We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The woman at the reception was extremely rude!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seton Hotel
Ranked #197 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The woman at the reception was extremely rude!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at Seton hotel from July 14 until July 21. The hotel was clean, the room service was good. Everything was ok except for the woman at the reception! I have never met a person who is more rude than her. I love Nyc, it's my second time but she ruined my vacation and my stay. Compared to other hotels, the people at the reception are the most welcoming and nice people ever. But at Seton, it was just the opposite. It is not the case for the guys there, they are nice. But this women talked to us very impolitely, she didn't answer any question, she refused to give us the scale to weigh our luggages and when the man wanted to give us the scale she didn't let him, and she said that the hotel doesn't have one; and just the day before I saw a couple using the scale. The Seton experience made me very angry because of this woman, and I don't recommend anyone to stay at this hotel because of her. You'll get angry because of her rudeness and impoliteness instead of having fun and enjoying NYC

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aliiiiiiiiice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    318
    77
    14
    23
See reviews for
128
326
55
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My daughter and I went to New York City for a "girls getaway" before she heads off the college. That being said, we were looking for an inexpensive hotel in a great location that was comfortable, safe and clean. We got all that and more at the Seton. Emmanuel checked us in when we arrived and he was wonderful. Our room was on the first floor and it was a mix of funky/retro/modern. Given some of the other reviews I read, I expected a tiny little room that was filled by a king-sized bed. We were pleasantly surprised at how big the room was.

The Seton is in an awesome location only about two blocks from Grand Central Station. We were able to walk to Times Square, Central Park, NBC Studio, pretty much everything.

I've read some of the other reviews and if you're looking for a "brand hotel" experience with a million dollar view, the Seton probably isn't the place for you, but if you're going to New York on a dime and want a nice, clean, safe place to stay for a very reasonable price and awesome staff, you're in for a treat.

Room Tip: We were in a first floor room with a king bed and it was more than enough room for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I'm staying at the Seton right now. First floor room and its creepy. The hallway might be creepier ... There's an updated bath, which is lovely but I'm not liking the room I've been assigned. I get it, I booked on a discount site...
Upside? Great location. Very lovely staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leslee60, Owner at Seton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I was sorry to read that you did not like your room at the Seton Hotel. It is by no means a "discount version" of our typical room but in fact what we call a one-of-kind jewel box room . It has two-toned hand painted harliquin walls and exquisite (we think) moldings framing the velvet roman shades on the windows. All you had to do was ask for a room change and we would have been happy to oblige if another of that same room type was available .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel was in a great location a 5 min walk from Grand Central Station, pay for a metro ticket $29 for a few days which will take you anywhere on the subway!! 5-10 min walk from 5th avenue shopping and a further 15 mins walk to Times Sqaure. Rooms small but decorated nicely, reception staff VERY helpful always happy to help! shared bathroom for the room we stayed in but did NOT cause a problem at all, always clean and stocked up! Would definatley stay there again if i ever get the chance to visit New York again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beyelseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you are looking for a nice, plain, central hotel this is it. We were more than pleased with our choice and pleasantly surprised when we arrived.
Quiet, clean, polite staff and the most important, you can get to most places on foot.
You van even go for the rooms with no bathrooms - the common ones are star clean!
Great value for money!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This boutique hotel is NOT at all for business/family/pleasure/long stay. You can even get better deals in same class/area if you plan ahead.
The hotel doesn't have bellman therefore if you are alone & have car, It's a big issue. When I have check in, the front desk told me its fine to keep the car in Hotel loading zone till I carry my luggage to the room. But next I get a parking ticket! and other front desk, keep giving me lecture that this is NY & I shouldn't park here! Anyway after they claim that the hotel will pay it and it was their mistake. I asked for letter mentioning same & they gave me a letter that the front desk will cover the parking fine!!
On check in they will ask you to sing on a letter that the hotel is not responsible for any lost, in case of smoking inside the room should pay extra $ , there would be extra $ if you check out later then 11am & if there is any modification or cancellation should be inform before 48hours! My room was small & dark with small window toward other building. The bed was display bed in the showrooms; very small and for sure it isnt for tall people! No refrigerate inside room/old towels/window a/c that has its own sound/no gym/no pool/no breakfast. one tiny old style elevator without air, for sure you would be sweating inside. felt bad for the housekeepers that having difficulty to get in & out of elevator with cleaning trolley.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Azita-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a perfect hotel for a stay in NYC. The rooms are small but it is an excellent deal for the price paid. Great location in a nice area and near everything! The place has excellent service, specially from the people in the front desk. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 206 is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seton Hotel

Property: Seton Hotel
Address: 144 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016-1762
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seton Hotel offers a variety of rooms catering to international and value conscious travelers. We offer beautifully restored accommodations at affordable prices, making us an ideal Midtown East choice. We have brought unique style and comfort to every guest room. There are several different room types including an economy option with shared bathrooms. The new lobby, fresh and unique in its design, presents a striking arrival experience. Our guest lounge is perfect for enjoying complimentary hot beverages, reading or relaxing in comfort and style. Close to the city's major shopping and entertainment venues, as well as Grand Central Station, the United Nations and many Park Avenue's corporate headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Seton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seton Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing