We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #201 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

the room was very big and clean. It was supposed to have a kitchen but a microwave and coffee maker does not make one. The odd thing is that there was a kettle but no stove.
It had 3 walk in closets which were not necessary and the bathroom was pretty but very small. I wish the had taken one of the closets to make space for a counter in the bathroom.
the breakfast downstairs was ok if you are there before 8am, after that you wont get a seat.
Unfortunately their internet was down for 3 days... Not good for business. Had to go to Starbuck for that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0njaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,167)
There are newer reviews for The Milburn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

I am not a usual complainer, having travelled across the USA and stayed in tents, however I am confused considering the reviews that this hotel has been given. The staff were not helpful. The breakfast in the morning was pretty much a non-starter, it was impossible to sit down as the dining room was absolutely tiny. The bathroom, which is oddly placed in the centre of the room was very small and the place looks like it needs a good lick of paint. The place feels dowdy and dark and it is not something I looked forward to returning to after a day out in New York. The rooms themselves were dark and need completely refurbishing. There is a random kitchen in the room, which serves as a non-purpose. The kettle provided requires a hob, which the room does not even have!!! For the price, the quality of the room is poor. Better to pay a little more and get a decent, modern refurbished room.
The only positive thing about the place is the location - there are great restaurants, cafes and shops nearby.
The room has a depressing, gloomy feel and I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 224LisaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in a superior king bed suite from Sept 11-15 2013. (1 couple and 1 single). The layout is perfect, with the bedroom and the living room apart from each other with their own access to the bathroom. Makes it very private for the person sleeping in the living room. Room 1200 well renovated, with windows in both rooms and even in the bathroom, so the entire suite has a lot of natural lighting. Central A/C, the one in the living room was a bit noisy. Very quiet room. Elevators were working fine, breakfast is very good for a continental, although the room gets crowed around 9:00AM, but if we were in a hurry, we brought back the food to our room. Staff very nice. We really enjoyed this "old style" hotel, with a cozy feeling.

Room Tip: Room 1200 on a corner, with windows on both sides. Not a great view, but very quiet and lots of lig...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I spent five nights recently at the Milburn. I saw no evidence whatsoever of any rudeness on the part of the staff as has been reported here and elsewhere. They were uniformly polite, friendly, and very accommodating. The room was very nice - clean and well-appointed. Beds are very comfortable and it is nice to have the little kitchenette. Also the large tv is great and offers a lot of cable channels. Free wifi in the room was another plus and it actually worked, unlike what I had experienced at the Marriott Marquis in Times Square the week before. The location of the Milburn is close to several excellent markets and restauarants, and both the subway and buses were convenient. All in all a great stay for a good price.

Two minor things I think could improve it - have a larger shelf in the bathroom - there is no horizontal space to place anything - even a hair brush. Also, there is no hot water in the kitchenette sink so it's difficult to clean the plates and utensils.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The desk staff was very accommodating and efficient. My husband and I only spent two nights in a studio room with small kitchen which we didn't need. The room was large and the bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but serviceable. Having breakfast early (6:30 A.M.) was perfect for us. VERY convenient upper west side location.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank DEDEIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My two daughters, ages 11 and 14, and I stayed at the Milburn for four nights, August 9-12. I love the upper west side, and the Milburn's in the perfect location: residential feel and close to the subway, restaurants, and markets. The hotel has been recently renovated and we were pleased with our room's décor. The lobby, too, was welcoming and quite charming with a turn of the century look.

Our king room was $209 plus tax per night with a rollaway bed at no extra charge. Both beds were very comfortable. The room was spacious with plenty of room to walk around without bumping into each other. There were a closet, dresser, table with chairs, and an easy chair with ottoman, too. The kitchenette came in very handy and was just off the entryway into the room. The bathroom was well-designed and didn't feel crowded at all.

We needed the help of maintenance once, but he arrived very quickly and fixed the problem in no time.

Breakfast was free and had a nice variety of cereals, breads, and fresh fruit. We also happened to hit it at the right time: waffles on the weekend! (Get there before the batter runs out though, which is usually by 9:30. Breakfast is until 10:00.)

Whether on the phone or in person, each staff member was helpful and friendly.

If I could improve one thing, I would up the power of the AC a bit. We were there in August, and occasionally, the room felt stuffy and took too long to cool off.

Overall, I was very pleased with the Milburn and would recommend it. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on a higher floor in a corner room: great view and plenty of light.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clanwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I understand why people like this hotel, but it won't be my first choice next time.

First, the pros: Outstanding and safe upper west side location, reasonable price, suites for family travel (I was staying by myself on business), friendly staff, breakfast, nice TVs in room, newer A/C/ system, fairly new furniture, comfy bed & room had a nice view facing quiet area.

The cons: The hotel needs some work. I knew I wasn't paying for a Marriott or Hilton, but why let some things get a little rundown and overshadow what is nice here? Examples: chunk of paint chipped off my windowsill, dingy hallways, cut-out in sheetrock of hallway ceiling that was never patched, wallpaper by door in my room that was soiled and needs to be replaced, carpet fraying by bathroom (which, while clean, needed updating and replacement of cracked tiles). This hotel has potential to be fantastic with some modest handyman work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the back (although I don't think any room would be too noisy).
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pugmeister2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#227 of 468 in New York City
3,679 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
2,408 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#73 of 468 in New York City
3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 468 in New York City
5,227 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 468 in New York City
2,095 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#357 of 468 in New York City
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#124 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $184 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing