We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoped for a Better Stay...Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #86 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in a corner room on the 30th floor for 5 nights. The views of the ESB and Manhattan rooftops were beautiful and really made the room. The room itself was spacious enough for the two of us, the bathroom was small. The bed was very uncomfortable though despite being able to adjust the firmness/softness; it felt like we were laying on a bed of concrete. The room was also very, very noisy- we heard people talking, yelling, slamming doors. This coupled with the hard beds made for restless nights.

Expect to wait upwards of 10-15 minutes for the elevator in the mornings- just ridiculous.

The location was great- just a few short minutes to Times Square and some of the best restaurants in the City. Macy's is right across the street for shopaholics.

Breakfast is not included in the rate and could not imagine paying $16.99/person to eat at the hotel. We ate at a lovely diner a few blocks from the hotel and had a nice breakfast for the cost of one person eating at the hotel.

The Hampton Inn is right next door and think we will give it a try the next time we are in the City.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingThruEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your time and input and apologize you were uncomfortable in our bedding. We will keep your comments in mind as we look towards future improvements and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,974 - 2,980 of 5,350 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Came for a weekend in NY with my wife. It is an easy walk from Penn Station -- good for those who take the train or bus from Boston or Washington. As a Hilton Diamond, we get breakfasts with the room fee and they make very good omelets. The room was a decent size. I don't think it was an upgrade. The second morning, the hotel had no cold water. When we checked out, they gave us very decent compensation and were very concerned that we felt OK with it. Convenient to Chelsea galleries, friends who live there, and a short cab or subway ride to the theater. The price was very good for NY. We'll return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsmakeadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you kindly for your review.
Please know that your comments are used to enhance our services, product and amenities.
Thank you again for taking the time to write to us and my very best regards,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This has become my hotel of choice for frequent trips to NYC. The staff here, including front desk, housekeeping, maintenance, bartenders and breakfast crew are personable and helpful and you sense that friendly vibe immediately upon entering the hotel. The management team here should be commended for such a well run operation. I could also gush on endlessly about the immaculately kept, well maintained, quiet rooms and great amenities, but the overwhelmingly extensive outstanding reviews here truthfully say it all. This hotel gets my highest endorsement and I always look forward to returning here. I have never been disappointed.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank basingstokecambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that we offered you nothing less than a 5 star stay!!! On every visit!!!
We appreciate that you noticed our outstanding service, the cleanliness of our product and our favorable location. Your comments are very much appreciated. Please know that it will be shared with my staff.
I/We look forward to your future visit.
Our very best regards and a big thank you again,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

It's my 2nd time at this hotel, past experience was great, this time as well. Clean, accessible and good service. Location can't be better, Penn Station few blocks away, and lots of great shopping options surrounding the area. Definitely a great place to stay with very reasonable rates. I'll be back.

Elaina.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you kindly for your review.
I am truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am glad that we can be your choice for future visits.
I/we look forward to welcoming you back.
My very best regards,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great location in Herald Square. Close to Macy's and other shopping options Penn Station and subway and bus lines. View of Empire State Building from room. Easy access to Time Square and Central Park and other attractions. Very quiet and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dino4897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
I am delighted to hear that we offered you nothing less than a 5 star stay!!!
We look forward to your future visit.
Our very best regards,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed four nights in January and again for five nights in February. Both times we were impressed by the cleanliness of our rooms (2704 in January) and (2505 in February). Rooms were updated and very comfortable and included microwave and mini fridge. Great view of the ESB and the NYC skyline. Convenient to many different types of eateries. Subway right outside of the door. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great rates for NYC. We will definatily stay again on our next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pghrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that we offered you nothing less than a 5 star stay!!!
We appreciate that you noticed our outstanding service, the cleanliness of our product and our favorable location. Your comments are very much appreciated. Please know that it will be shared with my staff.
We look forward to your future visit.
Our very best regards and thank you again,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Cannot fault and echo many of the comments already made about this fabulous hotel! Room size was great in comparison to other New York hotels and the bathroom and main room clean. The location is great and it it definitely worth getting a room with an Empire State Building view. And complimentary wifi was great too. I didn't have any problem with sleeping and on the 21st floor there was hardly any street noise.

Staff on the main desk were polite and helpful and made you feel welcome.

I will stay here every time I come to New York.

Room Tip: Upgrade to city view and request Empire State view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that we offered you nothing less than a 5 star stay!!!
We appreciate that you noticed our outstanding service, the cleanliness of our product and our favorable location. Your comments are very much appreciated. Please know that it will be shared with my staff.
We look forward to your future visit.
Our very best regards and thank you again,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 471 in New York City
7,452 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 471 in New York City
11,922 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#159 of 471 in New York City
5,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metro...
#334 of 471 in New York City
5,091 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#229 of 471 in New York City
4,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $136 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rooms and suites at an ideal Midtown Manhattan location! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street is just steps from some of New York City's best attractions including the Empire State Building, the world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Madison Square Garden/Penn Station, as well as many restaurants and nightlife. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is located near the Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and NYC airports. The hotel features 298 contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD TV, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker, desk with ergonomic chair, and complimentary WiFi access. Other amenities include 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby, the Garden Grille (open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge, room service and a 24-hour pantry. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and self-parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing