We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Overpriced tiny double twin bed rooms without bathroom.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americana Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americana Inn
Ranked #367 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Overpriced tiny double twin bed rooms without bathroom.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel advertisement on the website I used for finding it wasn't clear in regards of the shared bathroom, which was very annoying to me but I could cope with it since it was just an overnight stay. I wasn't satisfied at all, since they don't have Wi-Fi on the rooms, not even one of those you have to pay for.

The location is great, that it is. But you definetly don't get your money's worth for a $200 stay in something like that. It is definetly not worth it and if I knew it was so bad I would prefer paying more for a better hotel.

The room was very clean, though. You could smell it was very well kept and there was no dust around. I can't complain about that and even though I wasn't satisfied at all, I will remain fair.

The shared bathrooms were VERY clean, as well. I didn't feel too much of a discomfort to be honest and wasn't a hassle but for families, I don't advise it. It's better to pay more for privacy and comfort.

As far as I'm concerned they didn't provide breakfast.

The reception staff was quite distant and borderline rude. I didn't expect anything different, if you know...

The hallways had a noisy floor and you could clearly hear people walking and talking outside. The walls didn't seem to be very sound proof either.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the street on the 5th floor. The window was soundproof and worked very well at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    274
    172
    59
    49
See reviews for
60
194
122
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My friend and I love NYC! For an affordable hotel stay, reminiscent of "room & board" the Americana Inn makes the grade. Friendly staff, central location, very clean. Though no en-suite bathrooms, there are several on each floor, and NEVER a line. Yes, there is street noise so ear plugs are a must. Remember to request extra towels and facecloths ahead of time. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Occasionally I stay at a hotel like this to check it out as a lower cost option; I was sadly disappointed! The rate was about $150/night, which is not a cheap date, even in NYC at different times, and there were other options at the same rate this trip.

The requirement to ring the doorbell should have been the first sign,lobby on the second floor the second - I still went forward; the third was the elevator - room for two with bags at best, good luck if you have checked bags as their size would make the thing problematic. Onto my room on the 4th floor - holy macanoli! VCT (that's one foot square vinyl tiles) covers the floor in the halls and the rooms - old, tired and cracked at best! The room was a 10 X 7 box with a full size bed with a rock hard mattress, a corner sink and a window facing 6th Avenue - a small 1st generation flat screen TV with basic cable. No phone, no food, no pool, no pets! Do worry though bring your cigarettes - lots of guests smoking even though against the law in NY! Did I tell you NO BATHROOM! It's down the hall and shared by all.

I checked out and found another hotel - the place is a real dum and not worth $150 on any night - this is a $30-$50 flop house. YOu did not want to touch the bed, I peeked at the sheets, they were transparent!

Skip this one folks find anything better and be sure to read the fine print - you don't always get what you pay for!

Room Tip: They are all loud,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter8061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location could not be better, the prices are reasonable, staff polite and efficient and the bathroom (shared) was clean and the water nice and warm.
We did hear traffic noise and there was a bit of building work in progress down the road but you are within a hundred yards of Broadway so you get the lullaby

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is the perfect location for visiting NY
Rather basic, but very clean, and only few meters from Times Square and Empire State building
if you can, ask for a quiet room, not facing the street

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Small hotel, small rooms, enough to come just to sleep after long walks and shopping. Conveniently located, all within walking distance, near a small shop where you can buy your morning coffee and something to eat. Clean, warm, sometimes heard as the doors slamming neighboring rooms.
No free wi-fi, one old computer in the lobby.
Enough for us to stay for a week, save money on shopping, theaters and museums.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Alena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.louis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Room was small but we just needed a place to sleep.shared bathroom was kept clean and we did not have to wait to use it.(early December).walking distance to broadway/time square.bryant park is 2 blocks away.subway station near Bryant park.the famous public library is next to the park.we also walk to the Rockefeller.Macy's at herald square is few blocks away.for backpackers,Grand Central station can be walking distance,airport shuttles to LGA are parked near the Grand central station.
No wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boracay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#221 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#260 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#386 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#429 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#383 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Deauville
Hotel Deauville
#310 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn

Property: Americana Inn
Address: 69 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-5512
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel New York City
Americana Inn New York
Americana Inn Ny City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing