We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected but location is great for young people on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Incentra Village Hotel
Ranked #15 of 76 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2007

I'm from Greenwich Village in New York and I recently brought my mother in law and a family friend of hers to New York from Italy for the first time. It was their first time in the United States and my husband and I stayed 2 blocks nearby with my mother. My mother passes the Incentra on her way to work each morning and picked up a brochure for me. We were looking primarily for something close to my mom's apartment since each morning we would be picking them up to take them around New York. The photos made it seem to be the perfect place for them: location wise, cost wise and size/ammenties wise. (Since they were staying for a week it was extra handy that they had a little kitchen as well.)

Initially the only room available (I booked only a month ahead of time) was the Castelwood room. While the bed was a bit small for two people - I booked it primarily because of the location. Beware that the photos must have been taken after a restoration years ago. We were taken into the Castelwood room which is not in a "modern building next door" as they decribed it but just a basic brick apartment building next door. After fiddling with the locks we arrived in the room and unfortunately the pictures were not similar to the condition of the room. It appeared to have not been maintained. The windows were dirty as were the shades and the kitchen and bathroom were old and their overall 'condition' at first impact were not particularly welcoming. Paint was chipping off and the overall condition was a bit grimy.

While they were getting settled the reception called to say that they had indeed a larger room available with two beds (which I requested if one opened up) and so we moved them to the Tabor room. In comparison to the Castelwood which was right on the ground floor with the windows on the street this was a happy surprise... it was on the 3rd floor (a very steep walkup staircase) and had two beds and a 'newer' kitchen and facilities in general. I found it odd the the prices for all of these rooms were the same.

This would've fine until the next day when someone from the hotel approached me on the street in front of the building to ask me if I was with the people in that room (they didn't speak English.) He explained to me that the room was available only until Wednesday and after Wednesday the only availability was the small ground floor Castelwood room. And furthermore that (this was Monday) they would maintain the 3 day cancellation policy if I wanted to move them on Wednesday. So I had to run around to find another accomodation for them right away.

So in a nutshell after Wednesday I moved them to the Chelsea Savoy hotel on 23rd and 7th Avenue. For the same 190 Dollars a night they got a nice big clean room with two queen beds and while it didn't have the charm of being in Greenwich Village it was a fine alternative.

I would say overall if you are a young couple or two friends looking for location - and and just want to be in the Village and don't care too much about the condition of your room then go ahead. It would have been fine for me and my husband and I'd reccomend it to any young couples who are on a budget and going to NY. But for my mother in law and her friend on their first trip to the US ... who I wanted to make sure were comfortable and 'impressed' I was fairly disappointed. If you have difficulty doing stairs make sure that you understand what floor your room is on because the staircases are tiny and steep.

Hope this is helpful to someone.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank liveinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 158 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2007

The problem with this place is its lack of warmth; the staff are absent or cold or rude. The parlor is never used; it's more like a theater set rather than a spot to hang out. Be sure you're able to haul your luggage up a tall, cramped staircase. The reservation procedure is quirky/unnerving; I had to work hard to get a confirmation. We were two heterosexual women, and I had the feeling the staff's coldness possibly related to their homosexually-centric orientation? We'll never know. But the location is wonderful. Especially for chocolate lovers; Li-Lac is a block away, and The Chocolate Bar is very close. Lots of breakfast options as well. It's a busy traffic street, but the sidewalks feel like a strictly homey residential corner of the Village, not full of tourists.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LA-Traveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
215
Reviewed June 7, 2006

The Incentra Village House was recommended to me by another B&B owner in the village. I stayed there three nights with my daughter. The staff could not have been nicer. We were supplied with a new air-conditioning unit when we complained that our apartment wasn't cool enough to our satisfaction. When we had questions regarding subway lines and other touristy type queries, they were handled with complete clarity. I found the Incentra Village to be the perfect spot for discovering Greenwich Village. This is the first time I stayed in the village after many trips to New York. Despite the weather, it was the most charming accommodation one could ask for. I would definately stay there again.
Roseanne Goergen
Omaha, NE

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2006

Agree with other reviews that you get what you pay for - in this case a simply furnished, functional room that was "top-line" clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great and the La Bonnbonniere next door does a great breakfast. I would recommend this more for friends than for couples.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MonikaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington DC
19
Reviewed May 7, 2006

I have stayed at the Incentra several times. Recently, I am not sure what has happened, but they have turned rude and have treated me unfairly. There are other choices in the price range that I would recomend like the new Four Points Sheraton in Chelsea. At least they treat the customers with respect.

Stayed: January 2006
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
18
Reviewed December 3, 2005

My best friend and i stayed at the Incentra for 5 nights, and loved every minute of our stay.
The staff were so friendly towards us and made us feel really welcome. Our room, the Tabor was gorgeous, as are all the rooms. It had a real homey, rustic feel, and every evening after a tough days shopping we came back to find it clean, fresh and tidy.
The location of Incentra couldn't have been more perfect. A stones throw from the trendy 'Meatpacking District', and right in the centre of Greenwich Village which was fantastic for wandering about the beautiful tree lined streets. Bars, cafes, shops and individual restaurants were right on the doorstep. Make sure you spend an evening across the street at the Gioia Italian restaurant...yummy. It really did feel like a home away from home. Loved it, we'll be back soon......

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2005

Yes, this place is cheaper than most in NYC. But be prepared for what a "bargain" you're getting. The towels were threadbare (think high school gym class), the carpet in our room was dirty, and the rest of the furnishings were at best tired, but more often downright decrepit and/or filthy. There wasn't a single chair in our room that I would trust to sit in. To be fair, the shower stall was redone and very clean and the bed was ok. For $160/night I didn't expect a palace, but I did expect better than this.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#137 of 473 in New York City
1,521 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#310 of 473 in New York City
1,444 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#67 of 473 in New York City
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#90 of 473 in New York City
1,074 reviews
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#8 of 76 in New York City
376 reviews
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 76 in New York City
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Incentra Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Incentra Village Hotel

Address: 32 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10014-1803
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $162 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Incentra Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incentra Village Hotel, an Historic Inn, was built in 1841, and occupies two brick landmark townhouses in New York City's Greenwich Village Historic District. As an attractive alternative to Midtown's steel and glass, the Village House offers our guests a warm welcome in our cozy front office featuring a fireplace, antique furnishings and artwork. All of our guests are welcome to relax with our supply of newspapers, magazines, and books. To get to your room you'll wander down narrow halls and up charming old stairways to one of 12 unique rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Incentra Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incentra Village House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing