We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Incentra Village Hotel
Ranked #15 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The place to stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you want a power shower, marble floors and a king size bed then its probably not for you but if you want rickety, dusty and quaint then its the place to stay at the centre of the place to be. A great team and great location near 8th/14th St subway.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem then go for one of the lower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bay-back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    46
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
26
47
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had meetings in Chelsea and couldn't bring myself to pay $400/night for an impersonal hotel experience. However I didn't want to end up in a space that was run down. Incentra Village House was the perfect place for me! Very friendly and efficient staff - from booking all the way through my stay. I had the Dakota room at the back which was quiet and so comfortable. The room had a microwave, sink and fridge. It had an AC unit which worked great. The TV was small - really a computer monitor - but I don't watch TV so that was fine. Great area with tons of coffee shops, restaurants and stores. I was initially worried about it being on busy 8th Ave but it felt like walking into a sanctuary each evening. This will be my goto lodging every time I come to NY.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toriat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, NH
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Wonderful staff, great location, historic house, elegant rooms. Bed a little softer than I like, but fine.

We stayed in the Garden room, which had a couple of problems. A strong gas smell, which diminished (but didn’t go away) when the night clerk found out how to turn off the gas to the unit. Also, lights in the garden keep the room too light for me.

Wifi didn’t work at all. Staff said a repair person was coming.

I might try Incentra again, but a different room.

Room Tip: I wouldn’t choose the Garden room again unless they add a timer to the outdoor lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picaphoto, Manager at Incentra Village Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Upon being informed of a gas smell, the night man turned the stove off and it is scheduled for repair.

As always, I encourage guests to bring any concerns to the staff, at any time of the day or night. The light switch to the outside garden lights are in the Garden room, with a big sign that says "LIGHTS TO THE OUTSIDE GARDEN." I don't understand how people are so quick to criticize but so slow to help themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolney, England
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

On a second family visit to NYC we chose to stay in West Village away from the main drags. This is adjacent to Greenwich Village and a little haven with trees and small green squares. As long as you appreciate this is the gay centre of NYC, with occasional overt vignettes, it is a charming area and very convenient for transport, and within walking distance of the High Line, Chelsea Market and the boutique shopping in Bleeker St. The Incentra is not your usual accommodation - it is a house run by a trust with long-standing staff who are very welcoming and informative and in some cases, a tourist attraction in their own right. The quality of the rooms is superb, each being furnished with unique pieces and sumptuous beds and the communal reception room is Victorian and attractive. No two rooms are alike and all have different facilities and characteristics. We had the 'dungeon' room two floors down from street level with 2 doubles and even that was great - my daughter gasped on first sight that she wanted her bedroom to look like this. Our room had coffee-maker, microwave, toaster etc, but why bother when you have a greasy spoon next door which gained local status and following by staying open during Sandy or the retro Bus Stop Café just a few steps down the road?

Room Tip: All the rooms are so very different, so read the descriptions to find one to suit you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritZo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Incentra Village House offers an attractive option to a NYC boutique hotel or chain. Situated in Greenwich Village it offers a quainte ambiance accentuated by urban charm. We stayed in the India Suite in late October for 4 nights which faced 8th Avenue. The character of the room was a pleasant diversion from the more brandex modern options. Although small, the bathroom was stocked with green products. For those who are sensitive to street noise, an alternative suite situated near the back of the property may be more appropriate. Our stay extended past the weekend when traffic noise was more apparent (garbage trucks). Otherwise, our suite was a quiet oasis amidst the cityscapes.
We enjoyed having the option of a kitchenette to prepare beverages and store light snacks. Television viewing was limited, although who needs to watch TV when in NYC? The Village staff was approachable and well informed about local options. The Incentra Village House is within close proximity to ammenities and local attractions as well and we walked to the majority of our destinations. We enjoyed a nice walk to the Guggenheim Museum and stopped by various points of interest along the way. Our room was kept clean and promotional materials and magazines are available in the main lobby. A staff member ensures guest security and is available for any emergent concerns as they sleep on-site overnight.
A visit to John’s Pizzeria of Bleecker Street is a must. Part of the appeal of Incentra Village is being able to discover the local area of Greenwich despite its recent transition to becoming more gentrified. Incentra Village offers the opportunity to discover the changing landscape of Greenwich and new surprises in Chelsea and neighboring areas. We discovered the Corner Shop Café at 643 Broadway (between Bond St & Bleecker St) for brunch which was a Sunday gem for a variations on classic fare. A visit to Incentra Village House is ideal for those that seek a cozy option within the heart of NYC without surplus luxury and expense. We have recommended it to friends/ co-workers who also agree.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back/ basement will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CameronToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Brought my mother to NYC - her first time in the city at the age of 80 - to visit my son and his fiancée. Wanted to stay somewhere where she could experience/ brush shoulders with people who live in the city. Incentra is in a fantastic location - so close to all the attractions.
Incentra is a cosy and charming place with comfortable beds. We stayed in the Stonewall room which is in the basement - no windows - but it did mean we ( my mother and I) each had a double bed to ourselves and since we spent most if the time out and about it didn't matter not having a window. The stairs are steep so you may need to consider that.
We were greeted and looked after by Vincent - who is great. So kind and helpful especially to my mother, helping her up and down the stairs. Vincent also has invaluable local knowledge and places to eat.
Would come back again and recommend it time and time again - super value.

Room Tip: All charming in different ways - it's a house so there are stairs and some narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danilaarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We chose Incentra based on multiple recommendations from various friends, so it certainly had raised high expectations.

It's a couple of minutes walk from a subway station, so we didn't have trouble bringing our bags, but after shopping in NYC for a few days it wasn't quite so easy in the other direction!

We were in the Washington room, which has a double bed and a double futon in the sleeping loft - good for friends or family staying together. The bed was pretty comfortable, but I drew the short straw and had the futon in the loft, which was very firm, and had started to get quite thin in the middle. My back was a bit twingy after a few days of this, but for kids this would be ideal. You wouldn't want to be too tall up there either - sitting up meant your head brushes the ceiling and your feet might stick out off the edge if you move when you sleep!

The room comes with a kitchenette - sink, mini fridge, microwave (not a great one, but it works), toaster, kettle, dishes and cutlery etc which makes it so much easier to self-cater occasionally! We stocked up on delicious food at the Whole Foods two subway stops away, or there's a smaller supermarket just up on 14th st.

The steps to get from the street to the room are very steep and narrow, so this wouldn't be a great place for anyone with mobility issues. The decor is a bit dated, but charming, and the bathroom was small, but had everything you need. Our room was just above street level, so we had to keep the curtains closed most of the time so people couldn't easily see in, but we didn't mind.

We didn't see the staff very often, but when we did they were cheerful and pleasant, and they allowed us to leave our (large!) cases in their lounge after we checked out, as well as holding a couple of packages for me until we arrived.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#148 of 467 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 467 in New York City
959 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#303 of 467 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
1,787 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#114 of 467 in New York City
590 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#146 of 467 in New York City
2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Incentra Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Incentra Village Hotel

Property: Incentra Village Hotel
Address: 32 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10014-1803
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Incentra Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incentra Village Hotel, an Historic Inn, was built in 1841, and occupies two brick landmark townhouses in New York City's Greenwich Village Historic District. As an attractive alternative to Midtown's steel and glass, the Village House offers our guests a warm welcome in our cozy front office featuring a fireplace, antique furnishings and artwork. All of our guests are welcome to relax with our supply of newspapers, magazines, and books. To get to your room you'll wander down narrow halls and up charming old stairways to one of 11 unique rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Incentra Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incentra Village House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing