We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a quick trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americana Inn
Ranked #381 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a quick trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

You want to be in the middle of everything and not spend a lot of money? this is your place. Be aware rooms are small and bathrooms are shared. For me it was perfect, I just needed a place to sleep and take a nice shower, the rest of the day (and some of the night) I was visiting all the wonderful places this city has. Meeting my sister who was there for business (she lives in Spain & I live in Florida) for few days. Again had a wonderful time, didn't have much expectations, but as I said I just needed a clean place to sleep and get a shower. Everything was great, at least for me :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucero331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    279
    174
    63
    51
See reviews for
61
195
125
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the worst place i have ever stayed in NYC. Imagine just arriving in New York (you haven't even had the time to figure out that you need a cell phone), the only phone in the lobby is broken, nothing works in this hotel by the way (no TV, the AC is so noisy you forget about it, no telephone, etc.) and these people UNBELIEVABLE! were incapable not only of letting you use their phone but even of dialing a taxi number or a local number for you! I have never seen something like it. The person who works the morning shift, anything can happen, he doesn't care, he does his job and that's it. At least in the evening there are a couple of employees who care about the customer's concerns. Not to mention that almost everyone realizes that the bathrooms are shared when it is too late. They say it is mentioned in the hotel listing. Apparently nobody sees it. I stayed one night because couldn't do otherwise.

Room Tip: Stay if you cannot do otherwise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Clean, tidy, central and inexpensive, what more can you ask. No ensuites, but so many 'restrooms' it does not matter try it. Remember NYC is noisy and so is their air conditioning. Rooms are on the small size, but who cares

Room Tip: Go as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This Hotel is the WORST Hotel aI have even been in my life! I booked via Hotels.com for $120 but when I checked in they refused to honor the price by Hotels.com and Charge me $140 a night. We did not have TV service for 3 nights in addition to no Wifi, no private bathroom and horrible front desk staff. The windows and blinds were broken and the noise from the street was so loud we did not sleep well for 3 nights! We tried to move to a different hotel but everything was booked. We were also locked out of the front door of the hotel because there was no one at the friont desk for 10 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have used CheapoAir, Expedia, Priceline etc. for many years with very positive experiences. This past hotel booking was by far my worst experience to date. The corner location with 3 giant windows overlooking the street, The windows were broken, the blinds over them were broken, the television was broken, there was a hole in the wall next to the air conditioner that went out to the street. The noise was so loud that we did not sleep at all. Also, there was no bathroom in the room which was not in the booking information which would not have been a problem.
I requested another room and was told the hotel was full, which it clearly was not. I felt that because we paid less we were penalized with a room that would never go to a paying guest. That we were given their worst location, truly an unlivable, certainly "unsleepable" situation.

Room Tip: Request that your room not face the street and be on a higher floor. The windows are not sound proof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank djaffe0660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
284 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Most people choose this hotel for the price; some people then expect luxury. I stayed one night and found it adequate. Everything was very clean. There were plenty of restrooms on my floor so I never had to wait to use the bathroom. In fact, I rarely saw other guests except in the elevator. The window air conditioner in my room only ran on high so it was quite noisy. On the other hand, it blocked out any hallway or street noise so I slept well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feistygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#403 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#364 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn

Property: Americana Inn
Address: 69 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel New York City
Americana Inn New York
Americana Inn Ny City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing