We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff is excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marmara Manhattan
Ranked #194 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Staff is excellent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were there with another couple; each of us had our own one-bedroom apartment. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful, and the lobby is beautiful. The units themselves are due for a bit of TLC though. Paint peeling from the base boards, spots of mold in the aging bathrooms... Having said that, someone came every day to make the bed, tidy up the kitchen and change the towels, and for the price we paid, it was (just) acceptable.

The Marmara is located in the Upper East Side and quite a bit away from Midtown walk-to conveniences. The subway is a short walk away though, but if you're traveling solely by taxi, this can be expensive. Stepping outside of the hotel, we did feel like true New Yorkers, because there's a bit of a neighbourhood feeling there, away from the tourists. :-) Central Park is also not too far and easily reachable by foot.

The noise, due to the construction at street level, was incredible. Bring earplugs (it goes on at all hours), and on the lower floors (we stayed on floor 6) the banging makes it impossible to stay in the rooms during the day -- forget about opening the balcony door: you'd have to shout to make yourself heard. While the noise does quiet somewhat at night, it picks up full force at 7am -- weekends included. It looks like this is going to go on for a few years, so beware. Light sleepers won't have an easy time.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the further away from the construction noise you'll be. We were on the sixt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hausfrau007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
What a pleasure to receive a glowing report card for our “incredible staff”, they truly are the beauty of the lobby. We also value are room attendants who are always diligent attending to each expansive “apartment”.

Our “tourists” instantly do feel like New Yorkers, enjoying all our neighborhood has to offer including the short walk to the utterly affordable Subway ($2.25 to your heart’s desire). Every click, bell or whistle from our Top-of-the-line, greatly anticipated, Subway entrance will be music to your ears (and ours) and well worth the bother. Not to worry, though rarely needed the “earplugs” are on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    314
    72
    28
    21
See reviews for
357
222
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our family of 9 spent an entire week at this hotel, occupying three separate rooms. The accomodations were very good and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The subway construction going on next to the hotel is a bit of a negative, but it really didn't impact our stay very much. The subway is three blocks away and was an easy walk. There are several grocery stores within a short walk and numerous restaurants in the area. Because of the 94th street location, we were away from the high-priced area of Manhattan and the cost of the restaurant food in the nearby areas wasn't much higher that what we pay in our Midwestern home town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank geeobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
How wonderful to champion your New York City family reunion with our sprawling apartment-style suites, accommodating a large family is our forte.
So nice to get such encouraging feedback.
Whisper to our other Midwest friends “come up and see us some time” on the affordable Upper East Side, before the word gets out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked the Manhattan Marmara through Virgin, as we liked the idea of an apartment instead of a hotel room and are so glad we did. We travelled with another couple and had booked 2 one bedroom apartments, when we arrived they had put us all in one large apartment, but as this was not what we wanted, they immediately put our friends in a one bedroom apartment as booked.

We completely lucked out and Got to stay in the 3 bed apartment which was just lovely, huge for 2 people, ideal for a family! We had a walk in wardrobe, 3 bathrooms, a laundry cupboard with a washer and dryer (very useful as it was HOT during our September stay) a galley kitchen and a spacious lounge/diner. We mostly ate out but the kitchen had all essentials and so could have happily been used to cook meals, with a hob, oven, microwave, dishwasher, huge fridge. Our friends one bedroom apartment was spacious and comfortable, we would have been happy with it.

The staff were all very pleasant, friendly and very helpful when we needed anything and were available 24 hours. The only negative we had was the location as it is a long way from central Manhattan and so a tube or taxi was needed to get anywhere, other than the museums and Central Park which were in easy walking distance. Taxis to downtown varied in cost depending on the traffic, from $15 - $28, not bad between 4. A weeks pass for the subway was $29 but it was Very hot down there and got very busy at rush hour. The nearest stations were at 86th and 96th on Lexington, both about a 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel.

The views are great from the apartments, especially our 31st floor one, you look back over Manhattan and can Clearly see the Empire State building. If you could move this hotel 30 blocks downtown it would be perfect!

Room Tip: Go high for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsP-Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We are always thrilled to meet new friends. With beautiful Suites to choose from, we constantly strive to find that perfect match for each of our Guests. Having never met we wanted to offer a truly unique experience and expose you to all the options at are disposal. We are glad we were successful!
We are proud of the diversity each of our team members bring, to see through their eyes the wonder New York truly is. The location of the Hotel is a treasure in and of itself, being as short jaunt away yet buffered from the New York mania.
Thank you for your star of approval for our teams “job well done”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located, comfortable, and within easy walking distance of the subway.
Yes, the construction for the 2nd Avenue subway is taking place nearby, but it did not bother us
a bit. We were on the 20th floor and didn't hear a thing.
The rooms were comfy and clean. I met a friend in NYC for 4 days and we each slept on the bed for 2 nights and the hide-a-bed for 2 nights. Good night's sleep all for evenings.
The Front Desk staff is fabulous. They gave us fabulous restaurant recommendations in the neighborhood. Mexican, Hungarian, and Italian... all delicious and an easy walk away.
Handy to have lobby computers and IPOD charger in the room.

Room Tip: Figure out your price point and ask for the highest floor with a balcony for that price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your “fabulous” encouraging appraisal of our efforts to make your experience tailored to a “friend in NYC” get-a-way one of a kind.
We will double our efforts on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and me have stayed at Marmara Manhattan Hotel for 9 nights, during a vacation trip. It was a great experience. We have stayed in a good apartment with living room, bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and balcony. Very cozy, confort, modern and clean. The staff is very polite and helps you in all your needs. The location is very good, with groceries, restaurants (Nick's Pizza is excellent) and metro few blocks around. Those elements helps you to have a day-by-day Manhattan experience. Two points to improve: the wifi internet was not so good (didnt work some times, but they have computers on the lobby) and the (temporary) mess of the metro construction just on the corner. It is a bit noisy, but doesnt disturb you a lot. In fact, once finished, Marmara will have a metro right on the corner. This feature will become those five stars on my rating even more strong. We would return for sure and will recommend Marmara for our friends.

Room Tip: A high floor, to avoid the noise from metro construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHFerreira78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
There could be no better induction to being a “Native New Yorker”, than a truly unique Upper East Side apartment. We are honored you took time to assist us with improving our service, by offering your generous feedback. “ New Yorkers “ relish all the sounds, smells and tastes of our great city, how fortunate you were to get all three in on one block, our very own. Taste and smell of the infamous “Nick’s”, and the encouraging sounds of our highly anticipated, very own Subway entrance. Hurry and return to The Marmara we are anticipating your return.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I booked a one bedroom suite for 3 nights for my mother who had a series of medical appointments at Mt. Sinai and needed to be close by. The location was ideal with plenty of restaurants to choose from in the area.

The room was very spacious and it was such a luxury to have a full kitchen.

I personally spent one of the nights there and found the staff to be incredibly accommodating and friendly. The room was clean, had every amenity and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EventPlannernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We never tire of hearing your encouraging opinion of our personalized service. We are pleased you find the value of a fully appointed apartment in Manhattan. Having the opportunity and ability to prepare light meals enables us to pass that value on to you without the need of yet another “ New York hotel restaurant”. The Upper East Side being a true neighborhood offers you the full service 24 hour self parking option. We want to thank you for recognizing the value of offering a true residential New York experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Marmara Manhattan Hotel is a value hotel on New York City's upper east side. Clean and comfortable, the hotel was obviously built as an apartment buidling and then converted to a hotel. We reserved a studio (one room with a kitchnette), but was upgraded to a one-bedroom (bedroom, living room, and kitchen). Rates vary, but start under $250. It's especialy a good value if you're more than just a two people, since the living room sofa can be slept on, and extra bedrooms cost less than reserving additional rooms as you would in other hotels.

With that said, this is NOT a full-service hotel. There's no restaurant, no gift shop, no parking, no valet parking, and limited staff. Everyone we encountered was polite and friendly, but we only interacted with staff when we checked in and out. Be prepared to be independent and self-sufficient.

The Second Avenue Subway is being constructed right next to the hotel, and therefore, the area can be congested and noisy. But the hotel's windows are well insulated -- while some sounds can be heard from third floor rooms, the higher floors are quiet and offer great views.

The hotel's neighborhood is residential, with plenty of restaurants and public transportation options. Taxicabs are plentiful and easy to hail from the street. Attractions, such as the Museum of Metropolitan Art and Central Park Zoo, are particularly convenient.

BTW, a nice way to see Central Park is on a weekend, when cars are blocked from using many of the roads that criss-cross the park. You may want to consider hiring pedicab from the Central Park Zoo and going to the Museum of Natural History (and Planetarium) on the other side of Central Park. The pedicab will cut across the car-free park, and while it's pricey (at $25-$40), it's worth it.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer grear views. From the south side, you have a glimpse of the Empire State Buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FoxboroDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We relish our loyal guest, when we are able to offer our” brand” in New York and receive their stamp of approval. We sincerely thank you for your time to let us know how we are achieving our goals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#370 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#245 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Property: The Marmara Manhattan
Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128-4718
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
#170 Business Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing