We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LITTLE HOTEL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seton Hotel
Ranked #197 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“GREAT LITTLE HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Arrived home from the Seton - what a lovely little hotel. Reception staff very helpful especially as the day after we arrived it was -15 degrees gave us extra heaters for the room kept very clean tea and coffee on tap 24 hours a day . This was our first time in new York and it will not be our last and we would certainly return to the Seton - ideal location 2 mins Grand Central 10 - 15 min walk to times square and same to Macys and Empire State and Rockafella Centre
The only down side were the rooms were very small but who goes to New York to sit in a bedroom anyway.
Already looking at returning next Jan. Thanks again to the staff at the Seton for all the help and advice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nutterEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    318
    77
    14
    23
See reviews for
128
326
55
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at the Seton Hotel for 4 nights over New Years. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We paid extra for a room with a private bathroom, although we were next door to one of the shared bathrooms and it looked clean and was empty whenever we went past. There is a room on the ground floor where you can make tea and coffee, and there is also a vending machine.

The hotel was very close to Grand Central Station, which was helpful for getting the subway, and there was also a shuttle straight to Times Square. There were lots of places for breakfast around the hotel, and large Duane Reade and CVS pharmacies.

I would definitely recommend the Seton Hotel to anybody travelling to Manhattan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The staff at Seton were all wonderful, especially when some of us were ill. They were always friendly helpful and generous spirited. The hotel is a lovely little boutique hotel. We were pleased to have the en suite shower rooms on the ground floor near the 24 hour tea/coffee facilities. There is also a lovely lounge, free wifi and use of a laptop in reception. It has an excellent location between Grand Central Station and Time Square. What else could you want...oh yes, it's superb value for money.

Room Tip: Ensuites on the ground floor were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend from december the 8th 2013 to the 12th.
As soon as we arrived we were greeted by such lovely friendly staff.
The rooms were spotless and yes a little small but what more do you need when all you're doing is using the room to sleep and get showered. If people are moaning about room size whilst in new york then they're obviously not making the most of the big apple.
Really good location, walking distance to times square, grand central station, empire state, rockefeller and so much more.
Loads of diners and bagel cafes dotted around the hotel as well as lots of pubs.
Free wifi works really well and quick and the free tea and coffee near reception is a nice touch and very handy.
To me this hotel is more of a 4 star not a 3!
The staff can't do enough for you, from printing off your boarding passes, ordering taxis to the airport and keeping hold of your cases on the last day, nothing was too much trouble.
We had a problem with the heating in the room and literally 5 minutes after letting reception know there was a knock at the door with a maintenance guy ready to fix the problem and because he had to go and sort it out they brought a mobile electric fan heater for us to use.
This wouldn't happen in the uk at all.
I have friends going to new york next year and have told them to stay at this hotel, you honestly couldnt wish for anything better.
Oh and we paid a little extra for our own bathroom, which was lovely and the shower was amazing, made ours at home seem pathetic ha!
If we're lucky enough to go to new york again this is where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Booked one night at the Seton with wife and 2 children 9 and 11 years. Seton was everything we could have hoped for. New York Boutique cool, family room with 2 doubles was spacious and spotlessly clean, staff friendly and loved the free coffee on tap 24/7. Ideal location for shopping on 5th Avenue, Empire state and rest of midtown.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rundell9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is small, clean and modern-looking. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Was nice to end our evening here away from the holiday crowds at Times Square , which is 15 minute walk away. We got a great price online.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MLFabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our first visit to NYC and are already looking to make a return trip. Finding hotels in NYC is a bit of a minefield but we chose the Seton for 6 nights and were very happy we did!

Located close enough to make a pleasant short walk to the sights (but far enough away to be a little quieter) and with Grand Central Terminal on the doorstep if you want to go further afield.

Our room was a Premier Double (with its own bathroom) on the 3rd floor and was very pleasant. It's true that some heat is lost through the window which was a bit draughty, but we never really felt too cold (even though it was -3 and snowing outside some nights!)

The staff were all amazing, but I wanted to make a particular point of mentioning Emanuel who really did gave us the best welcome to a hotel I have ever experienced and then went on to help us make sure we saw all the sights (including marking up a map for us) and being genuinely interested every morning in making sure we got to see the best NYC had to offer.

We are already looking forward to our next trip to the NYC and I will definitely be booking us into the Seton once again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ItsAlreadyTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seton Hotel

Property: Seton Hotel
Address: 144 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016-1762
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seton Hotel offers a variety of rooms catering to international and value conscious travelers. We offer beautifully restored accommodations at affordable prices, making us an ideal Midtown East choice. We have brought unique style and comfort to every guest room. There are several different room types including an economy option with shared bathrooms. The new lobby, fresh and unique in its design, presents a striking arrival experience. Our guest lounge is perfect for enjoying complimentary hot beverages, reading or relaxing in comfort and style. Close to the city's major shopping and entertainment venues, as well as Grand Central Station, the United Nations and many Park Avenue's corporate headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your Seton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seton Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing