We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supernice and clean hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostelling International - New York
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I only stayed here one night but I will definitely book a bed here the next time I visit New York. The hostel is really big, clean and feels recently renovated. The staff was nice, the bed fairly comfortable and there were a lot of clean showers and toilets. Breakfast was not included but you could buy (good!) sandwiches and salads in the cafeteria downstairs. Also I really appreciate that they'd built in electrical holes (I can't come up with the word right now!) in the lamps so that you can charge your phone by the bed over night. Free but superslow wi-fi. It was quite expensive but I still think it was worth the money. Overall I am very satisfied!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Fjantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed here with 25 5th graders and 11 chaperones for two nights. The rooms were clean and lockers available in each room. The bathrooms were clean. Although two shower stalls were unavailable in the ladies bathroom on our floor. The only drawback was that the elevator was out of order and that someone had taken all our cereal and crackers. The hostel gave us each a voucher for breakfast as compensation. Our students stay here every year and we have good experiences. The staff is very friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalinLjM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I only stayed here for one night, but for a big hostel it does pretty well.
Great info desk, 24/7 reception, loads of activities on offer.
It doesn't have complimentary breakfast, but the cafe downstairs has pretty much everything you could want for brekkie. The rooms are relatively large, although don't get room 112 -- apparently every other room each bunk has a light and a powerpoint and there's none of that to be seen in 112.
That said, New York is an interesting place for a solo traveller. I think if you don't participate in group activities, it's more difficult to meet someone. New York has so much to offer, and everyone has their own agenda of what they want to do.
The communal areas are great, but the location is average. It's close to the subway, but it would be more convenient to stay a little further downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I've been there 2 times. The first time I was travelling alone. I loved this place. There are so many free activities. For example you can visit Central Park with a guide or go on a new yorker pub crawl at night. The second time I went there, I was travalling with my a friend and my brother. We stayed three nights in this hostel. We were in a 6 bed dorm which was very clean ans silent at night. We had such a good time in this hostel! The staff was very friendly and always kean to help with anything! The location is perfect, in a safe area and only 10 minutes away from Times Square. It's also a great place to make friends from all over the world! On our first night the hostel organized a bbq and a jazz concert! Great way to experience the american life!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salomé B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I was travelling with a friend, stayed 6 nights in this hostel. We had a co-ed 12 bed dorm, where half of the beds had new people every night, the other half were there the whole time and we made good friends with the people in them!

The hostel has every amenity you could need, well equipped bathrooms and an amazing kitchen where we cooked every night. Spacious common areas also with a pool table.

The highlight has to be the activities offered by the hostel. They have daytime tours like walking tours of the city (the Harlem gospel tour with Evan was particularly interesting), discounted tickets to Yankees games and bar crawls/clubbing in the evenings. The evening events always have a crowd of people waiting to go at reception and are definitely a good way to meet people.

My only issues with the hostel were no breakfast provided, not the end of the world though. It would be good if they provided at least cooking oil, salt and pepper in the kitchen as people who are only staying a few nights are not going to waste money buying a whole bottle of oil!

Also the prices charged for the lockers once you have checked out of your room is too high ($5 for 24h) considering the lockers in the rooms are free, you just need your own padlock.

The staff were generally pleasant, helpful and knowledgable, especially on the information desk.

Definitely would stay again next time I am in NYC!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Bogisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The HI New York has thought of most things a traveller requires - even a large touch screen of the activities and bars/eateries around and descriptions of them. They have a million maps and pamplets so you are well informed! Only downside of the hostel is the cost. For a couple, it cost us $130 for us both to stay in a mixed 6 person dorm. However, to stay in a new york hotel or motel it is twice this. Only alternative is airbnb! But the hostel has a good vibe as it is full of people keen to explore the city so you would miss this interaction if you stayed elsewhere. Rooms a good size and have large lockers and your own lamp, plugs for charging things. Would stay again, just hurts the bank account!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

It is in a very central location, clean, and with friendly staff. Quite big dorms (I slept in a 10-persons dorm), but very quiet at least at night (less in the morning). Only problem is that it's outrageously expensive: over 70$ for a dorm bed? breakfast not included...Ok that we are in NYC, but it is still a hostel (and a dorm)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drale_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#409 of 469 in New York City
550 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 469 in New York City
4,948 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#316 of 469 in New York City
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 469 in New York City
649 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#15 of 163 in New York City
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - New York

Address: 891 Amsterdam Ave, New York City, NY 10025-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range: $46 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - New York 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-New York is located in a landmark building on the Upper West Side. One block from Broadway and a main subway line. Minutes from glorious Central Park. Situated near Central Park and Columbia University, the hostel is in a historic Victorian Gothic-style building on the Upper West Side. It organizes walking tours, sporting events, group outings to concerts and more. There is capacity for 672 guests, and facilities include internet access, kitchen and laundry. From an all-day walking tour to a viewing of a New York movie in our cozy TV room to a quiet cup of coffee in our cafe, Hostelling International New York has everything you need to make your group happy. Play the latest games on Play Station 2. Check your email without leaving the hostel. Wash and dry your clothes in our new laundry room on the second floor. Pick up subway/bus MetroCards, sundries, NY souvenirs, calling cards, and more. The hostel is located steps from the subways and minutes from Times Square and other major NYC attractions. Ask our friendly staff what they can do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostelling International - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing