We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveler rating
146
318
193
70
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
318
193
70
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews single room new york times square budget hotel the empire state building bryant park place to sleep rooms are small shared bath street noise light sleeper penn station fresh towels excellent location central location cleaning staff few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 789 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My new husband and myself visited New York for the first time and stayed at the Americana inn for 4 nights. We were given room 511. The location is conveniently located a stones throw from the battery park subway station, is less than a 10min walk to Times Square and broadway and less than 5 min walk away from the Empire State Building. The building is secured with a buzz in door and lift access. The cleaners are pretty thorough. The shared bathrooms were cleaned daily. The walls are thick enough not to hear voices in the next room, but not thick enough to block the sound of closing cupboards, shifting of luggage and closing doors. This noise however is nothing compared to the street noise. Being on the top floor, we could still easily hear the taxi beeping and sirens outside and my husband had even commented, is the window open?, when it was very securely closed lol. The additional a/c unit was not working as we required extra warmth in addition to the central heating (we are from Australia where we are used to warm weather ) so we requested for attention to this by phone at night and then in person the following morning. Later that day when we returned, the room was more than warm. The service received was not the most friendly, but was more than satisfactory. We would highly recommend this hotel for its location and if you are not a light sleeper :)

Date of stay: March 2014
5  Thank sydneysuburber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel met all our expectations. Our expectations were best location and americana inn is possibly the best hotel in the budget hotel class. It is near to the empire state building and times square.

Room tip: Prefer rooms in the 4th floor and 5th floor
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank satrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

There is nothing particularly wrong with this place, but there's nothing really to shout about with it either! The location is good, the service was adequate and it's cheap. On the flip side, I've stayed in hostels all round the world and I didn't really like this place, it's in dire need of a refurb, plug sockets hanging off the wall, uncomfortable beds, horrible tiled floors etc! But let's face it, you're not going to NYC to sit in your hotel room all day! I know you can't expect the Ritz in NYC for £50 a night, but compared to the second place we stayed in NYC for £56 a night, this ended up looking like poor value for money! If you are just looking for the cheapest place possible that's clean and in a good location this will definitely suffice, but worth looking for deals on other hotels instead.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank badgerqueen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here for one night as I needed to book a cheap place fast and at the last minute.
Check in was quick and easy. The room was clean and pretty big. The bathroom was a good size as well. Checkout was fast.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvmybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

HOTEL: Now... this is NOT the Ritz! As usual, you get what you pay for, and this is a hostel-style hotel, where you'll stay in a miniscule room with in-room sink. Shared bathroom/toilet on same floor. But within its category, there is nothing to complain about. The beds were comfortable, fresh linens, everything in room and shared bathroom was perfectly clean. That's all one can expect and that was delivered.

LOCATION: There's always two sides to one coin. The hotel is in just about the best possible location for exploring Manhattan. Just a few footsteps from Times Square / Penn Station / 5th Avenue... can't beat that! But of course, the price you pay for that is noise, day and night, and it never stops. Traffic and sirens can be heard through the closed windows, but OK. However, if you like the windows open during the night, you better be a sound sleeper, because there's a LOT of noise! ALL IN ALL: Considering hotel rates in Manhattan, this hotel is definitely a good deal.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baboka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews