We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value; variable room quality”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #197 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value; variable room quality”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I am a loyal Milburn customer. You can't beat the value. Note that there is wide variability in the room quality. I've stayed in fully updated rooms and some that are still quite run down and shabby looking. The suites are wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevators are best. High floors are noisier than you would expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TarheelTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    506
    135
    39
    49
See reviews for
444
308
70
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was recommended to us by friends, and proved excellent value. The location is perfect, close to subway, buses and Central Park only a 10 minute walk away. Lots of very good shopping right there including for groceries and restaurants. Having stayed the week prior at the Warldorf for a conference, the Milburn room was as good if not better with a kitchenette. We were four people so took full advantage of the 'suite'. Bed was the most comfortable of our 3 week trip in the USA. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OView57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here 3 times last year, this was our first visit this year. The Milburn is still a terrific place to stay. We had a suite with 2 beds in the bedroom and sofa bed in the living room, the room was spotless, housekeeping does a wonderful job. The kitchen with a microwave, little refrigerator and coffeemaker are so handy, dishes were furnished, too.

The location is great, near the bus, subway and Broadway. Lots of shopping, movies, and restaurants. In hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: The rooms are large and spacious. There is a nice continental breakfast included!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhobbs1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

great place...affordable, centric, competent and kind staff; breakfast was adequate with fresh foods. Accessible to subway and bus stops. Central park is only three locks away. There are plenty of options for a nice dinner or for grocery shopping

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Milburn is a great hotel. Spacious (by NY standards) my son and I had a suite, with the kitchen we were able to have snacks and cold drinks in our room. Friendly staff and a perfect location. Shopping, restaurants, Central Park all just steps away. Breakfast came with the room price. I will come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 969Suzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Overall, great hotel, however be aware that they only provide a certain amount of food for breakfast, and when they run out, you are out of luck. More accurate to say, breakfast available on a first come first served basis, as supplies last. I talked to the manager, to no avail. Everything else was fabulous, and I would stay there again. .

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at the Milburn in May, we had a room with separate bedroom. The bathroom is tiny but managable, it had everything we needed ( had to ask for a hotplate to heat the kettle to make tea). The place is quiet and tidy. Staff are excellent and very helpful. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwitrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
2,380 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#220 of 467 in New York City
3,645 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#65 of 467 in New York City
3,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 467 in New York City
2,076 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
5,069 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#358 of 467 in New York City
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Property: The Milburn Hotel
Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#125 Family Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing