We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overprice, Stay away from this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seton Hotel
Ranked #197 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overprice, Stay away from this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This boutique hotel is NOT at all for business/family/pleasure/long stay. You can even get better deals in same class/area if you plan ahead.
The hotel doesn't have bellman therefore if you are alone & have car, It's a big issue. When I have check in, the front desk told me its fine to keep the car in Hotel loading zone till I carry my luggage to the room. But next I get a parking ticket! and other front desk, keep giving me lecture that this is NY & I shouldn't park here! Anyway after they claim that the hotel will pay it and it was their mistake. I asked for letter mentioning same & they gave me a letter that the front desk will cover the parking fine!!
On check in they will ask you to sing on a letter that the hotel is not responsible for any lost, in case of smoking inside the room should pay extra $ , there would be extra $ if you check out later then 11am & if there is any modification or cancellation should be inform before 48hours! My room was small & dark with small window toward other building. The bed was display bed in the showrooms; very small and for sure it isnt for tall people! No refrigerate inside room/old towels/window a/c that has its own sound/no gym/no pool/no breakfast. one tiny old style elevator without air, for sure you would be sweating inside. felt bad for the housekeepers that having difficulty to get in & out of elevator with cleaning trolley.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Azita-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    318
    77
    14
    23
See reviews for
128
326
55
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a perfect hotel for a stay in NYC. The rooms are small but it is an excellent deal for the price paid. Great location in a nice area and near everything! The place has excellent service, specially from the people in the front desk. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 206 is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in an economy room (one bed, sink, shared bathroom) with my two kids. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and bathroom was always spotless and available. Emmanuel at front desk was so welcoming and accommodating. He help us with directions and even lent us an umbrella for our outing. Everyone at front desk interacted wonderfully with my children. They felt at home. We had stayed at a more expensive hotel on the upper east side recently, and I don't think anyone there noticed my children or cared about accommodating our needs during our stay. The staff at Seton was wonderful. The price great for NYC. The hotel is neat the UN so street parking id very difficult to find.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at the Seton for 5 nights on a girls getaway. We had a 2 double bed room with private bathroom and it was more than enough space for us. Would've liked a few more mirrors and better lighting but overall it was spacious, clean and the beds were comfy. Even at close to $300 a night this was a pretty good value in comparison to some other hotels we were considering. The location was also great - right by grand central, less than 10 min walk to fifth ave and about 20 to Times Square. Lots of great options near by for a quick breakfast but not much in the way of dinner/bar options. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others visiting NYC.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I booked this hotel for the location and price, not expecting too much given it is New York. You do pay for the privilege of staying in the city! However I really liked this small hotel. The front desk staff are super friendly and eager to answer questions, I never encountered anyone who was not smiling and I heard them greet some guests by name. The hotel is six stories high with a single small elevator, but unlike others I was not bothered by this. I never had to wait too long. When I booked I included a request for a quiet room, which was clearly received. My room, 406, was located between a linen room and the staircase. I never heard a sound from other guests or from the street. However, what I DID hear, a lot, was the air conditioner. It was super hot in NY while I was there, and I had to have the ac on. The ac unit sounded like a plane taking off, and it cut in and out with the thermostat. When I was trying to sleep I would be jolted awake, which did impact on my sleep for a little while!

However, if you can live with the AC, then this is a great little place, close to the action and transport. I was able to walk to my meetings near the UN. The decor is quirky, but the room was clean and comfortable. I had a Queen room with bathroom.

Room Tip: 406 is a good room if you want to minimise noise from other guests. But the AC is very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the economiser room for 5 nights. It was so pretty. The decor is outstanding. So very tidy, clean and well presented.
Located in a perfect location. Just a small walk to Grand Central Station and Bryant Park. We walked past hotels like the Hyatt and they simply dont compare to the location, staff service and quiet luxury of the Seton. Perfect for solo and couples. We were in a shared bathroom. But at no stage did it feel like it. Its private and clean all the time. The lamps, beds, bedding, tiles, wall paint....everything are faultless. Our room even had a sink ...so convenient. Economiser shared bathroom is perfect...we saved the money for our next holiday. The laundry service is prompt. There is a lounge to use with comfy seats and tv, coffee machine etc if you arrive before checkin. You can leave your bags and venture outside knowing they are safe. Car service to airport is so very useful ...recommend you allow lots of time to get there as the traffic is busy sometimes. The car was clean, driver was nice. All staff at Seton are beautiful. The room staff do a beautiful job making the bed and even arrange pillows for you. There is lovely staff who mop throughout the day so the lobby is allows luxurious and tge staff behind the reservation desk are lovely, warm, welcoming. We didnt know too much about tipping so we left $1 on the bed each day. Staff were simply beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean finished to a high spec. The room we stayed in was a small double bed room which had plenty of cupboard space and a basin. We had a communal bathroom, this was the first time we have done this. I would be lying if I said I wasn't apprehensive about this. However there were 2 on each floor, they were always in a clean state and very high spec. Best of all we never bumped into anyone or had to wait to use the bathrooms! And we were showering upto 3 times aday!
The only downfall of this hotel is how far it is to Times Square. It can take upto 20 mins! But on the plus as its not so central you can find better value places to eat and shop!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ippyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seton Hotel

Property: Seton Hotel
Address: 144 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016-1762
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seton Hotel offers a variety of rooms catering to international and value conscious travelers. We offer beautifully restored accommodations at affordable prices, making us an ideal Midtown East choice. We have brought unique style and comfort to every guest room. There are several different room types including an economy option with shared bathrooms. The new lobby, fresh and unique in its design, presents a striking arrival experience. Our guest lounge is perfect for enjoying complimentary hot beverages, reading or relaxing in comfort and style. Close to the city's major shopping and entertainment venues, as well as Grand Central Station, the United Nations and many Park Avenue's corporate headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Seton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seton Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing