We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Most enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midtown East Residence by Globe Quarters

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Midtown East Residence by Globe Quarters
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for a month and it was excellent in all respects. Our studio was comfortable, quiet and very clean. Wi-Fi and, most importantly, air conditioning worked without fail. Management was very helpful - nothing was too hard. Finally, location is perfect: 15 minutes to teh Central Park and plenty of everything. We are happy to recommend Mangeoire (nice French restaurant), WholeFoods (superb supermarket), Ambassador (excellent wine store) and and Le Pain Quotirien (superb cafe). All of these are within 10 minutes walk, at most. Finally, there are plenty of street vendors, selling excellent fruits. We cannot recommend the place too highly and - if back in New York - will certainly return.

Room Tip: Our studio was on a smaller side, but perfect for the two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
12
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed in 2 bedroom apartment for 3 weeks and it was spacious and very comfortable. Excellent location and close to everything.

I have to say that staff especially the reservation staff (Svetlana) was very friendly and helpful, polite and very understanding to any request we had. I would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed 4 weeks at this appartment. The location is excellent, only a couple of blocks to 3 subway stations. Safe and quiet area to stay. D'agostino and Whole Foods Market and Duane Reade are within 5 minites-walk. The kitchen is equipped everything necessary (salt, pepper, honey, creamcheese, coffee), only I have to do is to buy delicious deli at the Whole Foods.
The room is perfectly clean and tidy, charming and spacious. (But I would be more happy if the bed is more comfortable and bathroom has a tab to be soaked in!)
Every staff is very warm and friendly. I hope someday I can stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kasumi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

These apartments are in a great location in Midtown East, just a couple of blocks from the 53rd St./Lex Ave. subway stop. They are on quiet 55th St. just off Second Ave. with a bunch of restaurants, bars, supermarkets, and pharmacies all within a few blocks. The two apartments I stayed in were both very spacious and comfortable, and well furnished with a small but complete kitchen, free broadband, and cable TV. There's a doorman at most times of day and night, and a very thoughtful touch is the fruit basket, large bottle of juice, and bread and spreads left for you in the apartment. Best of all is the welcome from the wonderful staff, who are very friendly and went out of their way to help me, and kept the place spotless with a regular clean. I'd highly recommend these apartments to anyone, with the real bonus of the nightly rate being less than half the going rate in nearby hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed 16 nights at Altro Sutton Place and were very happy with it. Being ex-New Yorkers who live elsewhere now, we really appreciated how it made us immediately feel like we were living in NY again. Staff are helpful and courteous, even for odd requests like connecting Disney XD, and apartment had all the things we needed for a comfortable stay. We will definitely stay again.

The only negative, and for me it isn't a negative, is that this is New York apartment living and if someone is expecting a full hotel experience they may be disappointed. But, if you are interested in a comfortable, ideally located apartment that allows you to live like a local, this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank theinphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed 8 nights at Altro Sutton on our busy sightseeing trip to NY. The apartment was a perfect location, near the subway and sights but far enough away from the busy city to be able to recharge our batteries each day and feel like we were going 'home'. The staff were incredibly kind and went out of their way to make our trip one of the best we've ever had as a family and the accommodation couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dinah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
184 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Positives: Good location & very helpful staff with nice welcoming touches - fruit , bread etc & well appointed kitchen

But if you are looking for modern comfortable apartment this is not it. Dated accommodation, (upstairs apartment noise could be heard late at night, lift noise & outside garbage trucks parked idling between 4-5am). Beds very hard & despite requesting 2 single beds in 2nd bedroom for 2 teenage sons given a queen bed in 2nd room. Poor linen and bed coverings(nylon!)

Unfortunately NYC does not offer much in way of self accommodating apartments compared to other major cities. We chose this option because of need for 2 bed apt - next time we will revert to Affinia apartments which are better quality and if necessary take 2 apartments

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wallaby_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeQuartersMgmt, Manager at Midtown East Residence by Globe Quarters, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Wallaby_tour,

Your comfort is our top priority, and we are incredibly thankful for your input!
Our property is a prewar art deco building with its own traditional charm, that we try to integrate through out the apartment decor to bring out the calm and cozy feeling of "home away from home" in the heart of non-stop moving Manhattan.

We are in constant improvement of our product and services, and will definitely look for ways to further succeed, taking into consideration important aspects of your valuable feedback.

Once again, thank you for your input and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Carvi Hotel New York
Carvi Hotel New York
#178 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Midtown
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
#373 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Midtown
Metro-Home Sutton Place
Metro-Home Sutton Place
#117 of 195 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Sutton Place
AKA Sutton Place
#36 of 195 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Midtown
Oakwood at The Nash
Oakwood at The Nash
#26 of 195 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Midtown
Midtown Lodging
Midtown Lodging
#61 of 195 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtown East Residence by Globe Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown East Residence by Globe Quarters

Property: Midtown East Residence by Globe Quarters
Address: 310 E 55th St, New York City, NY 10022-8303 (Formerly ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 195 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Midtown East Residence by Globe Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midtown East Residence by Globe Quarters is an Art-Deco, pre-war, 24 hr doorman, elevator building, that features generously sized studios, one-, and two-bedrooms. It's a great choice for those relocating to New York, executives on long or short term assignment, families who desire extra space, or the travelers, who simply want to enjoy a home like atmosphere while being away from home. Guests are sure to find the accommodations cost effective, comfortable and spacious, with all the creature comforts of a home. The apartment amenities include, but not limited to, fully stocked kitchens, linens and towels, cable TV, DVD, telephone with answering machine and high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Midtown East Residence by Globe Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altro Sutton Place By Globe Quarters Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing