We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #87 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan last weekend and found it to be a great "home base" for our stay. It is ideally located; there is a Subway stop right outside the hotel and it is walking distance to the Empire State Building and Times Square. Penn Station is also just a short walk away; therefore if you are flying into Newark (as we did) you can easily take the train into Penn Station and walk over to the hotel. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were nicely furnished and clean (although small). I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting Manhattan.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,367 - 4,373 of 5,276 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

I've just returned from 5 days at the Hilton Garden Inn New York - the hotel was very clean, the room was nicely furnished and the bathroom spotless. Nice shower, fridge and microwave in the room and large flat screen TV. Small hotel bar which is fine but some great bars within 2mins walking distance. The hotel is just by a subway stop and 1 block from the Empire State building and Macy's (great for shopping if you are from the UK). I would recommend this hotel as an excellent base for New York where, to be honest, your not going to spend anytime in your hotel anyway!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We got a great deal online for this hotel (about $180 per night for a room with two double beds). It is new and spotless. It felt very luxurious - the beds are sublimely comfortable with some fancy foam matress that is adjustable along with uber-downy pillows. The bathroom was spotless (I am very picky about this!) and felt top-class with marble and soft towels. We were right near the Empire State Building. Our room was on the fifth floor and overlooked other buildings but it was completely quiet at night. The staff could not be more helpful, the front desk team gave us great recommendations and input about our activities. There's a little "pantry" open 24 hours from which we bought juice and snacks. We had free wireless in our room as well.

We highly recommend this hotel! It was luxurious, great value and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GourmetGirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I booked this hotel for a business/leisure trip on the advice of trip advisor. I knew when I booked the hotel it it was smoke free and that was perfectly okay with me. After the first day of maid service, we came back to find a locked room. Upon going to the front desk, we were told that there was evidence of smoking in the room and there would be a $500 cleaning fee charged to our card. Their evidence was a cell phone picture of a black speck in a window sill. That was it. A speck of what they said to be ash in a window sill. There had been NO smoking in our room. NONE. And yet no amount of rational reasoning, which proceeded to a raised voice, and then almost yelling would convince them otherwise. We were charged for someone else's smoking and poor maid service from the previous people who staying in our room. Unless you want to get an investigator to come in and take pictures and do a smell check of your room BEFORE you enter, DO NOT STAY HERE. This hotel is new, and I believe they are looking for any way possible to make an extra $500 off of as many people as possible. Their front desk as well as their managers are impossible to deal with and the general manager, we were told would be out until Wednesday. Fantastic customer service. (SARCASM SARCASM SARCASM!!!!!!)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Service
6  Thank FrequentTraveler071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I had an enjoyable stay here for the Labour Day weekend in 2009.

The staff were mostly friendly, and competent. The room was nice, but some odd design decisions. It's all new which is nice, and I also liked the free wifi.

The downstairs bar is a decent enough spot to finish up after a fun night out too -- it has a patio area with a nice enough view of the surrounding city. I had a Hoegaarden down there for $7 which seemed reasonable.

Definitely ry some of the Korean BBQ in the area while you're there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noelyoc, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2009

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our team members. We too agree that our hotel has one of the best locations in Manhattan and for you I was pleased that you enjoyed being so closed to Korean town.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th in the not too distant future.

Regards
Hilda Garvey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Very nice hotel in New York.

1 minute walk to Macy's, 1 minutewalk to subway and walking distances to Times Square and etc!!! Definately recommend this Hotel for a holiday in NYC!!!!!!

Staff friendly and helpfull at all times. Everything you need you can contact them.
The only disappointed thing was that there are no safe inside the room. They have one in the reception but it was always full so I could not use it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabiano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noelyoc, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments with regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our great location and fantastic staff. I am sorry that there was not a safe for you to use during your stay, however, the good news is that we are looking at adding some extra safes for 2010.

Again, I thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hilda Garvey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Never stay at this hotel they will find "ashes" in your room even though you haven't smoked in it at all and then charge you $500.00...but they can't seem to find the dust on the walls and lamps! Tried to expalain to the manager on duty and he said that the housekeeping never misses anything that it had to be us and if it wasn't us we should have reported our room smelling smokie upon checkin even though we didn't smell it. They will be hearing from my attoney this week.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank nonsmokerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noelyoc, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street located in the heart of the fashion district. We are a 100% smoke free hotel and have been since we opened in February 2009. We take our 100% smoke free policy very seriously and constantly monitor our property to ensure that we preserve the integrity of this policy for all our guests who patronize us specifically for this reason.

I would love an opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th in the not too distant future. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Hilda Garvey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,339 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 469 in New York City
11,723 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#162 of 469 in New York City
5,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#217 of 469 in New York City
4,717 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 469 in New York City
6,993 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 469 in New York City
4,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#46 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $141 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing