We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #84 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were in NY for a city break and wanted to be in midst of all the Times Square action. This hotel proved to be the perfect choice in terms of location. Few blocks from Times Sqaure and Broadway, it gave me ample opportunity to walk back and forth. It is located very close to Hearald Sqaure and Macy, adding to its location advantage. The room size for downtown Manhattan was impressive. We asked to be on higher floor and were pleased with the large pane window opening right out to the magnificient Empire State Building.
The staff was pleasing and i'd like to mention the good level of cleanliness. Overall a great experience to be breathing Manhattan spirit!

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor with ESB staring right back at you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shilpig8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,159 - 3,165 of 5,353 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

After checking in, I had my doubts when I got off my floor as it felt a "dorm-like". That feeling went away once I was in my room. The room was clean and by New York standards, decent sized. I have been to hotels in NYC where there wasn't enough shelf space in the bathroom where I couldn't layout the contents of my shaving kit. Although there isn't a seating area, I didn't feel cramped.

This is either a new hotel or a recently remodeled hotel.

I was in town for a conference which is why I booked this hotel, I could walk to the Javits center and if for some reason didn't want to, it was a straight shot from the hotel to Javits center by taxi. Penn station is a short walk as is Times Squre along with many other sites. I would stay at this hotel for the location alone.

I noticed a review indicated there isn't a restaurant, there is and there is a bar in the lobby.

Overall, a very good value in a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAGuy90019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

When traveling with friends to NYC, we try to stay in a different location each time as this provides us with the opportunity to explore different neighborhoods. This hotel was easy to walk or take the subway from. The room was small as many in NYC are, but very comfortable. The staff was friendly and competent. We received good food recommendations from the hotel porter. this area was filled with construction as many places in the city were. Had absolutely no complaints!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisconsinwisconsin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had a hard time finding a decent and affordable hotel close to Penn station, as I was arriving by train. This hotel is 3 blocks away and close enough to easily walk lugging a suitcase and carry-on. If you have stayed in other Hilton Garden Inns, this one is not quite as spacious, but it does have the usual great beds and great staff. Within 2 blocks of the Empire State Building and a few steps from the subway. Several elevator mates have stayed here repeatedly because of the central location. You can get almost anywhere in the city from here for about 10.00. Taxi fare or less. Watch out for unmetered cabs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side view the Empire State Building day & night. Elevators are quiet, so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Small hotel, small room, small service.
For anyone used to quality of accommodation and customer service in Asia, brace yourself. This is well below what you are used to.

Good -
- easy check-in, check-out.
- korean restaurants nearby, if you like the food.


Bad -
- no restaurant in the hotel, and limited bar.
- gym is so small
- no pool
- forget about late check-out (they will hammer you with fees, US$109 for 4 hrs...)
- concierge with no real expertise (only OK to give out free maps)
- in-room dining platters in the corridors all day

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InnerBalanceMassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

clean, modern, comfortable at a very decent price. convenient location. competent service.
clean, modern, comfortable at a very decent price. convenient location. competent service.
clean, modern, comfortable at a very decent price. convenient location. competent service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very quiet and comfortable hotel, less than 1/2 block and 1 1/2 blocks from subway. Only ten rooms to a floor; never heard a sound from inside the hotel and few from outside even though we were on the fourth floor. Great bath and bed. Dinky lobby and spartan breakfast area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobtheBuilder39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 471 in New York City
7,459 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,927 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#159 of 471 in New York City
5,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metro...
#334 of 471 in New York City
5,094 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#228 of 471 in New York City
4,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $137 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rooms and suites at an ideal Midtown Manhattan location! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street is just steps from some of New York City's best attractions including the Empire State Building, the world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Madison Square Garden/Penn Station, as well as many restaurants and nightlife. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is located near the Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and NYC airports. The hotel features 298 contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD TV, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker, desk with ergonomic chair, and complimentary WiFi access. Other amenities include 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby, the Garden Grille (open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge, room service and a 24-hour pantry. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and self-parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing