We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a convention hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Incentra Village Hotel
Ranked #14 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Incentra Village House. We were given the Stable Room which has alot of character. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. What a great location...right in the Village and close to Metro lines. Our room faced 8th ave however was relatively quiet...room well insulated. Why not excellent? Coffee makers are provided however there is no coffee...bring your own. Also upon making our reservation via phone we were not told that there was major construction going on right in front of our room and a "oh, by the way, the water will be shut off tomorrow morning at 8". I understand Incentra had no control over this however it did affect our visit. Would I stay here again or recommend them? Yes!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is right on the edge of Greenwich Village. Its clean, fun and slightly quirky place, but excellent value for Manhattan. My room was two floors below ground, yes its possible. It was stinking hot in NYC that week, so quite a good place to be until it rained very heavily and the room had a minor flood. All cleared up and coped with by the efficient staff before I got back. Would I go back? Yes cheerfully.

Room Tip: Stonewall is well below ground but a large comfortable room, cool in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingshuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a nice place in a great location. It's got personality, like the rest of the neighborhood, and that's a refreshing change from corporate cubicle hotels (if you're into that). But the best part is the personal service. My girlfriend and I arrived at 10 AM on a rainy Friday morning after a sleepless red-eye flight; since check-in isn't until 2 PM, we were going to drop off our bags and stumble around for a few hours. Upon arriving, it turned out that they had our room all ready for us, "because it's raining." We were able to catch up on sleep and have a great night. That kind of personal care is invaluable, at least to me.

The IVH is comfortable; it's like staying a someone's house. The room we had included a small kitchen and a patio: both came in handy. The staff was, without fail, courteous and professional, while still making us feel at home. Overall it was a great experience, and a place we always looked forward to coming home to. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The Garden Room has a quiet patio. Great for smokers.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank FusRoDah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Like my husband, I enjoyed my stay there.
The location deserves 5 star for me for the reasons so many people mention.
As for the place, it was what we were expecting. It is reasonably well kept but it is an old property so don't expect cool boutique chic. It does look like the pictures if a bit shabbier, but it's got charm. No complaints about the service or the staff: the rooms were cleaned everyday and everybody was friendly and helpful. Yes, you can pay a bit more and get something with more modern facilities? Possibly, if that's what you want.
Some noise from other floors and from the street as you would expect. We were there during a heat wave and we found we couldn't sleep and keep the A/C unit on, as it was too noisy. If I were to stay there again I'd try to book a room on one of the top floors.
By the way, no problem to get a taxi just outside the door at 5.30 in the morning to take us to the airport.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be less noisy. Ask them about the different options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MireneQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed 7 nights here. Amazing location away from the mass of tourists. Felt like being at home. Charming rooms, good facilities. Helpful, friendly service. Preferred 'Washington' Room to 'Gaylord' as the latter was basement/ground floor and the former 2nd floor with great views onto and across the street. I would probably have given 4.5 if it had been an option - old aircon units a bit noisy but that's minor really. we walked so much through the city that we slept ok.
Loved the little kitchen and the chance to walk through the village for some fresh pastries to have with coffee and juice in the room - meant we were not outside all our waking hours.
We can't fathom some of the negative comments here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Incentra Village recently and found it to be a lovely and charming retreat in a beautiful, historic part of the West Village. After running around all day in the busy city, we felt, upon coming back to our 'home base', that we had entered a quiet, stress-free zone. Our room was old-fashioned and yet well kept. We appreciated a nice view of the garden below. Our bed was clean and comfortable. Upon arrival we were welcomed by the friendly staff, who greeted us warmly as we came and went and always asked if everything was ok with the room. We plan to book again when we return to New York in the fall. We have noted with dismay a few negative reviews and honestly cannot understand what prompted these, other than that some people will find fault with anything and anyone. We recommend this most highly!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed in Incentra Village House before and I always recommended it to friends who asked me where to stay in New York. But it seems to have changed. Apparently they don't seem to care about this wonderful building in this great neighbourhood anymore: Dirty, dusty, verminously and run down. Tattered lamp shades, malfunctioning lights, jammed door locks and windows,... But the saddest part is the unprofessional way the management handles customer complaints: Screaming and shouting and swearing and accusing is not a way to treat a dissatisfied guest. So the management seems to be the root of the problem and I can just hope that this wonderful old house will soon be in someone's hands who cares about the place and about the guests. The only chance I see for Incentra Village house. I am very disappointed and sad that I have to say: Stay away from this place!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
7  Thank ploinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Repeatedly asked during their stay of how they are doing, these guests always replied with a smile, "just fine." At checkout, (which is very generously at noon, and not 10 am as in some hotels) these guests came to the front desk ranting and screaming that their lock had broke during their stay and that there had been a bug in their bathroom. Our charming guest house is just that, a house, and not a hotel. Who hasn't had a lock break in their home? Who hasn't had the occasional water bug or spider in their bathroom? The lock was fixed within 45 minutes, and the guests themselves disposed of the bug.

Photos of all rooms are displayed on our web site. The layout of the room these guests were in is clear. I don't know how these returning guests to Incentra could have thought the room they chose this time was different than what the photos show?

All rooms are well cleaned before check-in and maintained during a guest's stay. As always, all of our guests are strongly encouraged to voice any concern they may have to the front desk during their stay, as opposed to after, so we can help make their stay as enjoyable as possible.

Jeff Pica
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 469 in New York City
1,010 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#213 of 469 in New York City
1,836 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#118 of 469 in New York City
614 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#156 of 469 in New York City
2,880 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#58 of 469 in New York City
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Incentra Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Incentra Village Hotel

Address: 32 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10014-1803
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $155 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Incentra Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incentra Village Hotel, an Historic Inn, was built in 1841, and occupies two brick landmark townhouses in New York City's Greenwich Village Historic District. As an attractive alternative to Midtown's steel and glass, the Village House offers our guests a warm welcome in our cozy front office featuring a fireplace, antique furnishings and artwork. All of our guests are welcome to relax with our supply of newspapers, magazines, and books. To get to your room you'll wander down narrow halls and up charming old stairways to one of 12 unique rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Incentra Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incentra Village House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing