We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #142 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“mixed experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2010

loved the hotel as far as general vibe and rooms, although small the room we had, standard king had a great view of the skyline and some of the river from the 15th floor. The gym was the best I have used in any hotel and equipment was state of the art and very clean. The location was great for our needs as we wanted to be close to the village and also get some walking in, we walked to times square for breakfast most days and started our adventures from there, the chelsea markets are a street away and had the only decent coffee we could find so was great. The bathroom concept is hilarious and I wouldnt recommend staying if you were shy about showering or getting ready in full view of your partner however no stress for us.
one down side and <i did see this mentioned in several reviews before we stayed was feeling very much second rate to the night club, quite often we got id^d coming into the hotel (great feeling at $600 a night to get asked time and time again for id by the same bouncer) so felt a massive disconnect from the staff and very much second class citizens. Not too worried about it but is important to note, as having travelled extensively all over the globe this is the worst yet.
The roof top bar is amazing but on the beautiful day we went up there there were no seats available and it was full of non hotel guests again, a bit dissapointing but NY is crammed with amazing venues so no real stress to find somewere elese to spend our holiday dollars. Over all we may stay again as the room, the location and the view were great but would have to be a good deal to do so.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanneetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,440
    755
    340
    141
    132
See reviews for
177
1,233
230
642
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The service was impeccable. From the minute we arrived on the standard property there was someone to assist in our every need or want. The check in process was simple and smooth.

Our room was amazing. The views were beautiful - the Hudson River with its many boats, the Statue of Liberty, the skyline of New Jersey.

The room was so unbelievably designed! Simple, yet elegant. The restaurant staff was very attentive and friendly.

I honestly can't think of anything during my stay at the standard was anything below standard.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parker324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Excellently designed beautiful rooms. They aren't huge but every square inch is used effectively and so you feel like you are in a perfect bedroom suite rather than an ordinary hotel room. The Standard in NY is my favorite hotel anywhere. I am not the night club scene type which you might associate with The Standard but when you are in the living spaces they are beyond comfortable and the views and location are as good as it gets. Bathroom products, good sized and high quality, nice touches everywhere. Staff, welcoming and accessible.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobojungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I have stayed at the Standard NYC twice in the past month, both while in the city producing non-profit charitable events. The Sales team, and especially Austin, have been amazing in accommodating our needs, and have gone out of their way to give us amazing rates for the good causes, as well as bending around last minute changes when possible. Rooms are great for NYC - not massive, but very effectively and beautifully designed to give the impression of having enough multi-purpose space (and lots of natural light!) in a compact room. Brilliant for solo or couple travelling, but too lacking in privacy for colleagues or less than best friends sharing.

Staff were unanimously friendly, and were very natural and chatty...not the usual, overly formal attitude of some luxury hotels. The ONLY slight downside experienced was the unfriendly welcome of the lady on the front desk at the 18th floor bar. To be fair, she is probably used to dealing with a steady stream of pretentious people during the club hours, so wasn't ready with a smile, more a sneer. However, she warmed up a bit when I was just plain friendly, and the rest of the experience was a delight.

I am returning for another stay in 2 weeks time!

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LAlala1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

When you pay this amount of money you expect the equivalent service. I am a big mercer fun and tried standard bc I wanted to be close to west village but regretted so much that I felt everyday to check out if I only had a smaller luggage. The rooms are tiny and you can hear everything, service is poor and all the fun areas like the bar are private after 9pm. What is this?... Supposedly you stay in a good hotel for what it has to offer!!! I would come back to party but by no chance stay again under these circumstances. I value my $$ too much sorry!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aztpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iannicholson, General Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Dear Aztpink,
I am sorry to hear you did not find our hotel up to standard. We do have multiple room types available, and I would encourage you to view the floorplans at standardhotels.com to find the room which works best with your needs and budget. I am uncertain as to the noises you heard in our rooms, but our building was constructed with extremely thick glass to insulate sound from the outside and the walls are thick between rooms. If guests were being noisy in the hallway, I apologize but do wish to advise you that our guest services department will quickly encourage them to leave the hallway with a simply press of '0' on the guest room phone. Please take note that we have multiple venues available to hotel guests during the late night hours, including The Living Room, The Standard Grill, and the Biergarten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Standard Hotel in NYC is down on the far end of Manhattan in the super trendy meat packing district. There are many high end boutiques and good restaurants close by. The recently opened High Line Park starts right near the hotel.
My favorite thing about the rooms is if you are on the side with the Hudson River views, you can sit in the deep, tiled bath tub and look out over the river from the tub. The rooms are pretty compact, but the beds are comfy.
The beer garden is a fun place to sit on a nice day and people watch. It is a trendy place to be sure, but I do recommend it as a comfortable and convenient place to stay, if your needs are mainly downtown.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ownuniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The Standard is a great hotel, in the meat-packing district, which appears to be an up-and-coming area of the city. Being from Central NY, I find this part of the city less stressful to drive in, compared to uptown. It was only a few blocks from the Holland Tunnel and easy to get to with a GPS. Take the valet parking($55?). Well worth it. You don't need your car once you are there as you can walk or take the train anywhere.
The hotel was new, very clean and staff was attentive and friendly. Room has floor-to-ceiling windows and there are warnings not to leave your drapes open at night as it becomes a fishbowl! We were in Room 1203, which had a nice view of the Hudson on our left and straight ahead, the Empire State Building. We stayed in a king room. The shower has a glass window panel that separates it from the bed, so beware that you are showering in front of anyone who is sleeping in the bed next to you! Separate toilet with closing door. i didn't see any other rooms so don't know if they are all like that.
Fully stocked refrigerator and shelves with snack items as well(although we did not take anything as they are pricey). Elevator has an interesting video collage of Heaven and Hell in these built-in niches on 2 walls. As you ascend, it becomes Heaven, as you descend, it becomes Hell. Different. I'm not sure if I liked that. Just my personal opinion.
We ate downstairs in the Standard Grill Restaurant(make reservations) and the food was amazing! Try their famous Penny Drop drink-Yum!
Overall, the hotel was very nice. Would I stay there again? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellylovesfriesians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,791 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#122 of 467 in New York City
3,520 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#100 of 467 in New York City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#153 of 467 in New York City
640 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#175 of 467 in New York City
684 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 467 in New York City
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#133 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing