We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #153 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The Standard is a great hotel, in the meat-packing district, which appears to be an up-and-coming area of the city. Being from Central NY, I find this part of the city less stressful to drive in, compared to uptown. It was only a few blocks from the Holland Tunnel and easy to get to with a GPS. Take the valet parking($55?). Well worth it. You don't need your car once you are there as you can walk or take the train anywhere.
The hotel was new, very clean and staff was attentive and friendly. Room has floor-to-ceiling windows and there are warnings not to leave your drapes open at night as it becomes a fishbowl! We were in Room 1203, which had a nice view of the Hudson on our left and straight ahead, the Empire State Building. We stayed in a king room. The shower has a glass window panel that separates it from the bed, so beware that you are showering in front of anyone who is sleeping in the bed next to you! Separate toilet with closing door. i didn't see any other rooms so don't know if they are all like that.
Fully stocked refrigerator and shelves with snack items as well(although we did not take anything as they are pricey). Elevator has an interesting video collage of Heaven and Hell in these built-in niches on 2 walls. As you ascend, it becomes Heaven, as you descend, it becomes Hell. Different. I'm not sure if I liked that. Just my personal opinion.
We ate downstairs in the Standard Grill Restaurant(make reservations) and the food was amazing! Try their famous Penny Drop drink-Yum!
Overall, the hotel was very nice. Would I stay there again? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellylovesfriesians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,268 - 2,274 of 2,925 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

The Standard is my favorite place to stay in NY. I've stayed at a number of other NY Hotels for business travel and this by far the best one. Here are some of the reasons I love The Standard:

*The rooms: For NY these rooms are very spacious. Each room has a "window wall" which is amazing. I could sit in my room all day and stare out the window. I've stayed on both sides of the hotel, but prefer the side with the city view, so I always ask for that side.
*Design: The rooms are very modern but still feel very comfortable. The beds are comfortable and most rooms have a nice little seating are where you can get work done or enjoy the view. The place just feels stylish.
*Service: The staff is INCREDIBLY helpful and friendly. I've heard they hire aspiring models- which makes most everyone nice to look at BUT there is no attitude at all! I was a pumping mom and had some special issues around refrigeration - and they were so accommodating!!
*Location: The Meatpacking district just comes to life over the summer. I am always surprised by the level of activity in this neighborhood when the weather warms up. I love that you have acces to the High Line park if you want a nice after dinner stroll.

The only hesitation I have about posting this review is that I don't want this hotel to become so popular that I can't get a room for my next business trip to NY. I also have to add that this hotel feels really cool and "hip" without trying too hard.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank global_sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I love staying at the Standard as I am frequently there for work! It's the trendiest place to stay in the city. I love that it's by the water, a little bit off the beaten path and surrounded by high end shopping and amazing restaurants. If you want a true Sex and the City trip, then the Standard is for you!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCamp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Great location, well designed hotel, fun vibe and friendly staff. However, really frustrating that during my three night stay the top floor bar was closed for two nights for private functions, the beer garden was closed one night for a private funcation and every evening guests are shunted all the way round the back to gain access to the lift as the main lifts are closed off for the private function. This is a newly build hotel. Surely, they could have come up with a better solution? If not, then I think guests should be prioritised.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonAnt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

The Standard is painfully hip being in the heart of the Meatpacking District. Staff are friendly and helpful, and were good problem-solvers for us when our baggage went missing. Expect to pay for what you get: beautiful floor-to-ceiling views, comfy beds, good service, and top-of-the-line design elements in your room. Would recommend The Standard to those looking for "something special" and who are willing to pay top dollar.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jktp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed in Superior Queen room and it was an awkward room and small. Taking the fact that it was not a standard room I was expecting much more. Disappointing...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abittencourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I really enjoy staying at the standard...
Just wanted to put a few points down that i think they can improve upon.
- checking in: there are two concierge desks in between the reception desks. the concierge folks don't check people in. I think they should check people in during peak times or at least acknowledge that people are in the queue and that someone should help them shortly.
- evening elevators: the hotel blocks off 2 of the 4 elevators in the evening for bar guests / members. it's annoying that hotel guests are routed on a longer route to the lift. also guests need to wait to head up to rooms etc. I think the elevators should have an attendant so there is a better flow upstairs to the rooms / bar / club.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#222 of 470 in New York City
1,855 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 470 in New York City
3,636 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#218 of 470 in New York City
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#83 of 470 in New York City
667 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#142 of 470 in New York City
675 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#180 of 470 in New York City
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $283 - $624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above a former elevated train line that has become downtown’s favorite public park, The Standard, High Line is located in New York City’s Meatpacking District. Every one of the 338 rooms features a full wall of floor-to-ceiling windows with sweeping views of Manhattan and/or the mighty Hudson River. The hotel’s inviting and scintillating public spaces include a bustling German beer garden at ground level, the rooftop discothèque Le Bain, the legendary Top of The Standard, and an outdoor public plaza with rotating art installations and a winter ice rink. A neighborhood staple, the award-winning Standard Grill melds a brasserie atmosphere with new American cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing