We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really liked it!”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #212 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I recently stayed for 2 nights when I was in NYC to attend some continuing education. I chose the hotel primarily because of the location (upper west side & quiet). There were a lot of things I really liked about this place - the beds were very comfortable (and the bedding very nice quality); the rooms were surprisingly spacious & very clean; small kitchenette; lots of mirrors; the staff was really nice & helpful; the continental breakfast was decent; and the price was affordable for NYC. The only things I didn't like was the weak water pressure in the shower (not a deal breaker, however) & the hallways smelled a little funky. If you want fancy, this isn't it; but all-in-all it was an enjoyable experience, and I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greta40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

A delightful and unique hotel in the heart of the upper West Side of Manhattan. Hotel is meticulously kept with very pleasant, caring and accommodating staff. This has become our favorite hotel which we have recommended to many of our friends and colleagues who also have become frequent guests. Outstanding value for money with a very homely feel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmirv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Every six months or so we have our "Girls Only" reunion at the Milburn. We have been staying there for many years and loved the hotel and the neighborhood. The hotel is very good but our main reason for staying at the Milburn was the location. Unfortunately, the neighborhood is undergoing major reconstruction and many of the local restaurants are no longer there. We loved the area the way it was. The hotel itself is a good value since the rooms are spacious and comfortable for Manhattan. We will probably still continue to stay at the Milburn but it won't be the same.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarTripo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Really enjoy staying at this hotel. Convenient location on the upper west side. Near many restaurants and markets, not far from Central Park. Rooms are not new but clean, good service. Subway is a few blocks away. No restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have stayed many many times at the Milburn. It is cozy, spacious rooms, clean, staff helpful and kind, excellent facilities, excellent location, close to first class markets, close to the Natural History Museum, close to the Lincoln Center, 3 blocks from the metro station, large variety of good restaurants wlaking distance. It is "my home" in NY.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArmandoM114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent a weekend here visiting friends who lived in the neighborhood and couldn't have been more pleased. Lovely hotel, spacious rooms, clean and new bathroom, even had a kitchenette! Great neighborhood, wonderful customer service, really cannot complain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlburnhotel, Owner at The Milburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We appreciate your review of The Milburn, and hope you stay with us the next time you visit your friends in the neighborhood. As one of the most popular Upper West Side hotels, we try very hard to provide a pleasant and comfortable experience for visitors to this special locale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in October - with our 2 kids 7 and 9 - cant reccomend it enough - close to the Subway and Central Park and Natural History Museum - plenty of nice eateries close by too. Perfect spot for families.

Went to a Yankees game while there - learnt lots about them from the breakfast crew there - they were great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyh1977Dunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 473 in New York City
3,873 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 473 in New York City
3,930 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 473 in New York City
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 473 in New York City
2,159 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 473 in New York City
5,758 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#329 of 473 in New York City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $149 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing