We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, safe hostel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostelling International - New York
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly, safe hostel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed for one night through a CCUSA trip in a 8 bed room with all girls. It was clean and I felt safe as a female travelling on my own. The bathrooms were also clean and the cafe downstairs had a bit of everything. This was an impressive experience for my first hostel stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly4494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Our staff is thrilled to hear that your first hostel experience was an enjoyable one! We hope your work with CCUSA will bring you back to our hostel someday. Feel free to contact us if there is anything we can do to provide you with another memorable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    644
    156
    51
    35
See reviews for
50
45
944
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taupiri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I really like this hostel, I stayed in a 12 bed dorm room which was girls only over New Years. Didn't have any trouble with loud noise or anything like that. It was very warm despite it being freezing outside. The separate lockers were great and beds were assigned. The cafe is great and cheap and they had heaps of activities and outings to join in on.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
We are happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed our facilities. Sounds like it was a great way to start the year!

I really like this hostel, I stayed in a 12 bed dorm room which was girls only over New Years. Didn't have any trouble with loud noise or anything like that. It was very warm despite it being freezing outside. The separate lockers were great and beds were assigned. The cafe is great and cheap and they had heaps of activities and outings to join in on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I had a really great experience staying at the Hostelling International in New York City. The location is fantastic. Walking distance to the nearest subway station and also to columbia University. Service provided is great and people are really friendly. There are so many activities that go down in the hostel that even if you don't feel like going somewhere you can just sit there and talk to people.
They also organize activities and tours for tourists and help you plan activities for your trip.
Amazing stay and really comfortable. The bathroom and the bed etc were really clean and well maintained.
Tip: Carry a lock for your locker otherwise they'll ask you to pay extra for the lock.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chitrak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Very good advice for fellow travelers. We are happy that you found our hostel to be a comfortable place that encourages interaction with other guests. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us and we hope you will visit our hostel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I had a wonderful experience staying at the HI-NYC. The location is fantastic. I always felt safe and taken care of. I needed to change rooms during my stay (which I was aware of and had booked), and the staff took care of my luggage until I was able to check back in. Great service.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rach D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
We are proud to offer great service and we appreciate your kind feedback on your recent stay. We look forward to your next wonderful experience in NYC. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

You can find everything what a traveller needs. It's very clean. The management keep their eye on everything. Shiny floor, clean bathroom, fresh bedlinen. The cafeteria is full of plenty of food and drink. Price wise is not bad. But you can use the kitchen as well. It's very big and lot's of useful stuff are there.

As I was there in December I haven't seen and used everything what they offer. But I've been on the grand New York tour with Jerry, That was brilliant and incredibly cheap.

I cannot say that the price of the accommodation was cheap. But it is worth it.

The location is very good. Two subway stations are very close. One of them is literally 2 minutes.


The only negative side was that our room for 8 was quite smelly because all of the shoes were inside. Just imagine 8 x 2-3 pairs of shoes and slippers together. As the weather was so cold we needed to compromise between cold and smell.

Room Tip: I've seen a very nice family room for four. It was nicely decorated and more comfort in. Would a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay last Winter. We think it's great you were able to take advantage of the hostel's tours even in our colder months. Please let us know when you plan on returning. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hostel is very good nice location and very clean and services are very nice and all the worker in the hostel are very helpful I like this hotel very much and I told my friends about it.Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us! We hope you will return to our hostel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed in New York's Hostelling International in August 2013 and I loved it! Of course it isn't a five star hotel and there are the usual compromises that have to made when staying in a hostel but it was fantastic for the price.

Location: The location was great. Two minutes walk from the Subway station from which you can catch line 1, 2 and 3 (you can get to Times Square on this line in approx. 15-20 mins). Very short walk (5-10 mins) to northern Central Park and a fairly short walk (15-20 minutes) from Harlem. The Upper West Side is generally very quintessentially New York with fire-escaped tenements but is fairly quiet for the inner city.

Safety: I felt very safe (and I am both young and female and was travelling on my own). From what I was told the area used to be bad but now it seems to be very nice. I encountered no issues whatsoever (not even catcalling!) even if I was walking back late at night. There are always staff in the lobby (and in the halls) and you have to swipe your card to get into the rest of the hostel.

Staff: The members of staff were phenomenal. Every single one that I met was cheerful and very very helpful (even when I arrived, hadn't slept for two days and couldn't work out what money I was trying to give him).

Rooms: I stayed in the premium dormitory (6 people rather than 12 and you get breakfast and shower slippers). I'm not sure that it would make too much difference if there were 6 or twelve people in your room (I think it probably depends who is in there) but the breakfast and shower slippers were worth having. Several different people came and went in the time that I stayed and they were all really friendly and chatty. No problems there. There are fairly large lockers to keep your stuff in (although you have to bring your own padlock) and it was very clean. The only minor criticism that I could think of would be that the beds in my room were made of metal and were very creaky (annoying when you're trying to creep into bed) but some dormitories that I saw had wooden beds.

Amenities: The bathrooms were absolutely fine. They were always clean and not very busy. I never had to wait to have a shower or use the sink and the water was always hot. There were also some great tours and trips that were co-ordinated by the hostel and advertised with sign-up sheets in the lobby. These were all free or very cheap. I went on the Harlem gospel one on the Sunday and it was great.

All-in-all, a great experience!

Tip: if you're travelling back to the hostel on the subway late at night you'll probably be on an express train that misses out some stops. The stop closest to the hotel is 103rd Street (on Broadway). Make sure that on the stops leading up to this one that you listen to the announcement of the next stop. It sometimes stopped at 103rd Street and you could get off there but sometimes skipped this station. If it does skip the station, get off at 96th Street and walk north. Don't stay on the train until 110th Street and Central Park North (I made this mistake one night and it didn't feel particularly safe - there was a lot of staring).

Have fun! It'll be great! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MollyJessicaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - New York

Property: Hostelling International - New York
Address: 891 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10025-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 166 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - New York 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-New York is located in a landmark building on the Upper West Side. One block from Broadway and a main subway line. Minutes from glorious Central Park. Situated near Central Park and Columbia University, the hostel is in a historic Victorian Gothic-style building on the Upper West Side. It organizes walking tours, sporting events, group outings to concerts and more. There is capacity for 672 guests, and facilities include internet access, kitchen and laundry. From an all-day walking tour to a viewing of a New York movie in our cozy TV room to a quiet cup of coffee in our cafe, Hostelling International New York has everything you need to make your group happy. Play the latest games on Play Station 2. Check your email without leaving the hostel. Wash and dry your clothes in our new laundry room on the second floor. Pick up subway/bus MetroCards, sundries, NY souvenirs, calling cards, and more. The hostel is located steps from the subways and minutes from Times Square and other major NYC attractions. Ask our friendly staff what they can do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostelling International - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing