We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, awesome hotel, perfect way to see in 2011!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #141 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great location, awesome hotel, perfect way to see in 2011!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Really enjoyed our two days in the Meatpacker district, both the hotel and the staff were great & the room was the perfect relaxed space to chill out in to escape the bustle of NYC. All the modcons in the room, such as a massive deep bath & in the hotel the rooftop bar and Grill downstairs all top notch!!! Will (Singapore)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banners79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,396
    741
    331
    135
    130
See reviews for
167
1,200
227
626
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Ten of us (adults and couple teenagers) stayed at the Standard during the blizzard. Our stay went well, the rooms were small but well appointed. The location is great if you want to stay away from the Time Square crowds. Lots of great restaurants and shops. However, the service was a disappointment, the concierge and bellmen were absolutely no help. None of our rooms were cleaned by 7PM. The restaurant and bar staff were cold and unfriendly as well. It seemed that most people working there felt they were just too hip to be bothered. I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iannicholson, General Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Dear bryanfamily3,

Thank you for choosing The Standard, and I am glad you were able to explore the neighborhood during your stay! Our location offers our guests unparalleled views and dining/nightlife options all very closeby. In regards to our staff, your comments will certainly be shared with them. I want to assure you however that all of our employees are hired in part based on their willingness to help our guests with any question or concern, and our staff is available 24 hours a day. I do apologize on behalf of our housekeeping department, as during the blizzard we, like many businesses, were not able to run at full-staff (due to some transit being shut down city-wide).

Thank you, and please do not hesitate to contact me personally with any questions or concerns.

Kind Regards,

Ian Nicholson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed at the Standard for our first year anniversary the weekend before Christmas 2010. We had an amazing stay. The hotel is super funky and in a fantastic part of town, the meat packer district has so much to offer that you really never need to leave it.

The elevators are crazy cool, bit trippy after a few drinks but soooo unique.

The rooms are adequate size for NYC and the views are spectacular. We stayed in a superior queen and i would certainly recommend this catergory of room or above. We had clear views of the statue of liberty, hudson river and the financial district. The amenities in the bathroom smell great and are superior to anywhere i've stayed before. The beds are super comfy and the robes for use in the room are fantastic.

We ate at the Standard Grill on our second night and were not dissapointed, great atmosphere, super friendly service, you MUST make a reservation to avoid dissapointment.

The living room (lobby bar) is a nice place to unwind after a tough day slogging the manhattan tourist trail and have a great chocolate mousse, drinks are NYC prices. I would say that the morning staff here are far more attentive than the evening staff. We found the staff in the evening were more concerned with hanging out with each other than making the hotel money by getting you a drink, but this is really knit picking.

You absolutly must book a table for the Sky lounge (may be called something else) on the 17th floor for a sunset martini. Stunning views of NYC and fantastic service.

we had a wonderful stay, the rooms are awesome, the area is awesome, the food and drinks were awesome. The staff were good but could do better.

A+

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmydux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Could not have asked for a better stay. The rooms were impeccable (and of course, exceedingly stylish), the views were breathtaking and the service was perfect. Also walking distance to scores of amazing restaurants and bars. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wusupna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

Amazing hotel. Incredible view over Manhattan. Ask for a room on 15th floor and above & downtown side. Nice service with professionnal staff. Restaurant somehow expensive. only problem: access to the roof bar (boom boom boom) is not easy even for hotel guest.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BenfromParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

Gorgeous views inside and out - very welcoming and clubby. Heard the roof bar was fab but didn't make it before 9:30 closing. Near Chelsea Market, which was convenient. Right off the West Side Highway, also convenient, but get there before 5 if you hope for a parking spot, since there are a lot of nightclubs nearby. Staff were occasionally sniffy. Loved the ironic touch of packaging design for "house" toiletries. Motion graphics art in the elevator a bit hard to take the morning after! In all, comfortable and chic.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank art_test_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

Bad start - dropped off by the airport shuttle but couldn't identify the hotel entrance! In my defence there were a lot of people milling around going to various functions. When I made my way into the reception area it was fairly deserted so didn't have any problems checking in.
The design of the public areas is achingly trendy but finding one's way through dark narrow corridors to the elevators isn't a good way to start! For some reason each evening the direct way to the elevator lobby, plus two of the four elevators were shut off.
The room was tiny - but the view magnificent - floor to ceiling windows looking out over the Hudson - surely the whole point of the place - which made the notice asking you to close the curtains so as not to embarass the neighbours rather a joke!
Odd layout - the lavatory was closed (fortunately - the seat wasn't fixed properly and made much noise when anyone stood up) but the bathroom open to the rest of the room. A huge bath seemed totally pointless - it took up space that could usefully been used for other things and filling takes ages - every time anyone in adjacent rooms filled theirs we were treated to thunderous plumbing noises for 15 minutes. I find it extraordinary in these times that anyone would install such water-wasting facilities in a new hotel. The worst thing about the bathroom, as others have noted, is that the drainage for the shower goes in totally the wrong direction - out towards the room and the fitted carpet. With each shower all the towels were needed to prevent flooding. I can't imagine that the bathroom furniture is removed every day to clean the residue of soapy water....
And no rubbish bin in a bathroom? Nice toiletries but useless hairdryer.
Another irritation - the minibar was ridiculously overstocked with unheard-of alcohols in what looked like perfume bottles (elderflower liqueur, ginger liqueur...) but no fruit juices and, for the first time ever in a US hotel - and I've stayed in hundreds! - no coffee-making facilities!
The room was OK for a single person but even a close couple would struggle - the queen-sized bed is pushed up in a corner against the wall and the space between the bottom of the bed and the window filled with the television. Nice design features but poor qualtiy finishes - the table top was very scratched.
Generally the sound-insulation was poor - apain addition to the plumbing, closing doors and people in the corrdiors were more than audible!
We found the staff friendly and the location was fine but overall I thought the hotel was pretentious and disappointing and $500+ is way too much to pay for a view.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iannicholson, General Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, December 16, 2010
Dear DMFG,

Thank you for choosing The Standard for your time in New York, and I am sorry to hear that the features of our hotel did not fit with your individual preferences. While we are design oriented in our construction, we were also sure to build with our guest’s comfort in mind. Because of this our rooms are very well insulated from outside sounds, though there are occasions when noise arises in our hallways from other guests. In this event we recommend dialing “0” to speak to our Guest Relations agents who are more than happy to make sure all guests are respecting the privacy and reasonable noise levels expected while at our property.

In regards to the bathroom construction, we realize that this configuration is not for everyone. It is, however, designed with our guests in mind, to give them an area which rather than separates itself architecturally from the rest of the room, compliments the living area adjacent to it. We stock our minibar with many differing and truly unique options for our guests, though Room Service is happy to help provide any type of beverage or food option we are able to provide, 24 hours per day.

Thank you, and please do not hesitate to contact me with and questions or concerns.

Kind regards,

Ian Nicholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing