to find that perfect match for each of our Guests. Having never met we wanted to offer a truly unique experience and expose you to all the options at are disposal. We are glad we were successful!
We are proud of the diversity each of our team members bring, to see through their eyes the wonder New York truly is. The location of the Hotel is a treasure in and of itself, being as short jaunt away yet buffered from the New York mania.
Thank you for your star of approval for our teams “job well done”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews