We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #75 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights early March. The location was excellent being just near Macys and Herald Square. Our room was spacious and included a microwave and fridge. There was a Duane Reade just around the corner which was convenient. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank coasttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear coasttraveller,

Thanks for the excellent review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our amazing location in Herald Square just a few hundred feet away from Macy's. I hope you were able to enjoy our breathtaking view of the Empire State Building as well. Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback about our hotel. We hope to hear from you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,933
    1,587
    311
    66
    48
See reviews for
1,310
1,537
334
883
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Decent size rooms, very confortable bed, good gym, perfect location, friendly service, excellent breakfast. Would make this my go to hotel when staying in NY.

For good dining, go across the street to Brendan's bar and grill and get 15% when showing your room key.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor looking directly at Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleSlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear UncleSlam,

Thanks for the great review! I'm delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Garden Sleep System Beds, which can easily be adjusted for firmness by a dial on the side of the mattress. I will happily let our Restaurant staff know how much you enjoyed our delicious Breakfast Buffet. We greatly appreciate you feedback and hope to hear from you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, U S A
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Found a good price for 4 nights on hilton.com, have stayed at this hotel before, and the location is close to subways and most of what we were going to do. Very clean, friendly, helpful people at front desk. We had room w/2 double beds; room was small, but window looked out onto street view which I like. Away from elevator and very quiet. Bathtub had slow drain, we mentioned too front desk and they sent someone to improve while we were out. Didn't eat in restaurant -- too much restaurant assortment nearby, I guess, from simple diner to fancy -- & lots of Korean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank anewadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Contributor,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm happy to hear you were able to enjoy our amazing view of the Empire State Building. We recognize that you have a choice when visiting NYC, and we greatly appreciate you choosing HGI35. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Manager on duty the night I arrived was Elan Bileski. He received me as a guest after 6 hours of travel with my Type 1 diabetic daughter, Molly. It was Molly's first trip to The Big Apple. My son, Drew was also staying at the hotel with a Show Choir group, most of whom had never been to New York City either. First impressions matter, to Elan. He very patiently absorbed my frustrations at having my room accidentally cancelled. He kept apologizing. I kept getting angry. Finally, I said, "Elan, how are you going to make this right?" At that moment, Elan won a Gold Medal in customer service and bent over backwards to "make it right." Thanks to Elan, we had a fabulous time in the city that never sleeps. His warm and helpful problem solving skills were on par with Disney in terms of customer service and I am very grateful. Thanks Elan! It was a pleasure dealin' with you! ~Mary from Milwaukee

Room Tip: Ask for a city view and you'll see The Empire State Building out your window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Service Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Mary,

Thanks so much for the excellent review. It was my pleasure to assist you with your reservation, and I'm happy we were able come to an understanding and move forward in a positive way. I hope to have the chance to welcome you back to HGI35 during your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

The location is just off 34th st and convenient to the subway, Macy's and a lot of other sites within walking distance. Penn Station is just a couple of blocks away so it was an easy ride on the Long Island Railroad from JFK and a short doable walk with a suitcase to the hotel. Beds good. Not a large room but adequate. I did not try the breakfast so no comment. Nice small bar in the lobby. Reasonably priced and friendly staff.. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKwon, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Alice K,

Thank you for the great review! I am glad that our hotel was conveniently located for your needs and that you enjoyed our lobby bar. We recognize that you have a choice when visiting NYC, and we greatly appreciate you choosing us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to ensure that your stay is perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a quick family trip to NYC. We took Amtrak and the hotel was conveniently located to Penn Station. I love that rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn have a microwave and refrigerator. The room was a little cozy, but decent size compared to other New York hotels. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKwon, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear sigarcia,

Thank you for the great review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the use of the amenities in our rooms including the microwave and refrigerator. It is also great to hear that you loved our location as it is indeed close to Penn Station. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We slept seven nights at Hilton Garden Inn, and we are very happy woth our choice of hotel. The best aspect is without a doubt the location. I could not imagine a better place to stay, as we had every district of the city within reach. A five minute walk gives you hundreds of restaurants, shops and sights. The staff at the hotel was excellent, every morning and whenever we passed the reception we were greeted with a smile and "have a nice day". The atmosphere was great and welcoming. The rooms were great too. We asked for a quiet room, which we got. Very quiet at the end of the hall. We payed for a view, and we got one, but it was not fantastic. But since we probably could not have a super view and a very quiet room at the same time, it did not upset us. Nice room with everything you need. Enjoyed the coffee maker and the, in our opinion, fine selection on tv channels, when it was minus 10 celcius outside. Will without a doubt consider this hotel for our next visit. Great room, mice quiet nights and a unique location - what more to wish for?

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKwon, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear David L,

Thank you for the excellent review! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the room was to your satisfaction. I am also happy to hear that our team provided a welcoming atmosphere during your stay. I agree that our location cannot be beat as it is close in proximity to many different things. We recognize that you have a choice when visiting NYC, and we greatly appreciate you choosing the Hilton Garden Inn/West 35th Street. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#87 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing