We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal!”
Review of Americana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americana Inn
Ranked #377 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Value for price excellent. You have a personal safe in your room, the midtown location is close to EVERYTHING on foot or if you're lazy to subways. Theres no wifi above 2nd floor so don't get your hopes up, but there are a thousand hotspots everywhere else. You will get used to the traffic noise if you face 6th avenue.

For a 4 day stay to chill back and visit new york, youve found an affordable and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 746 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

My new husband and myself visited New York for the first time and stayed at the Americana inn for 4 nights. We were given room 511. The location is conveniently located a stones throw from the battery park subway station, is less than a 10min walk to Times Square and broadway and less than 5 min walk away from the Empire State Building. The building is secured with a buzz in door and lift access. The cleaners are pretty thorough. The shared bathrooms were cleaned daily. The walls are thick enough not to hear voices in the next room, but not thick enough to block the sound of closing cupboards, shifting of luggage and closing doors. This noise however is nothing compared to the street noise. Being on the top floor, we could still easily hear the taxi beeping and sirens outside and my husband had even commented, is the window open?, when it was very securely closed lol. The additional a/c unit was not working as we required extra warmth in addition to the central heating (we are from Australia where we are used to warm weather ) so we requested for attention to this by phone at night and then in person the following morning. Later that day when we returned, the room was more than warm. The service received was not the most friendly, but was more than satisfactory. We would highly recommend this hotel for its location and if you are not a light sleeper :)

Stayed: March 2014
5  Thank sydneysuburber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel met all our expectations. Our expectations were best location and americana inn is possibly the best hotel in the budget hotel class. It is near to the empire state building and times square.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms in the 4th floor and 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank satrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

There is nothing particularly wrong with this place, but there's nothing really to shout about with it either! The location is good, the service was adequate and it's cheap. On the flip side, I've stayed in hostels all round the world and I didn't really like this place, it's in dire need of a refurb, plug sockets hanging off the wall, uncomfortable beds, horrible tiled floors etc! But let's face it, you're not going to NYC to sit in your hotel room all day! I know you can't expect the Ritz in NYC for £50 a night, but compared to the second place we stayed in NYC for £56 a night, this ended up looking like poor value for money! If you are just looking for the cheapest place possible that's clean and in a good location this will definitely suffice, but worth looking for deals on other hotels instead.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here for one night as I needed to book a cheap place fast and at the last minute.
Check in was quick and easy. The room was clean and pretty big. The bathroom was a good size as well. Checkout was fast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvmybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

HOTEL: Now... this is NOT the Ritz! As usual, you get what you pay for, and this is a hostel-style hotel, where you'll stay in a miniscule room with in-room sink. Shared bathroom/toilet on same floor. But within its category, there is nothing to complain about. The beds were comfortable, fresh linens, everything in room and shared bathroom was perfectly clean. That's all one can expect and that was delivered.

LOCATION: There's always two sides to one coin. The hotel is in just about the best possible location for exploring Manhattan. Just a few footsteps from Times Square / Penn Station / 5th Avenue... can't beat that! But of course, the price you pay for that is noise, day and night, and it never stops. Traffic and sirens can be heard through the closed windows, but OK. However, if you like the windows open during the night, you better be a sound sleeper, because there's a LOT of noise! ALL IN ALL: Considering hotel rates in Manhattan, this hotel is definitely a good deal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baboka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I don't think this hotel would be ok for everyone but for my boyfriend and I..it was just what we were looking for. We came to NYC to explore and shop, not to sit in a room all day. This hotel is perfect for people that just need a clean place to sleep for a low price. (We paid 60 dollars a night) The rooms are small with a sink and a closet. We had a bathroom right outside of our room, which neither one of us had a problem using and it was always clean. (They have a few bathrooms on each floor, if one is being used) The staff was very friendly and helped us with everything we requested. It is within walking distance to time square, the Empire State Building, and many subway stations. There is a parking garage with security right across the street that offers discount parking to guests of the hotel. Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank discodragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 470 in New York City
652 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 470 in New York City
1,592 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#444 of 470 in New York City
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#365 of 470 in New York City
267 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 470 in New York City
1,586 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#389 of 470 in New York City
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn

Address: 69 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-5512
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $95 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel New York City
Americana Inn New York
Americana Inn Ny City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing