We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressions of staff during our stay 11/11/12 till 15/11/12”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressions of staff during our stay 11/11/12 till 15/11/12”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at Hilton Garden Inn, New York West 35th Street on the above dates. Everyone was incredibly helpful to us and we would just like to single out a few who gave us extra special service. They were Samira at the Front Desk, Robert Corrigan, Manager, Jakiya in the Restaurant, and Eric, Concierge. They all helped to make our trip by being so helpful.

Room Tip: Only problem we would have liked room with bath not just shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you kindly for your review. I am truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff delivered the friendly, attentive service that we are known for. Be kindly advised that your comments will be shared with the staff and know that comments such as yours propel us to become even better customer service providers.
I/we look forward to welcoming you back and kindly do not hesitate to contact me if I may be of any further assistance.
My very best regards,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,958
    1,606
    314
    66
    48
See reviews for
1,325
1,554
336
887
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (996)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over the past weekend. Found the hotel to be clean, great location, and right next to the subway lines that can take you anywhere in the region. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable, too. We had room on 15th floor that faced street but noise was never a problem. The hotel is right next to Macy's and a 15 minute walk from Rock Center and Times Square area. I don't think you will go wrong with staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for room that faces the Empire State Building. Great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegasclint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week in September 2012. The biggest advantage of this hotel is location. It is situation right next to a subway station and the Empire State Building. New York is such a beautiful city and being able to jump on the subway every morning so easily allowed us to see so much of it!

The staff was great, room was clean (although small), and they have a nice bar downstairs where you can pick up food or drink on your way in/out of the hotel. The room's wall are nice and thick unlike some reviews from other Manhattan hotels. We were right in front of an elevator and didn't hear a thing.

The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was the noise outside on the street. Obviously, there is nothing the staff or Hilton can do about that. There was construction every day and it was quite loud late into the night.

We will probably go back to Manhattan one day and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRaidaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is well located with excellent transport links, the subway next door and Penn station a 5 minute walk away. I chose it as it close to where the buses drop and pick up from to go to Boston/DC etc.
The room was small, the desk and chair if used would render no walking space in the room and you couldn't lean back in the chair as the bed was literally 6 inches away once you sat in the chair. The business center is well thought out and is useful for printing and working but is very compact.
The check in was quick and efficient,not amazing but friendly enough.
The room has a microwave and fridge, but the windows are not double glazed and you can hear the traffic.
Recommended for convenience and cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in September 2012. The hotel is ideally located in Manhattan and everything is on walking distance. This hotel is located practically in the neighborhood of the Empire State Building and you can easily walk to Times Square.

The total package is in accordance with the Hilton Garden In concept, including the breakfast. The breakfast had two options: The continental breakfast and hot breakfast. Even the continental breakfast is a very good one and satisfies even the strong hunger.

Room Tip: Try to get your room from the upper floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller007Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write the comments regarding your last stay with us.
I am glad that your stay was satisfactory, yet I am a bit puzzled as to why we were rated 3 stars?
Kindly advise me if there is or there was anything we could improve on.
And please know that we look forward to a return visit whenever your plans bring you to NYC.
Thank you again and my very best regards,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn/ West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

1 night stay on day of Hurricane Sandy, got a really good rate at 7am on Hilton site $159.00, by 3pm rate was up to $399.00. Arrived 5pm, check in quick got nice clean room with comfortable king on 22nd floor with great view of Empire State building. Fridge and microwave are nice touch. Free WSJ in lobby next morning, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itbetterbeclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn West 35th Street for two nights following Hurricane Sandy because it is near my office in midtown and my commuter rail line out of Penn Station was not functioning. It was a great experience all the way around! The front desk staff was warm, helpful, and professional. I requested a high floor room with a view and that’s exactly what I got. My corner room on the 28th floor had an unexpectedly spectacular view looking uptown with glass corner walls. The room was small, but extremely well-appointed, thoughtfully designed, and spotlessly clean. Everything was simple and smartly done – big marble walk-in shower with frameless glass enclosure; spacious bathroom vanity area; built-in pantry with microwave, functional refrigerator (with space to put your own stuff, not filled with items for sale), coffeemaker, and a small counter; extremely comfortable bed and bedding; good lighting; layered window treatments allowing for various levels of privacy, view, and light control; quality ergonomic desk chair. The lobby is compact and functional as are the corridors, bar and restaurant, but Keens Steakhouse is a block away if you’re looking for a fancy meal and drinks and some old New York ambiance and then you can zip back up to your pleasant room. This hotel offers tremendous value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#83 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing