We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Village Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Incentra Village House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Incentra Village House
Ranked #15 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Village Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Incentra Village House offers an attractive option to a NYC boutique hotel or chain. Situated in Greenwich Village it offers a quainte ambiance accentuated by urban charm. We stayed in the India Suite in late October for 4 nights which faced 8th Avenue. The character of the room was a pleasant diversion from the more brandex modern options. Although small, the bathroom was stocked with green products. For those who are sensitive to street noise, an alternative suite situated near the back of the property may be more appropriate. Our stay extended past the weekend when traffic noise was more apparent (garbage trucks). Otherwise, our suite was a quiet oasis amidst the cityscapes.
We enjoyed having the option of a kitchenette to prepare beverages and store light snacks. Television viewing was limited, although who needs to watch TV when in NYC? The Village staff was approachable and well informed about local options. The Incentra Village House is within close proximity to ammenities and local attractions as well and we walked to the majority of our destinations. We enjoyed a nice walk to the Guggenheim Museum and stopped by various points of interest along the way. Our room was kept clean and promotional materials and magazines are available in the main lobby. A staff member ensures guest security and is available for any emergent concerns as they sleep on-site overnight.
A visit to John’s Pizzeria of Bleecker Street is a must. Part of the appeal of Incentra Village is being able to discover the local area of Greenwich despite its recent transition to becoming more gentrified. Incentra Village offers the opportunity to discover the changing landscape of Greenwich and new surprises in Chelsea and neighboring areas. We discovered the Corner Shop Café at 643 Broadway (between Bond St & Bleecker St) for brunch which was a Sunday gem for a variations on classic fare. A visit to Incentra Village House is ideal for those that seek a cozy option within the heart of NYC without surplus luxury and expense. We have recommended it to friends/ co-workers who also agree.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back/ basement will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CameronToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    43
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
45
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Brought my mother to NYC - her first time in the city at the age of 80 - to visit my son and his fiancée. Wanted to stay somewhere where she could experience/ brush shoulders with people who live in the city. Incentra is in a fantastic location - so close to all the attractions.
Incentra is a cosy and charming place with comfortable beds. We stayed in the Stonewall room which is in the basement - no windows - but it did mean we ( my mother and I) each had a double bed to ourselves and since we spent most if the time out and about it didn't matter not having a window. The stairs are steep so you may need to consider that.
We were greeted and looked after by Vincent - who is great. So kind and helpful especially to my mother, helping her up and down the stairs. Vincent also has invaluable local knowledge and places to eat.
Would come back again and recommend it time and time again - super value.

Room Tip: All charming in different ways - it's a house so there are stairs and some narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danilaarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We chose Incentra based on multiple recommendations from various friends, so it certainly had raised high expectations.

It's a couple of minutes walk from a subway station, so we didn't have trouble bringing our bags, but after shopping in NYC for a few days it wasn't quite so easy in the other direction!

We were in the Washington room, which has a double bed and a double futon in the sleeping loft - good for friends or family staying together. The bed was pretty comfortable, but I drew the short straw and had the futon in the loft, which was very firm, and had started to get quite thin in the middle. My back was a bit twingy after a few days of this, but for kids this would be ideal. You wouldn't want to be too tall up there either - sitting up meant your head brushes the ceiling and your feet might stick out off the edge if you move when you sleep!

The room comes with a kitchenette - sink, mini fridge, microwave (not a great one, but it works), toaster, kettle, dishes and cutlery etc which makes it so much easier to self-cater occasionally! We stocked up on delicious food at the Whole Foods two subway stops away, or there's a smaller supermarket just up on 14th st.

The steps to get from the street to the room are very steep and narrow, so this wouldn't be a great place for anyone with mobility issues. The decor is a bit dated, but charming, and the bathroom was small, but had everything you need. Our room was just above street level, so we had to keep the curtains closed most of the time so people couldn't easily see in, but we didn't mind.

We didn't see the staff very often, but when we did they were cheerful and pleasant, and they allowed us to leave our (large!) cases in their lounge after we checked out, as well as holding a couple of packages for me until we arrived.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

On a recent visit to NYC my sister reserved a room at this inn for our visit. We stayed in the Washington Room, and loved it. The room was great for the three of us, with two sharing the bed, and one in the loft we each were comfortable. There is a sink, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave and dishes all available. The best about this site was that we were in more of a local populated area, surrounded by everything the city has to offer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

4 of us stayed at Incentra arriving late on Xmas night and leaving New years day - we stayed in the Garden Room and the Gaylord room. For the price and the location it was super value and it gave us a warm, clean, safe place to stay during our weeks holiday.

Staff were helpful when needed, rooms serviced daily and linen and towels changed when requested. Breakfast at the cafe next door was a daily treat (La Bonbonniere) and we spent many a happy night at the friendly cubbyhole bar... we got freee drinks and food for our frequent use (!).

The subway was a 5 minute walk and then central Manhatten was within a short journey from Incentra. My friends and I had a great holiday and Incentra was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lukeyboy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My last NY accomodations were so satisfactory (I stayed at the Abingdon guest House in the west village) I thought it couldn't be equalled but I had a recent experience (5 days) at a guest house across the street - the Incentra Village House - which was terrific. I had a lovely room (the India Room) which was attractive and very clean. I am a high maintenance guest and was delighted to find a fan, a heater and a kitchen space which included a sink and refrigerator. A young man called Vincent insisted on carrying my suitcase upstairs for me and wouldn't take a tip. The windows all opened and when I commented that my cover (a down comforter) was too warm, I was given a quilt and a blanket which was perfect. The cost was less than $200 a day which included all taxes and extra charges. I think this is extraordinary for New York. I heartily recommend this guest house. As an extra bonus, every person on duty is extremely cordial and hellpful. Phyllis Magida

Room Tip: I loved the India room at the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank readlaughwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Incentra Village for 4 nights at the end of September 2012. The location is ideal as it's a right near the many shops and restaurants along Bleeker Street and there is a subway station a short walk away. We also recommend going to the nearby Chelsea Market!!

We stayed in the Dakota room which was of good size with an en suite bathroom and small kitchen area with a fridge and microwave. The only complaint is that the bed is small double and the air con unit is noisy. The room was clean and maid service was provided daily. All the staff were very friendly and even arranged a taxi for us to go to the airport at really good rate!

When we go back to New York we will seriously consider staying at The Incentra Village again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshtonGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#164 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Incentra Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Incentra Village House

Property: Incentra Village House
Address: 32 Eighth Ave., New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Incentra Village House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incentra Village House, an Historic Inn, was built in 1841, and occupies two brick landmark townhouses in New York City's Greenwich Village Historic District. As an attractive alternative to Midtown's steel and glass, the Village House offers our guests a warm welcome in our cozy front office featuring a fireplace, antique furnishings and artwork. All of our guests are welcome to relax with our supply of newspapers, magazines, and books. To get to your room you'll wander down narrow halls and up charming old stairways to one of 11 unique rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Incentra Village House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incentra Village House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing