We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my review of the americana inn”
Review of Americana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Americana Inn
Ranked #373 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    289
    176
    65
    51
See reviews for
62
205
129
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Hill VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This Hotel is the WORST Hotel aI have even been in my life! I booked via Hotels.com for $120 but when I checked in they refused to honor the price by Hotels.com and Charge me $140 a night. We did not have TV service for 3 nights in addition to no Wifi, no private bathroom and horrible front desk staff. The windows and blinds were broken and the noise from the street was so loud we did not sleep well for 3 nights! We tried to move to a different hotel but everything was booked. We were also locked out of the front door of the hotel because there was no one at the friont desk for 10 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have used CheapoAir, Expedia, Priceline etc. for many years with very positive experiences. This past hotel booking was by far my worst experience to date. The corner location with 3 giant windows overlooking the street, The windows were broken, the blinds over them were broken, the television was broken, there was a hole in the wall next to the air conditioner that went out to the street. The noise was so loud that we did not sleep at all. Also, there was no bathroom in the room which was not in the booking information which would not have been a problem.
I requested another room and was told the hotel was full, which it clearly was not. I felt that because we paid less we were penalized with a room that would never go to a paying guest. That we were given their worst location, truly an unlivable, certainly "unsleepable" situation.

Room Tip: Request that your room not face the street and be on a higher floor. The windows are not sound proof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank djaffe0660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
284 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Most people choose this hotel for the price; some people then expect luxury. I stayed one night and found it adequate. Everything was very clean. There were plenty of restrooms on my floor so I never had to wait to use the bathroom. In fact, I rarely saw other guests except in the elevator. The window air conditioner in my room only ran on high so it was quite noisy. On the other hand, it blocked out any hallway or street noise so I slept well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feistygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Location is near the bus stop from DC but we had a hard time finding the place. There's construction in-front of the inn and the signage is small. We spent a lot of time at the door step and no one will open it for us even if the receptionist can see us through CCTV. Elevator is small as well as the rooms. There's a common bathroom but there's a sink inside the room and it is closely next to the bed. It is so close that you need to be careful not to hit yourself. If ever I'll visit NY again, I wont stay in this inn again. Its good enough though for budget travelers on an overnight visit to see the Big Apple.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here Thursday-Sunday and the location is awesome being close to Times Square but everything else is below average. The room was hot even with an window air conditioner. We asked for a fan for two nights in a row and said they didn't have one. The next day we came in from a hot day and asked for a fan and was told they would check. We got into our room and found maids have came in and turned off our window unit even after we had our card outside to not enter we called down to complain and a fan was brought right up. If you have the chance to stay elsewhere I would.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_duley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omsk, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

What is really good in this hotel is location: many sightseeings are at a walking distance.
But when it comes to the place itself... Well, the room is too small, from my point of view. However, I would mention that it is very clean and nice there, there are enough bathrooms on the floor. One more - there is no REAL kitchen, unless you believe that a kitchen includes a tiny fridge and sink with no oven or microwave whatsoever.
Yet another problem is wi-fi.. They don't have any wi-fi at all, and you have to use the desktop at the reception with payable Internet...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#438 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#360 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#300 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn

Property: Americana Inn
Address: 69 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-5512
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel New York City
Americana Inn New York
Americana Inn Ny City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing