We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Incentra Village House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Incentra Village House
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   32 Eighth Ave., New York City, NY 10014 (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 82 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great location, price ok, rooms ok, staff very nice and helpful. Would stay again. Bathroom was small but updated and you are in NYC so how much time are you really going to be staying in the room anyways.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    39
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
42
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just OK place where the location is in fact everything. Apart from that and the staff niceness, rooms are what you would expect for the value, packed with useless stuff, a bit noisy (depending on the room) but spacious and clean. If one can put that aside, location for the value is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a very rustic property with lots of charm. The rooms are fine and feels like staying at grandmas! The kitchenettes and bathrooms are fine too.
The positives are the location. West Village is amazing and there is so much on your doorstep. It has such a nice feel compared to midtown. It is also good value when you compare to the rest of New York.
The negatives are the noise from the street, the stairs to get up to the rooms (we were on the top floor) and small rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyO-Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

On a recent vacation we made a quick two night side trip into the big city and stayed at Incentra Village House. My last visit was 12 years ago-- Many of the same staff operate the house. The staff went out of there way to be friendly and accommodating. I noticed many upgrades since our last visit and it is apparent that they are taking good care of this Gem. Incentra is in a great location close to 14th St. Subway. We stayed in the Garden Room and were very pleased. The room was clean, well laid out, and equipped with a kitchen, nice bathroom, and a charming outdoor garden area. We really enjoyed being able to walk the neighborhood to many great restaurants, shops, and theaters. We look forward to a future stay at Incentra.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kent0189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times a year for about 10 years. I love this place! The rooms are clean, comfortable and safe. The fully equipped kitchenette is a lovely perk. The location is surrounded by wonderful restaurants and charming streets. You can stroll to the Meatpacking District and Highline or hop on the bus to Central Park and Theatre District. The best perk of all is the weekend manager Vincent. He welcomes you as a dear friend who makes your visit more enjoyable. He is a font of information and keeps the 150 year old building humming along. Incentra has a new owner and my fear is that he will raise the prices to more than I can afford.

Room Tip: Tv reception is limited. I prefer the rooms on the second and third floors of the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you want a power shower, marble floors and a king size bed then its probably not for you but if you want rickety, dusty and quaint then its the place to stay at the centre of the place to be. A great team and great location near 8th/14th St subway.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem then go for one of the lower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bay-back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had meetings in Chelsea and couldn't bring myself to pay $400/night for an impersonal hotel experience. However I didn't want to end up in a space that was run down. Incentra Village House was the perfect place for me! Very friendly and efficient staff - from booking all the way through my stay. I had the Dakota room at the back which was quiet and so comfortable. The room had a microwave, sink and fridge. It had an AC unit which worked great. The TV was small - really a computer monitor - but I don't watch TV so that was fine. Great area with tons of coffee shops, restaurants and stores. I was initially worried about it being on busy 8th Ave but it felt like walking into a sanctuary each evening. This will be my goto lodging every time I come to NY.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toriat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#8 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,942 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#179 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#100 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#196 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,523 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#304 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Incentra Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Incentra Village House

Property: Incentra Village House
Address: 32 Eighth Ave., New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Incentra Village House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incentra Village House, an Historic Inn, was built in 1841, and occupies two brick landmark townhouses in New York City's Greenwich Village Historic District. As an attractive alternative to Midtown's steel and glass, the Village House offers our guests a warm welcome in our cozy front office featuring a fireplace, antique furnishings and artwork. All of our guests are welcome to relax with our supply of newspapers, magazines, and books. To get to your room you'll wander down narrow halls and up charming old stairways to one of 11 unique rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Incentra Village House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incentra Village House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing