We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostelling International - New York
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Fun hostel. Stayed for almost a week. The place was clean. Great location only 1 block for the subway system. The staff was really helpful with directions and ideas for things to do. Lots of pub crawls and free tours were organized as well. An older gentleman named Michael did and excellent free midtown tour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    654
    163
    52
    36
See reviews for
50
46
982
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here just for one night unexpectantly, think it was around $45 so fairly expensive for a hostel but one of the nicest I've stayed in! Stayed in a 10 bed dorm, the showers and bathrooms were really clean and the hostel provides shower shoes. There is a great snack bar downstairs offering muffins, coffee, sandwiches etc and lots of information, brochures, discounts etc available in reception. The staff are really helpful, and arranged a hotel transfer to JFK for us. Great location just round the corner from the subway station, which connects to the main line running down Manhattan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texas182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

So after staying at the HI in Toronto, this hostel was huge! It had nice common areas, lots of space, and lots of great activities planned, which anyone could join in with, some free, some not. I definitely recommend Jerry’s Grand Tour - he is the nicest and kindest man you’ll ever meet! It is a long day - 13 hours, but so worth it - you see a snapshot of the whole city, and gain a great insight from someone who has lived here ages. Comedy nights at the hostel were ok, think it depended on the crowd as to how good the acts were. Location was a subway journey into the main city, but hostel across road from station. The cafe is good, lots of choice, and not too expensive. Staff were mostly ok, not that approachable I found though. I stayed in a 10 bedded female dorm - it was comfy and spacious, with a large bathroom up the corridor. Wifi good everywhere and free. The big downside to this hostel is the noise - as I was on the 2nd floor, there were dorms above, and every step I could here. However, many nights, I swear they were jumping from bunk to bunk at 2am and laughing, shouting, running - it was ridiculous, why security didn’t step in I don’t know, and yes we did complain but it didn’t help! I found it a bit weird that you couldn’t drink in this hostel - was a bit of a shame. I met some great people here, and left with happy memories :)

Room Tip: Ask for top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah14387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed in Hostelling International for four nights (Saturday 23/3 to Wednesday 27/3) in a male economy dormitory. This is the most basic of classes to stay in and for $50 a night it was well worth the money. The facilities which the hostel offers for travellers is top notch including clean kitchen facilities, a cafe (which is open late if you fancy a late snack) and tours/ information. The rooms themselves are cleaned on a daily basis and with each bed you get two pillows, a sheet, a blanket and towel. The lockers beside the beds are spacious enough and there are bigger locker facilities in the basement at a price of $5 per day. The bathroom facilities are great too, plenty of male and female toilets. With plenty of showers, sinks and toilets. The cleaners really keep on top of maintaining the bathroom and ensuring that it is clean throughout the day.

This was my first overall experience of shared accommodation and it certainly won't be my last! The hostel atmosphere is friendly and welcoming and I found many of my dorm mates to be friendly and interesting. The hostel also operates an information desk (separate to the reception) and here you can ask for NYC advice. TIP: grab a free map of Manhattan if you are unsure of getting around.

New York City accommodation particularly in hotels is expensive regardless of where you are staying but this hostel is in a great location (15minute subway to Times Square) and situated a block down from a subway station which links you to most of the main walkable Manhattan sites. At $50 a night you cannot go wrong and I will surely return to Hostelling International on my return visit to New York City.

Another good tip in general is if you have an unlimited subway card (7 days is normally $29) you can get a free tramway over from Manhattan to Roosevelt Island for free. This a great way of getting nice pictures of the NYC skyline for free.

Room Tip: Ask for a bottom bunk, you get a bit more storage space if you think of easier access to under the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for a week at the end of November 2011. It is a really nice hostel, staff were really friendly and helpful when we had a bizarre issue with naked Canadian rugby players on our landing - compensated us with a free breakfast!

Yes the hostel isn't cheap but has brilliant facilities. Great kitchen - fridges, freezers, ovens and hobs, all the utensils you could possible want. Breakfast bar area and diner style seating to eat. Room was clean, I was in a 12 bed female dorm. Lockers by each bed - not huge but big enough to get all valuables in if needed - bring own padlock. Just be wary that if you are staying in a large dorm room you will get some inconsiderate people coming in late at night turning lights on and rummaging through their gear but thats the hostel experience for you! Lounge area was nice, split over two floors, TV downstairs and quieter reading area upstairs. Free wifi but also several pay as you go internet terminals (not cheap, but better and easier than trying to find an internet cafe as its just to hard - I tried!)

Bad points - ok, so this probably won't happen to you but there was a bunch of Canadian rugby players on our landing - young lads around 18 - 21 - and they were drinking, getting naked and throwing up. A friend reported the nakedness and we got free breakie, I reported a pile of sick as didn't want anyone to stand in it and it was cleaned up very quickly.

We were there over Thanksgiving and joined the hostel outing to the Macy's Parade and then got the free Thanksgiving Lunch - BRILLIANT - although I still maintain marshmallows on sweet potatoes is just down right WRONG! We (3 of us) also went out on the hostel pub crawl where we had a great time, really well organised, nice joints, nothing seedy and we got a wee bit tipsy (well one of our trio was plastered :-P)

Meet some fantastic people, staff were great, elevator was slow but there are stairs and was a great week. I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Large rooms are cheaper if you don't mind the odd light being switched on at 2am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mylifetolead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hostel has good facilities and clean rooms and bathrooms. A nice location and easy access to trains and buses. The hostel is close to central park and other tourists sites. I visited a great vegetarian restuarant a very few blocks down. There is also a lovely Church closeby.

Room Tip: private or bunkers are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antiquityeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights and loved it. Easy to find, a bit out of the way, but I got a metro card and it came in very useful.
The staff were friendly, dorms were spacious and had lockers -bring a padlock some of the beds were a bit creaky and it could get a bit noisy on a night but I expected that from a hostel this size.
The facilities were great, kitchen, coffee shop, plenty of common rooms, WiFi, computer room with printing facilities, activities organised by staff.
I personally couldn't find a fault with this hostel and will definitely go back next time I visit NYC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#399 of 466 in New York City
527 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4,841 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#231 of 466 in New York City
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 466 in New York City
11,196 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#14 of 163 in New York City
1,172 reviews
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#22 of 163 in New York City
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - New York

Property: Hostelling International - New York
Address: 891 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10025-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - New York 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-New York is located in a landmark building on the Upper West Side. One block from Broadway and a main subway line. Minutes from glorious Central Park. Situated near Central Park and Columbia University, the hostel is in a historic Victorian Gothic-style building on the Upper West Side. It organizes walking tours, sporting events, group outings to concerts and more. There is capacity for 672 guests, and facilities include internet access, kitchen and laundry. From an all-day walking tour to a viewing of a New York movie in our cozy TV room to a quiet cup of coffee in our cafe, Hostelling International New York has everything you need to make your group happy. Play the latest games on Play Station 2. Check your email without leaving the hostel. Wash and dry your clothes in our new laundry room on the second floor. Pick up subway/bus MetroCards, sundries, NY souvenirs, calling cards, and more. The hostel is located steps from the subways and minutes from Times Square and other major NYC attractions. Ask our friendly staff what they can do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hostelling International - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing