We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, yet cheap for the area!”
Review of Americana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Americana Inn
Ranked #375 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive, yet cheap for the area!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Upon our first view, it was a bit laughable at how tiny the room is and weird to not have our own bathroom. Our first room smelled terrible when we turned on the A/C unit! When we complained, the front desk quickly offered us a second room without complaint. Overall, the rooms were clean. We had no wait time on the bathrooms. Most of all, we LOVED the location. We read reviews before hand and decided we didn't care how classy our hotel was, especially since we only went there to sleep. If you are looking for amenities, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a place to sleep and take a hot shower before hitting up the city sights, this will do. AND it will save you some money to spend on those touristy things!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    291
    176
    65
    51
See reviews for
63
205
131
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This room really was a welcome site. The hotel is very clean and the bathrooms are plenty and close to rooms. We would stay here again. The staff was also very plesant. The room had it's own sink which was nice for freshing up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

room very small but clean. You can not ask a palace for this price in New York City. Very good location. Recommended for small budgets and short stays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Good location, good value, clean rooms, excellent staff but noisy rooms I couldnt sleep much, but it is New York just off Broadway, so suck it up. I would recommend this hotel due to location and value. thanks again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starstar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielsko-Biala, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed in hotel for 4 nights. That`s true that the rooms are small, but the beds are comfortable and you have big closet. The room is clean, the shared bathroom are very clean too.
There's no wifi in hotel, but you are in center of the city and you can go to Apple Store on 5 Ave and connect with Internet. The building is old, the windows aren`t modern and it is quite noisy from the street at night. But I was so tired, that this noise didn't disturb me. In night it was like noise of the see. And we have superb view to the NY streets.On the other side of the street are a grocery and small restaurant with a delicious pizza for 1 $.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Americana Inn for 6 nights. The rooms are small but cozy and you have your own sink. The shared bathroom facilities are clean and I never had to wait to use the bathroom or shower. There's wifi in the lobby, and at times we could sneak a connection in the room.
It is quite noisy at night, but nothing a few ear plugs can't fix.
The front desk staff are always friendly and up for a chat. The staff were great when we spontaneously decided to stay an extra night, they accommodated us well. We didn't even have to change rooms. They also let us check in at 8am.
One thing we realised, it was much cheaper booking directly through the hostel than going through an agent, so be aware of this!

It's a great location, only 5 minutes from times square, and the Rockerfeller centre.

This hostel is great value for money, I'm not sure what the people who wrote bad reviews are complaining about realty, how much time do you really spend in your hotel room when you're in NYC?

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palmtree_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#439 of 468 in New York City
218 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#221 of 468 in New York City
1,530 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 468 in New York City
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#364 of 468 in New York City
884 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 468 in New York City
781 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#401 of 468 in New York City
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn

Property: Americana Inn
Address: 69 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-5512
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel New York City
Americana Inn New York
Americana Inn Ny City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing