We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for what you are paying for!!”
Review of Americana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Americana Inn
Ranked #375 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent for what you are paying for!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Expectations: this is not a 5 star hotel, so if that is what you are expecting, stay away!!! That being said, I would highly recommend this hotel and stay there again. We were looking for a clean place and good location and the Americana Inn met both of these with flying colors. The rooms were small and dated, but always cleaned, nothing turned up missing, and the staff were more than willing to help with whatever we needed. I was worried about the shared bathrooms, but like the other reviews stated, the were never crowded, always clean. We were in NYC during a heat wave, so the a/c unit had trouble keeping up during the day but was comfortable enough while sleeping. Our room was on the corner of 38th and 6 ave, so yes it was loud from 7am until 12am. If you are going to NYC to sleep or hang out in your room during these times save your money and stay home. If you are reading this and are like me, someone who is worried about a clean bed and clean bathrooms, you have no worries. Stay here!!!

Room Tip: I was nervous booking this room, but it turned out perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJR823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    291
    176
    65
    51
See reviews for
63
205
131
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I spent almost one week in this hostel, as a word hotel does not fit hear at all, in June 2013. We were on our honeymoon trip with my husband. I must admit, that the location of the facility is great, but this is the only thing, which is advantageous. Rooms are small and noisy, bathrooms are shared (!). The air conditioning in our room was so loud, that when we started it, we could not hear our thoughts. Room service is OK, but the floor of the room was never clean and one of the bath tubs was stuffed for three days, before anyone fixed it. My overall opinion about this place is poor, it is my worst “hotel” experience ever.

Room Tip: There is no such thing, as a good room in this facility. Choose the one with the quiet AC, if you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarzyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

-Very good service !
-Best location !! 5 min. Walk to time square .
-Clean .
-noisy
-small rooms
-Best place to stay on a limited budget . ----
.................................................................................................................

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0BK0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorville, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Americana Inn is in a great location on 38th street and Ave. of the Americas, it is easy to walk to shopping in Manhattan and to Times Square. Subway is close. The hotel is very basic, not fancy at all, just simple beds and sink and mirrow, with a small t.v. But you are in New York, You don't need that room for anything other than sleep.
The maid service was good, bathrooms were clean (not in the room, but it worked out fine), staff is friendly, place seems safe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taoal
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Found the Americana Inn in Priceline, goid price, if going in May or after during the summer, bring a fan, as there us ni A/C or ceiling fan, shared bathrooms are very clean.
They are walking dustance away from Broadway, Empire State Building etc, subway , taxi or bus for the rest.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

After booking the hotel i read the reviews and got scared.
How ever on arrival it seems like the place is in the final stages of a paint job and a bit of an over haul. Yes the amenities are very basic and yes you do share a bathroom but everything is fresh and clean. I had a single room which was very small with a sink and small flat screen tv but comeon your in the centre of manhatten you only need somewhere to sleep not spend time in. And for the price this is a bargain. Pretemanger next door for your healthy dinning options and i was able to pick up there free wifi in the room. Dont be scared this is a rare one.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globehoppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Thas's all this place has. Small rooms, worn out beds, half broken venetian blinds, just one towel per person, noisy, no private bathroom, no internet, staff unfriendly. The only plus is its location in the heart of Manhattan. If this is not the last hotel available, shop for something else.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room away from the street. The noise is unbearable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chunguita58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#439 of 468 in New York City
218 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 468 in New York City
627 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#364 of 468 in New York City
884 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#193 of 468 in New York City
782 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#401 of 468 in New York City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn

Property: Americana Inn
Address: 69 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-5512
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel New York City
Americana Inn New York
Americana Inn Ny City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing