We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location , comfortable stay...few steps from Times Square”
Review of Americana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americana Inn
Ranked #377 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I spent two nights on a weekend with a friend. It's really very good stay for night stay just few steps from Times Square, NYC. Though the rooms are small but they fulfill the need for what they are required. Also. not too costlier. Stay at this property helped us to get maximum use of weekend plan of NYC. Staff and cleanliness is also good.

Room Tip: Very close to Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamalnayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 746 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

We checked in last October of last year and we stayed for 3 nights and 4 days. I booked via online and we didnt know that it was peak season because of the Columbus Day long weekend so we got this for over 200 USD a night. It was quite pricey for an Inn. We chose this hotel because of the perfect location according to the reviews. Since I was dilly-dally because I chose other hotels prior to this, when I booked this, I missed the "shared bathroom" thing. So we were surprised that it was shared bathroom for its price. It was a typical New York Inn. Small rooms and shared bathroom. Although, we loved the location! It's in the center of everything and really close to Times Square and Macy's.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Belle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Could not fault this hotel, rooms are pretty basic but clean and you have a shared bathroom but there are at least 4 bathrooms per floor we never had a problem, the location of the americana inn is fantastic literally a 5 minute walk to the empire state building and 10 at the most to times square, the staff were helpful and for the amount of time you will spend in your room in new York you couldn't want any more, we will definitely / hopefully stay here again :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Recommend - Yes

Note - this is first time we have stayed in shared facilities. We stayed for 9 nights in June 2012.

Room: Stayed on the 3rd level in a double bed; the room was small but clean. The bed was comfortable enough but after a day of walking around NYC - you still sleep regardless! The sound proofing wasn't the best but I see it as a constant reminder you're in NYC - which is a good thing! :)

The only criticism of our room was that the aircon wasn't working that effectively when it got really hot (which it did) - really hot being > 35 degrees; but worked just enough to sleep!

Bathroom: was very impressed by the cleanliness of the bathroom given this was my greatest concern not having stayed at a shared facility hotel before; never had a issue with waiting for it so was pleased with the facilities.

But with anything to do with shared facilities, its as only as clean as your neighbors - so hopefully everyone will be on the same page and keep things clean.

Location: BRILLIANT! You stay at this hotel for the location and the value. Can't speak highly enough of this.

Value: Very good value for NYC - especially given the location!

Service: Was OK without outstanding or dismal; daytime front desk attendant was't the happiest but the nighttime front desk attendant was cool, funny and helpful!

Overall: Definitely recommend given the price - the location itself justifies staying here.

Tip: If you love macarons, Laduree NYC is a MUST visit. I've been to the original store in Paris, and the NYC store is its equal - salted caramel, i could eat that 24/7!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed at the Americana for 4 nights and was overall happy with the experience. When I first arrived, the room they gave me was not as pictured on their website--it was much smaller. When I asked about it, the man at the desk immediately offered me another room and it was what I had expected when I booked the room. I knew the bathrooms would be shared, but there was one bathroom for the three rooms in my end of the hall so I didn't have to wait except for once or twice and there was always something else open on the floor.

I had a bit of a problem with the hair dryers they provided. If you need to blow dry your hair, I would recommend you bring your own travel blow dryer or buy a cheap one when you get there, and an extension cord wouldn't hurt either b/c the outlets were so far from the mirror in the room it was hard to see what I was doing.

Other than that, the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was outstanding for the price of the hotel. I would go back.

Room Tip: I requested a room at the back on the fourth or fifth floor as recommended by others b/c of the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sueado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in June excellent location .room was clean bit small but in new York your Hardley in your room . The hotel has shared bathrooms , this was not a problem never had to wait to use bathroom. Our room was at front facing road very noisy with traffic all night ,so try and get room at back but new York is noisy .5 min walk from empire state and times square and walk to central park isn't long as its easier to walk than take transport,very busy.shopping also nearby. We also took the ferry to statue of liberty great .would stay here again. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dee0072000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Had a great 6 days here. The location is very close to Bryant Park which was a very nice place to have lunch with a free wifi connection. Bathrooms in the hallway but worked out just fine. Wasn't cheap but for NYC it was a good price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Remco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 470 in New York City
652 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 470 in New York City
1,593 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#444 of 470 in New York City
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#365 of 470 in New York City
267 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#323 of 470 in New York City
1,586 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#389 of 470 in New York City
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn

Address: 69 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-5512
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $94 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel New York City
Americana Inn New York
Americana Inn Ny City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing