We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seton Hotel
Ranked #197 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just back from an amazing stay in NYC and the Seton hotel did not disappoint! Was slightly worried because our room was right next to public bathroom and apart from a few ignorant, drunk and noisy guests we slept very well! Beds were slightly smaller than the average British bed, but that's been picky! Staff, especially the gorgeous Emmanuel, were pleasant and easy to talk to should we have needed anything! Great hotel! First time in NYC and would certainly stay again! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    318
    77
    14
    23
See reviews for
128
326
55
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at The Seton. We had a pleasant check-in and an explanation of the free coffee and wi-fi. The room was small but comfortable, with en suite bathroom. As we have never been to NYC before, it is difficult to compare hotel rooms, but this one was fine. Each day we seemed to get fresh towels and the room was always clean when we came back later. On check-out day they helped me print out my flight boarding card and stored our luggage until we were ready to go.
There was some traffic noise at night, but only now and then. We slept ok. I would come again & would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the front of hotel. We had some traffic noise at night, so a room not at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

The location for this hotel is perfect. Walking distance to Grand Central station and just over 10 minutes to Times Square. I had a double bed private bathroom which was very clean and plenty of room. Staff were helpful whenever we asked them a question. The rooms don't have a safe but I believe they have security boxes behind reception. They also don't provide tea and coffee in the room but there is a very clean area near reception where you can make a drink and take it up your room. Across the road is Blooms that do a great breakfast. You could hear people outside of your room chatting so sound proof isn't great but to be honest you won't be in your room often. Overall this hotel is great for location, very clean and perfect for a city break. A taxi from here back to JFK was ordered for us for $67 & arrived on time too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a room without bathroom which I was nervous about I needn't have been! The bathroom was extremely clean all of the time and we didn't encounter anyone else trying to use it at the same time!! We paid half of what other NYC hotels ask for per night and believe we found a diamond! The hotel is so well located by grand central station and within 15 mins walking distance to Times Square. Staff were helpful and friendly and there was free coffee &tea available in the lounge area. Also there was free wifi which is a huge bonus!

Only criticism was our bed was a little on the small side but that said, we will definitely stay again at the Seton when we return to New York!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife, teenage son and I stayed at the Seton last week (late Feb 2014). We usually book all parts of a trip separately but for NYC a package via Expedia was much cheaper, so even though we'd read up about the Seton we were a little bit unsure what we'd find. We needn't have worried though - our stay at the Seton was brilliant. Considering the midtown location is accessible for all the sights, the cost, facilities and all-round service at the Seton is excellent. We had a double Queen-bed room (two double beds in one room) and the room was fresh, clean, nicely decorated and the beds were very comfy. Everything worked (tv, cupboards, mattresses good, etc) and the bathroom was excellent too with a really good shower. It felt as if everything had been refurbished within the past 12 months but was not so new that you're left wondering if something awful has just been covered up! The are also some shared facilities such as a nice lounge, good wifi (that worked flawlessly), free tea and coffee, etc. The desk staff were also helpful and friendly whenever needed.

I'd stay here again without hesitation, and have already recommended it to other people I know are going.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank onebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I needed to find a hotel close to Grand Central very quickly and found this utter gem of a hotel. My room was extremely clean, and very comfortable. The reception staff were very helpful, from great advice to getting around NYC, to making sure I got Newark Airport in perfect time for my flight. On leaving the hotel I forgot to pick up my invoice (needed for expenses) a quick mail a week later, and within 24 hrs the guys had sent me a pdf of my invoice. Great stuff, and I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HenryTheHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This sweet little hotel is just a 5 min walk from Grand Central Station making it an incredibly convenient place. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the front salon is a bright and comfortable place for passing time. (I had a mountain of reading to do.)
Although my room was very small, it had everything I needed and was clean with what seemed to be a new mattress and pillows. My room had a shared bathroom down the hall which was also immaculate - never a wait. Only wish was that the window opened for fresh air.

If you're a budget or business/budget traveler - this is a gem of a find. My room would have been a bit too small for a couple.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the room w. shared bathroom. It really was an easy experience. (and there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenK908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seton Hotel

Property: Seton Hotel
Address: 144 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016-1762
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seton Hotel offers a variety of rooms catering to international and value conscious travelers. We offer beautifully restored accommodations at affordable prices, making us an ideal Midtown East choice. We have brought unique style and comfort to every guest room. There are several different room types including an economy option with shared bathrooms. The new lobby, fresh and unique in its design, presents a striking arrival experience. Our guest lounge is perfect for enjoying complimentary hot beverages, reading or relaxing in comfort and style. Close to the city's major shopping and entertainment venues, as well as Grand Central Station, the United Nations and many Park Avenue's corporate headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Seton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seton Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing